AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2003, 02:03 PM
Sideburns's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: UK, North East
Posts: 280

ide cable mod

hey there, looking to get a bit more length out of an 80 wire ide cable by moving the slave hard disk connector closer to the master connector, so that the main section of cable is longer while the ide devices will need to be closer to each other.

Anyone know if this is safe and of any guides on the web for taking off the connector to move it?
__________________
"Pain is only relative to the comfort you live in"

Athlon 64 3700+, Shuttle sn95, 1gb, nvidia 7600gt

----old-----
xp1700+ @ xp2600 (12.5*166 / 1.6v), epox 8k3a+, TwinMos + Geil 1.5gb ram, Ati radeon 8500 128mb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2003, 04:44 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I've done it with 40pin IDC connectors (IE, the 40pin varient of an IDE connector). If you're not careful, you can break the cabling easily when you remove the IDC header. I suspect the same more true of the 80pin cable/headers, as there's less physical strength to the cables!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st August, 2003, 09:20 AM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Why not just get a strip of ribbon cable, some IDC connectors and make it from scratch? Beats having a cable full of holes...
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2003, 11:19 AM
Sideburns's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: UK, North East
Posts: 280

thanks for responses, managed to fit the cable without modding, bit of a stretch though
__________________
"Pain is only relative to the comfort you live in"

Athlon 64 3700+, Shuttle sn95, 1gb, nvidia 7600gt

----old-----
xp1700+ @ xp2600 (12.5*166 / 1.6v), epox 8k3a+, TwinMos + Geil 1.5gb ram, Ati radeon 8500 128mb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Cable Mod! somebodytoldme7 Case Modifications 10 30th January, 2005 06:29 PM
Cable help. Phat Pat Mobile Devices and Networking 5 12th February, 2003 01:33 AM
Better cable bandwidth via cable modem ?firmware update. Think twice! cloasters Random Nonsense! 1 30th June, 2002 08:28 PM
cable WOW...... kat Random Nonsense! 25 12th June, 2002 05:43 PM
cable tv and isp ?? kat Random Nonsense! 2 4th June, 2002 06:18 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0