AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2005, 06:56 PM
Doubs's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 7

Microsoft Wireless Optical Desktop

Hi,

I just brought my self a brand new Microsoft Wireless Optical Desktop 2.0 Comfort Edition, I have gone to the Microsoft web site and downloaded the latest drivers, the keyboard and all of its extra functions work fine but here's where the problem start when I go to play games "if I was to walk forward by pressing the (W) key it will walk then suddenly stop"!! and I would then have to press the key again to continue walking? and its with every game. is it because its wireless or am I doing something wrong? all other keyboard I have in the house work fine......
__________________
CPU: AMD 64 3400+ 2.15 GHz
Mobo: Asrock K8 Combo-Z
GFX: Asus 256mb Radeon X800PRO
RAM: 2x512 PC400 DDR
Maxtor ATA 160GB + 120GB
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2005, 08:44 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I'd tend to suspect the keyboard, and its behavior is probably by design.

The IBM Keyboard Protocol specifies that the keyboard will send a keydown keycode at regular intervals for as long as the key is held down. For a wireless keyboard, this means transmitting a radio signal (a fairly expensive thing, power-wise) constantly. The keyboard firmware is probably designed to assume that any key held down for more than a certain period of time is stuck, and so stops sending the event in order to save battery life.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2005, 09:34 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

My cordless logitech keyboard doesn't do this.

I would agree that it is unlikely that it transmits the whole time a key is held down - the battery seems to last forever. I would guess that with mine it transmits a second signal when the key is released.

Hopefully someone knows more about the keyboard you have.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2005, 06:38 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrok
My cordless logitech keyboard doesn't do this.

I would agree that it is unlikely that it transmits the whole time a key is held down - the battery seems to last forever. I would guess that with mine it transmits a second signal when the key is released.
I've always thought the whole implementation was rather goofy. I think it is a hold-over from the early days of the PC, when key repeat was actually a function of the keyboard as opposed to the BIOS. The reason I think this is because there is also a keyup event. As long as the keyboard sends a keydown and a keyup event, everything should be perfectly fine for anything newer than a PC XT (and maybe even then). But it's the best guess I have.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2005, 06:41 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doubs
Hi,

I just brought my self a brand new Microsoft Wireless Optical Desktop 2.0 Comfort Edition, I have gone to the Microsoft web site and downloaded the latest drivers, the keyboard and all of its extra functions work fine but here's where the problem start when I go to play games "if I was to walk forward by pressing the (W) key it will walk then suddenly stop"!! and I would then have to press the key again to continue walking? and its with every game. is it because its wireless or am I doing something wrong? all other keyboard I have in the house work fine......

I had the same issue with that set. You need to make sure that the ketboard is recieveing stand-by power...i don't know why, but it solved it for me. As well, make sure you install drivers from the cd first, and then update to the newest 5.2....everything works good on the second rig in my sig now, since doing that. stupid thing made me buy another wired keyboard, it was so frustrating!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2005, 07:01 PM
Doubs's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 7

How would a make sure that my keyboard is receveing stand-by power? plus I dident get any drivers in the box ;(
__________________
CPU: AMD 64 3400+ 2.15 GHz
Mobo: Asrock K8 Combo-Z
GFX: Asus 256mb Radeon X800PRO
RAM: 2x512 PC400 DDR
Maxtor ATA 160GB + 120GB
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2005, 07:02 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

no intellipoint driver? for shame! start with version 4.0.

the mobo needs to be able to be brought out of standby by the keyboard. I dunno why this setting in my bios helped!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2005, 07:11 PM
Doubs's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 7

Sorry but im a noob when it comes to things like this where? what? when?

you got any links for what i need

sorry
__________________
CPU: AMD 64 3400+ 2.15 GHz
Mobo: Asrock K8 Combo-Z
GFX: Asus 256mb Radeon X800PRO
RAM: 2x512 PC400 DDR
Maxtor ATA 160GB + 120GB
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2005, 07:24 AM
Cerium's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 180

I have the (wireless) logitech mx duo and the keyboard still has the batterys that it shiped with in it. I use it every day and I have had it for around 80% of a year.
Edit:It works with games. If i hold w the w key stays pressed.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2005, 08:05 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Logitech's wireless equipment is brillaint, just like their corded range, especially the mx series. I use an mx700 and mx1000 with a logitech cordless keyboard deluxe on both and I have never had an issue, the 700 is almost 2 years old and its original NiMH batteries are brilliant as ever, never run out of juice. ever. the keyboards go 4-6 months per set of el cheapo batteries. Over 6 months on a set of high end ones. Swiss hardware is just like a swiss watch. Sits there year in, year out doing what its damn well told to do without complaining
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2005, 11:17 PM
Doubs's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 7

Well I still havent got it to work, Guess I am going to have to sell it on ebay or something and get my self a Logitech set
__________________
CPU: AMD 64 3400+ 2.15 GHz
Mobo: Asrock K8 Combo-Z
GFX: Asus 256mb Radeon X800PRO
RAM: 2x512 PC400 DDR
Maxtor ATA 160GB + 120GB
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 24th February, 2005, 01:07 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I have a DVD-ROM drive here which does not play DVD-ROM's by design! There's a note stating this on TEAC's website.

Sometimes we get caught out...
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 24th February, 2005, 01:52 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Change the batteries. If that doesn't help take the batteries out overnight and then install fresh one.

I switched to Microsoft after killing 2 Logitech Keyboards. I have had this problem befor also. It also had a problem typing capitol letters. Taking the batteries out overnight solved it.

BTW:
When I first switched from logitech to Microsoft I never uninstalled the logitech drivers before installing Microsoft drivers (I use a Logitech trackball and Microsoft keyboard, both wireless) and it hosed my system so bad I had to repartition, reformat, reinstall. Since then I have never installed drivers for wireless and it still works fine with limited loss of functionallity that I would never use anyway.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse buggered? Chesso Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 11 1st March, 2006 02:08 PM
Microsoft K51-00133 Wireless Optical Desktop 2.0 $44.94 - $20.00 = $24.94 mookydooky Online Deals, and Steals 0 14th December, 2004 04:41 AM
Refurb Microsoft wireless optical desktop pro package $39.90. mookydooky Online Deals, and Steals 16 10th December, 2004 01:00 AM
Microsoft Wireless Optical Desktop $25AR Staz Online Deals, and Steals 2 13th September, 2004 01:35 PM
optical&wireless mouse refresh rates burekar Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 30th December, 2001 08:53 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0