AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th September, 2002, 01:26 AM
baller02's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: swiss
Posts: 113

epox 8k3a multiplier

what about multipliers over 12, 5, does the epox8k3a+ support multipliers over 12,5 if the athlon xp is unlocked???
now 13 is 12, 5 than there are 14 and 15.
what about real 13, 13.5, 14.5, 15,5 and higher???
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th September, 2002, 01:43 AM
Harryc's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: New York, U.S.A.
Posts: 225

I believe none of them are supported unless you happen to have an XP2000+ or faster CPU.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th September, 2002, 01:52 AM
baller02's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: swiss
Posts: 113

i've read, that i must select multiplier 5 to get 13 if the xp has the control bridge for above=high or under=low under 12,5 multiplier is set to high for example xp2100+ or above.
i found out that 14 in bios stand for 5 multi and 15 stand for 5,5.
13 for 12,5 multi. so from 5 to 12,5 all multis are there.
but if the xp is default set to above 12,5 multis an is unlocked theoretical i must set it to 14meant to be 5 in the epox bios to get 13 multiplier???

can anyone confirm this???
epox tech???
thx
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th September, 2002, 12:08 PM
Harryc's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: New York, U.S.A.
Posts: 225

I think that derived multiplier is a combination/interaction between the Chipset, BIOS(multiplier translation table), and CPU. AMD uses changes in L10 bridges to help boards identify the default multiplier over 12.5x for XP2000's and up, and some T-Birds. The L10's are permanent bridges, but can be manually changed if you desire a particular multiplier. Changing them does not guarantee that BIOS will supply it, but you'd assume so if you match the L10 configuration of an XP2000+ or higher(and if the BIOS supports the CPU you are attempting to emulate). I explained some of this with a couple of reference links here. I honestly don't think that you can make an L10 'magic' bridge change and open up 13x and higher multipliers. If anyone knows differently, I'd really like to learn how.
__________________

Last edited by Harryc; 20th September, 2002 at 12:20 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2002, 05:14 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by Harryc
I think that derived multiplier is a combination/interaction between the Chipset, BIOS(multiplier translation table), and CPU. AMD uses changes in L10 bridges to help boards identify the default multiplier over 12.5x for XP2000's and up, and some T-Birds. The L10's are permanent bridges, but can be manually changed if you desire a particular multiplier. Changing them does not guarantee that BIOS will supply it, but you'd assume so if you match the L10 configuration of an XP2000+ or higher(and if the BIOS supports the CPU you are attempting to emulate). I explained some of this with a couple of reference links here. I honestly don't think that you can make an L10 'magic' bridge change and open up 13x and higher multipliers. If anyone knows differently, I'd really like to learn how.
Quite - L10 alteration is the key, although with the ability to offer the FSB we do, such high multipliers shouldn't be needed even when using a register 97h BIN1 set 1 BIOS.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2002, 07:46 PM
baller02's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: swiss
Posts: 113

i wanna buy an xp2400+, but when i close the 5th L3 brdige i get mutlis from 5 to 12,5.
the problem is if i use 12.5 i need 192 fsb to get 2400mhz, but this is to high for my system so i wanna use multis over 12,5.
the L10 bridges from the xp 2400+ should factory defailt set for multis over 12,5 because it has an 15 multi.
what i know the new xp 2400+ and xp2600+ are unlocked by default, so i only must change the multi in the bios and my question is now what multi must i use???
i gues that i must use for example, multi 5(in bios 14) to get 13 multi because the L10 bridges are set to multis over 12,5.

can anybody confirm this???
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd September, 2002, 04:41 PM
Jake's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 17

Quote:
Originally posted by baller02
i wanna buy an xp2400+, but when i close the 5th L3 brdige i get mutlis from 5 to 12,5.
the problem is if i use 12.5 i need 192 fsb to get 2400mhz, but this is to high for my system so i wanna use multis over 12,5.
the L10 bridges from the xp 2400+ should factory defailt set for multis over 12,5 because it has an 15 multi.
what i know the new xp 2400+ and xp2600+ are unlocked by default, so i only must change the multi in the bios and my question is now what multi must i use???
i gues that i must use for example, multi 5(in bios 14) to get 13 multi because the L10 bridges are set to multis over 12,5.

can anybody confirm this???
The XP2400+ doesn't run at 2400MHz. It runs at 2.0Ghz = 15x133. Hopefully this will help you. 2400+ is simply the AMD PR rating on the chip.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23rd September, 2002, 05:29 PM
baller02's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: swiss
Posts: 113

lol ))

i know it but i wanna run this 2400+ at 2400mhz because it looks good to reach this speed
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 23rd September, 2002, 05:38 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

I think the point being alexandrus that a overclocked Xp-2400 may well go over 2400mhz overclocked, this will mean that many users need more than a 12.5 multiplyer to max out there CPU (due to FSB limitation).

As a unlocked CPU can only use between 6 and 12.5 you will need a way of getting 13+ multiplyers to get your maximum overclock. Especially those of us hoping for 2.5gig+ with peltiers.

I have not yet attempted to unlock a Xp-2400 or 2600 (higher mults) has anybody else seen this done (i think not thus far with the CPU's still being unavalable for purchase)
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick 8K3a+ multiplier question Lazgoat EPoX MotherBoards 3 12th June, 2004 08:28 PM
8K3a+ and higher multiplier Zilla EPoX MotherBoards 6 15th July, 2003 01:20 PM
epox 8k3a+ multiplier baller02 EPoX MotherBoards 0 16th October, 2002 12:52 PM
8K3A, Tbird Multiplier (FAO Epox Tech) mbell666 EPoX MotherBoards 17 25th July, 2002 10:59 AM
8K3A+, Multiplier Adjustment mbell666 EPoX MotherBoards 3 19th April, 2002 07:30 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0