AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2005, 03:08 PM
calgar's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: England
Posts: 375
Send a message via ICQ to calgar Send a message via AIM to calgar Send a message via MSN to calgar Send a message via Yahoo to calgar

do any of these support multiple processors?

well, i sorta have quite a few of these hanging around and was thinking of trying to make some kind of use of them (some kind of basic server or a machine to leave on downloading stuff)

anyway, do either Pentium 1s, pentium mmxs or amd k5 processors support multiple processors?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2005, 03:18 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I do believe there were dual socket 7 boards, the tyan tomcat range is worth a look
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah

Last edited by GrahamGarside; 17th May, 2005 at 05:38 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2005, 01:53 AM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

Graham is correct. But they'll only work with Intel processors. Neither the K5 or K6-2 will work in multiprocessor motherboards. I don't know enough to know why, just that they won't. Apparently they weren't engineered for such.
__________________
AOA Team fah

It is the dull man who is always sure, and the sure man who is always dull.
H. L. Mencken
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2005, 11:26 AM
calgar's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: England
Posts: 375
Send a message via ICQ to calgar Send a message via AIM to calgar Send a message via MSN to calgar Send a message via Yahoo to calgar

thanks for that.

now, im guessing matching the stepping numbers on these things is still nesessary on such old procs?

where can i find the stepping number?

i will post pics of the three types of pentium processors i have as soon as i find my camera cable -_- if that will help
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2005, 03:14 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

It will likely be written on the core on the underneath of the cpu (before the core was moved to the top for cooling)
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2005, 03:30 PM
calgar's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: England
Posts: 375
Send a message via ICQ to calgar Send a message via AIM to calgar Send a message via MSN to calgar Send a message via Yahoo to calgar

would somthing like SL27K be a stepping number?

and were there ever tri or quad processor socket 7 mobos?

also, im kinda having trouble finding dual socket 7 mobos, dont suppose you know where i could get one? even ebay has let me down
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2005, 04:10 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Thats the stepping yes.

They are long since past production, ebay is yor only hope and even then I doubt it's economical, you're looking at about £5-10 for the board, and another £5 or so on postage
They are likely very rare, I doubt many would have been used in personel computers, most likely in pro servers and workstations, the kind of systems that end up in a land fill

I don't know about quad processor boards, I don't think you'd find anything like that older than a Pentium Pro
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2005, 10:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 20

I believe I've seen a quad-processor motherboard from pictures... Good luck finding one now though. Your best bet is probably to get a cheap PIII Dual rig.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD 939pin processors Razorfish 64 Bit computing 0 28th June, 2004 06:04 PM
Added 20 processors prat ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 17 11th May, 2003 11:51 PM
ET: Support 8K7a+ CPU and BIOS support HakMe2Deth EPoX MotherBoards 3 11th March, 2003 10:36 PM
My Multiple Hells~ The Spyder Random Nonsense! 18 9th November, 2002 11:10 PM
DOes Linux support dual processors??? JayJay Linux 7 24th September, 2002 07:33 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0