AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2009, 11:54 PM
IceRaptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 501
Send a message via MSN to IceRaptor

Mixing Ram

My original System has the following 2GB patriot xtreme performance ram with the following specs:-
Capacity 2GB (2x1GB)
Cas 4
Cas latency CL 4-4-4-12
Memory speed PC2-6400
Clock speed 800MHz
Special features Patriot Aluminum Bladed Heat Shield Technology
Technology DDR2 240-Pin

I've recently received my new 4GB Kingston pair with the following spec:-
Input voltage 1.8V
Internal memory 4096MB
Internal memory type DDR2-SDRAM
Form factor DIMM 240-pin
Bus clock rate 800MHz
ECC N
CAS latency CL6
Module configuration 256M X 64

For Gaming Would it be more advisable to install Kingston pair alone or mixed with the patriot to give 6GB? (I have vista 64 )
__________________
E4300 @ 3.15Ghz ( Arctic Freezer Pro 7)
PowerColor 4830 512MB
2x pc6400 2Gb
320gb Seagate
500gb WD (external)
Gigabyte P965 S3
OCZ Stealth-X-Stream 600 Watt
Vista 32 bit

Last edited by IceRaptor; 11th January, 2009 at 05:14 AM. Reason: grammer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2009, 01:23 AM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

Quote:
Originally Posted by IceRaptor View Post
My original System has the following 2GB patriot xtreme performance ram with the following specs:-
Capacity 2GB (2x1GB)
Cas 4
Cas latency CL 4-4-4-12
Memory speed PC2-6400
Clock speed 800MHz
Special features Patriot Aluminum Bladed Heat Shield Technology
Technology DDR2 240-Pin

I've recently received my new 4GB Kingston pair with the following spec:-
Input voltage 1.8V
Internal memory 4096MB
Internal memory type DDR2-SDRAM
Form factor DIMM 240-pin
Bus clock rate 800MHz
ECC N
CAS latency CL6
Module configuration 256M X 64

For Gaming Would it be more advisable to install Kingston pair alone or mixed with the patriot to give 6GB? (I have a vista 64 )
As far as I'm aware (anyone is free to correct me if I'm wrong), it should work if the speeds of the RAM is the same. I've never mixed brands of RAM, personally, just because there's always a possibility of all sorts of problems if you do.

That being said, make sure the voltages for them are the same too, else you may come across all sorts of weird and wonderful errors. (Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong).

Just a quick question, though, why would you need 6GB RAM for gaming? 4GB for Vista gaming is more than suffice, even for Crysis.
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2009, 05:13 AM
IceRaptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 501
Send a message via MSN to IceRaptor

i just dont like the idea of wasting 2 perfectly good sticks of 1gb ram.
__________________
E4300 @ 3.15Ghz ( Arctic Freezer Pro 7)
PowerColor 4830 512MB
2x pc6400 2Gb
320gb Seagate
500gb WD (external)
Gigabyte P965 S3
OCZ Stealth-X-Stream 600 Watt
Vista 32 bit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2009, 05:22 AM
IceRaptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 501
Send a message via MSN to IceRaptor

how bad will the impact be going from cl6 to cl4?
__________________
E4300 @ 3.15Ghz ( Arctic Freezer Pro 7)
PowerColor 4830 512MB
2x pc6400 2Gb
320gb Seagate
500gb WD (external)
Gigabyte P965 S3
OCZ Stealth-X-Stream 600 Watt
Vista 32 bit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2009, 05:25 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by IceRaptor View Post
i just dont like the idea of wasting 2 perfectly good sticks of 1gb ram.
Not a good reason for inviting all kinds of problems that can be avoided by not mixing "Matched" pairs of RAM.
Not a good idea because it will Hurt your gaming performance, not help it.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2009, 03:23 PM
IceRaptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 501
Send a message via MSN to IceRaptor

k i'll stick with 4gb

I will be benchmarking the kingston against the patriot with SiSandra to see if there is is a loss in performance when switching to the 4gb setup and also testing it ingame to see the difference.
__________________
E4300 @ 3.15Ghz ( Arctic Freezer Pro 7)
PowerColor 4830 512MB
2x pc6400 2Gb
320gb Seagate
500gb WD (external)
Gigabyte P965 S3
OCZ Stealth-X-Stream 600 Watt
Vista 32 bit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mixing Memory Morkin General Hardware Discussion 2 21st April, 2008 07:54 PM
Mixing memory brands iscaboo CRASHED! 6 9th March, 2005 07:21 AM
Mixing IDE and SATA hard drives on EP-4PCA3+ b.whizz EPoX MotherBoards 7 3rd May, 2004 01:58 AM
Mixing Ram on 8RDA dod EPoX MotherBoards 3 17th December, 2002 06:58 PM
Mixing hose types? chazz469 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 3 5th June, 2002 12:53 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0