AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > General Hardware Discussion

General Hardware Discussion Hard drives, CD, DVD Monitors, All hardware questions not better served by our other Topics


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th July, 2002, 09:49 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Is my floppy dead?

Was going to lfash new bios and about to make up new disk when I realised my floppy isn't recognised.

Changed the cables, its definitely getting power, I don't have a spare to test it.

Could ocing have caused it?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th July, 2002, 11:27 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

make sure that the cable is inserted correctly-!
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2002, 07:40 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Re: Is my floppy dead?

Quote:
Originally posted by dod
Was going to lfash new bios and about to make up new disk when I realised my floppy isn't recognised.

Changed the cables, its definitely getting power, I don't have a spare to test it.

Could ocing have caused it?
I don't think that OCing is famous for kayoing FDD's. You might clock down to stock, just to be certain.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2002, 07:18 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Thnx guys Ive now double checked all that and running defaults. Just to be on the safe side I also went to the guy who supplies our work stuff and he kindly "donated" a spare.

But...

Neither works. Tried 3 different cables, tried different power connectors, Device manager says its working properly, cant see it in dos. DOesn't show in explorer

Also I'm not sure if its getting power now and I dont have a meter here to check. I know its not lighting up though. What else do I need to go through?

Could there be a board related problem?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2002, 04:22 AM
WyrmMaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 253

Possibly a bad floppy controller. I dont even have a floppy though, havent needed one in 4 months except for one time, and then i stole it from another comp. I always just flash my bios from my harddrive, i know they always say not to, but i havent had a problem with it.
__________________

Watercooled Barton 2500+ AGOIA-Y @ 2300 (11.5x200) 1.85v
Epox 8RDA
1gb OCZ PC3200, 2-2-2-6
eVGA Geforce 4 TI4400
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2002, 05:48 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Make sure it is enabled in the BIOS.

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30th July, 2002, 02:20 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

AW noooo.

Took out board, installed spare, formatted, reinstalled w2k, booted up and still no floppy. Looked at everything again and noticed that one of the pins on the floppy didnt look quite right. Bent it back a bit, reconnected everything, booted up and all systems are go.

Really like my 8k3a so, remove spare, reinstall board, boot, floppy shows up , going in to W2k and....STOP. INACCESSIBLE BOOT DEVICE.

Tried repair installation and so on. Any one else experienced this?

Edit: got what I need
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space

Last edited by dod; 30th July, 2002 at 04:36 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floppy Bag captaincurran Case Modifications 4 5th November, 2006 08:48 PM
8k3a+: Dead Floppy problem, advice needed gt94sss2 EPoX MotherBoards 9 9th October, 2003 08:30 PM
Floppy dead after BIOS upgrade ]SK[ EPoX MotherBoards 8 1st June, 2003 09:55 PM
help! need to flash bios using cdrw, dead floppy controller! ToXiCRaiN EPoX MotherBoards 5 23rd May, 2003 07:25 PM
SCA floppy? Azriel General Hardware Discussion 2 18th November, 2001 02:28 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0