AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2007, 07:38 AM
Postaldave's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: 3 hours from LA.. its hot here
Posts: 591
Send a message via ICQ to Postaldave Send a message via AIM to Postaldave

Please review my new setup

Ok i'm a bit rusty in terms of building a decent performance machine.

The deal here is I need to literally be cheap, but I won't settle for anything but the best in some areas.

For example I MUST have a 8800gtx card... now i'm not getting crazy and trying to run them in SLI. But yea... you get the point i'm sure.

So here it is.


Antec Performance One P180B Black 0.8mm cold rolled steel for durability through the majority of chassis 1.0mm cold rolled steel around the 4 x HDD area ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
Item #: N82E16811129017
Return Policy: Standard Return Policy
$129.99


Western Digital Caviar SE WD800JD 80GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
Item #: N82E16822135106
Return Policy: Standard Return Policy
$43.99


EVGA 122-M2-NF59 Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
Item #: N82E16813188008
Return Policy: Standard Return Policy
$189.99


eVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail
Item #: N82E16814130072
Return Policy: Limited Non-Refundable 30-Day Return Policy
$589.99


SeaSonic S12 Energy Plus SS-550HT ATX12V / EPS12V 550W Power Supply - Retail
Item #: N82E16817151027
Return Policy: Standard Return Policy
$129.99


Patriot eXtreme Performance 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model PDC21G6400LLK - Retail
Item #: N82E16820220143
Return Policy: Standard Return Policy
$139.99


AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Windsor 2.0GHz Socket AM2 Processor Model ADA3800CUBOX - Retail
Item #: N82E16819103735
Return Policy: Processors (CPUs) Return Policy
$135.00

Subtotal: $1,358.94
Tax: $98.52
Shipping: $28.92



Grand Total: $1,486.38


==================

Short Version:

Case:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129017

HDD:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822135106

Mobo:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813188008

Vid Card:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130072

Power Supply:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151027

RAM:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820220143

CPU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103735




=====================

The questions are:

-What is 3gb/s sata? Will my OG sata 150 raptor drive work still, or do I need to buy a new hdd?

-Does anyone have reccomendations for RAM that might be better for the same or less?

-I basically ONLY play WoW on my computer now and browse the net, sometimes I play DoD or CS..... but generally just World of Warcraft.

-So yea basically i'm looking for opinions, suggestions, options, ideas on what i've got here.

Thanks a ton,
Postal
__________________
WoW Server: Uther
Postal - 60 Undead Rogue
Evad - 60 Tauren Druid
Phaustus - 60 Troll Shaman
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2007, 08:13 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

You need a 8800 for Wow?!

If you must have an 8800, wait until ATI releases R600. The 8800 prices will drop alot.

Edit - You'll need 2GB of RAM to play Wow smoothly. Wow is only RAM dependent really.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad

Last edited by Pitch; 26th January, 2007 at 08:14 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2007, 08:40 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

You cant have a 8800gtx with 1 gig of ram!!!
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2007, 09:49 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

wait about 3 1/2 weeks you'll save money on whatever you buy
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2007, 12:21 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Core 2 Duo all the way!
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2007, 01:16 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

You play wow?
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2007, 08:20 PM
Postaldave's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: 3 hours from LA.. its hot here
Posts: 591
Send a message via ICQ to Postaldave Send a message via AIM to Postaldave

I've played for 2 years just fine with 1 gig of ram.

Is there a reason you guys are saying 2 gigs other than more memory = better? Is there an actual NEED for 2 gigs right off the bat, or can I just buy more when I have more money as I plan to?

As for the core duo vs. amd... does anyone know if there is a comparison between the 2 types of processors out there? I'm an AMD fan and always have been so not looking for a debate about it.... just a factual comparison between the 2 and the differing models.

Also, what is the BEST of both worlds in terms of processors and such?

And can someone please answer the question on SATA 3gbs vs. Regular old SATA 150 (The original implementation of SATA) ?? Is a SATA150 drive compatible with the new SATA3gbs ???

And hay rob, long time brotha. I do play wow on uther server for about 2 years now man, Tera plays too. Live in San Diego now and work at a school up here as a computer tech.
__________________
WoW Server: Uther
Postal - 60 Undead Rogue
Evad - 60 Tauren Druid
Phaustus - 60 Troll Shaman
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2007, 10:45 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Going to get those boxes folding for the 45 are we?
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2007, 10:48 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Postaldave
I've played for 2 years just fine with 1 gig of ram.

Is there a reason you guys are saying 2 gigs other than more memory = better? Is there an actual NEED for 2 gigs right off the bat, or can I just buy more when I have more money as I plan to?

As for the core duo vs. amd... does anyone know if there is a comparison between the 2 types of processors out there? I'm an AMD fan and always have been so not looking for a debate about it.... just a factual comparison between the 2 and the differing models.

Also, what is the BEST of both worlds in terms of processors and such?

And can someone please answer the question on SATA 3gbs vs. Regular old SATA 150 (The original implementation of SATA) ?? Is a SATA150 drive compatible with the new SATA3gbs ???

And hay rob, long time brotha. I do play wow on uther server for about 2 years now man, Tera plays too. Live in San Diego now and work at a school up here as a computer tech.
It's fairly even, but if you are planning on overclocking, then C2D is the way to go.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2007, 12:55 AM
Strongwolf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,969

Your old HDD will work just fine, SATA II is just faster.


I love that case.
__________________
Live Long and Prosper

ASUS G73 SW, IE7, 20 GB DD3 ram


AOA Team fah

Last edited by Strongwolf; 27th January, 2007 at 12:56 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2007, 03:44 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Hey PD! Long time no see! Good to see you back around a little bit.

That looks like a pretty sweet lineup you've got there.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2007, 07:19 AM
Postaldave's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: 3 hours from LA.. its hot here
Posts: 591
Send a message via ICQ to Postaldave Send a message via AIM to Postaldave

Hay giz and others, yea I still lurk around quite a bit.... just not very active in posting :-/

anyways, I got my system and it's all up and running.

Made some subtle changes (changed over to corsair ram, changed the mobo to a foxxcon 590 sli am2 board).

But yea, a couple of questions since i'm rusty.

The heat temps are such. (In Farenheit)

-CPU = 90
-System = 100
-Nforce = 126
-GPU = 129

Also, for some reason all the voltages read green except for the RAM, it shows RAM as yellow (warning) status with a voltage of 1.9 steady??

I'm just using the Ntune utility for now as I just built the system and i'm a bit rusty.
__________________
WoW Server: Uther
Postal - 60 Undead Rogue
Evad - 60 Tauren Druid
Phaustus - 60 Troll Shaman
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2007, 08:49 AM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

Yoh PostalDave!

Head over to the Chop Shop and mod that case. =O

Window Mod + P180B = LOLZ0RZ R U NUTS KUTTIN THRU 3 LAYERS LOALAZL
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2007, 09:13 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

The two things that strike me are the ram. 2gigs makes more sense now. The second is the HD, $69.99 will get you 3 times the capacity and a faster drive by about 20%

If you only play WOW and DoD/CS then an 8800GTX is completely overkill, even cutting back to the GTS will save you nearly $200
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2007, 02:19 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Maybe Anandtech has a side by side comparison of AMD 2x's and Core Duos in its recent archives. The Core Duos slay the dual core AMD's, I'm sorry to say. Moot point anyway, you already bought the components.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2007, 08:46 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

They do but they aren't as cheap yet. Although looking at prices in the states it's not as big a gap as the uk where a 3800+ is nearly half the price of an E4300.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Some Help for Setup fantomfreq ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 2 4th March, 2007 02:38 PM
pc on tv setup barneygumble742 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 29th December, 2006 03:51 AM
Fan setup smytherss Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 10 31st May, 2006 05:36 AM
What should this setup go to ? chrislip EPoX MotherBoards 5 18th January, 2003 07:58 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0