AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > GAMES! OH YEAH!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2010, 10:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

PS3 two outputs

I have something I'd like to do with my PS3, despite some searches on Google I could only find very vague answers.

My setup is as follows:

My room is an attic room, in the middle is a big block where the stairs come up. My computer in basically in the corner, and my bed is against the wall a few feet away. My computer displays to dual screens, one of which is a Samsung 24" that also acts as a TV and can handle a single HDMI input.

I can lay in bed, and see this screen, watch TV etc.

If I swivel on my computer chair 90 degrees to the left, I'm looking at my 28" TV where my PS3 is, and because of the stair block this isn't visible from my bed.

Because I am atrociously lazy, sometimes I'd like to play my PS3 whilst not sitting in my PC chair...i.e in my bed. My Computer chair is pretty uncomfortable and noisy.

So my question is....I'd like to have some form of HDMI splitter that allows me to connect to BOTH the TV and the PC/TV Screen.

The Samsung PC/TV has different input modes just like a normal Telly.

The suggestions I've found on Google either involve using Composite cables, or people are saying that it's tedious because you have to have either the one of the displays switched off for the PS3 to auto-detect the right one.

I'd like it to detect the right one with both ON. They would be using different input modes, so if the Samsung is displaying my PC screen, will that effectively mean it's "off" to the PS3?

See, lots of questions...the Samsung is also a good 3m from the PS3.

If anyone can help me in my quest for ultimate laziness, I'd be eternally grateful.

Thanks


P.S I know the obvious suggestion is a splitter, but I'm seeing a lot of Googlers saying they don't work.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]



Last edited by aghastpumpkin; 3rd October, 2010 at 10:50 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2010, 11:52 PM
Necorum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Indianapolis,Indiana,United States
Posts: 1,803
Send a message via AIM to Necorum Send a message via MSN to Necorum Send a message via Yahoo to Necorum

I have my ps3 hooked up using the Y/R/W cords that come standard with s3 and using a hdmi to dvi converter to connect my ps3 to my tv and my lg monitor for my pc.

Since your monitor has hdmi and your tv i assume has component and comp. and hdmi i dont see why you could run both up at the same time.

could try something like this

Cables Unlimited Video extender - External

if i am understanding you correctly
__________________
AOA Team fah


3dMark 11: P7023
3dMark Vantage: P31097
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th October, 2010, 05:27 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

HDMI is technically a two way point to point link (that's how HDCP works), so splitting it gets a bit interesting. The PS3 won't output HDMI and component at the same time ( according to (PS3™ | Video), but you would be able to switch between them - although you'd probably have to manually change it each time around.

You could probably find a HDMI switch box that would allow you to switch which monitor is in use, although you'd need to check it operates by switching destinations not sources.

Actually, if both screens accept the same timing, and you're not going to use HDCP (Bluray at 1080p), you might be able to get away using an HDMI splitter box - they're pretty much a passive repeater.
__________________

Last edited by Áedán; 4th October, 2010 at 05:29 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ps3 , ps3 dual displays



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0