AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2002, 09:40 PM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

Gforce 4 ti 4600

after installing xp and my new video card for the life of me i cant figure out why its so slow 18 fps in nascar 2002 ive fiddle with all the settings and even tryed the new beta drivers any ideas???
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2002, 09:46 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

I can't remember what computer you have kat, please list your specs... thx.

Have you tried the 40.52 detonator drivers from www.aoafiles.com ?

If its a VIA board, have you installed the latest VIA 4-in-1 driver?

And you don't have anything else running? You even tried shutting off Folding@home?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2002, 09:52 PM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

my board is a abit kt7a i believe that the 4-1 drivers are up to date and i just down loaded the latest Nvidea beta drivers i guess i beter check the 4-1 drivers thanks allen
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2002, 10:00 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Try to keep clear of the betas - give the the 40.52's a shot. It might solve your problem. Its always worth a try.

Whats your 3Dmark2001SE score?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2002, 10:10 PM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

i think i may have found the problem apparently there is a compatibly problem with the gforce 4 and kt7a boards i need a bios update
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2002, 10:17 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Oh! I hope that will solve your problem. Be sure to let me know if it did. Good luck!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2002, 10:56 PM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

nope didnt make any difference ....now im realy at a loss the only other thing i can think of is, i decided to go with the up grade option in stead of the freash install wanted to say my stuff dont you know:-D
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2002, 11:08 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Have you tried 3Dmark2001? Whats the score there? I don't really know the game you are talking about, so I need something to measure its current performance by... thx
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2002, 11:48 PM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

not sure if this is good or bad
Attached Thumbnails
Gforce 4 ti 4600-image-0049.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2002, 11:54 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

You should be able to do way better there Kat. What CPU do you have?

On my XP @ 1810, and an overclocked GF3-TI200 I can get ~9100 with the 40.52's.

Something must be screwed there bud.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2002, 12:03 AM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

the cpu is a 1gig axia 266 tbird oced to 1420 ...this is becoming a very diapointing day

perhaps its time for a new motherboard/cpu/memory... my folding machines are faster then my main rig...change is difficult
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2002, 12:05 AM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

what settings are you at allen??? im running at 1024x768x32
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2002, 12:19 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I went and pick it up today, just to help you Kat, no really...LOL

I notice a warning of server slow downs in the game if you choose a bad Audio setting for you gear, any chance this has occurred?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2002, 12:36 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Quote:
Originally posted by kat
what settings are you at allen??? im running at 1024x768x32
In Windows I'm at 1600*1200*32, but for 3Dmark2001 I just use the default settings. I believe they are 1024*768.

Sorry to hear its not working out the way it should there buddy.

What OS? XP?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2002, 01:13 AM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

Quote:
Originally posted by Daniel ~
I went and pick it up today, just to help you Kat, no really...LOL

I notice a warning of server slow downs in the game if you choose a bad Audio setting for you gear, any chance this has occurred?

switched a bunch of stuff around no difference

looks like im going to have to do a clean install of xp

i was working my butt of trying to get all of this done so i could race with a bunch of local boys ...who would have figured ,guys from belding ..on a sever ..on line racing ...went to school with most of them..what a shocker
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2002, 09:01 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Just a thought Kat. Have you turned off anti aliasing. Default 3dm settings dont overrule the card settings. Also set your desktop to the same as 3dm when running the test.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2002, 11:23 PM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

well after a couple of days of tinkering, i just believe that this old kt7a is nearing the end of the road ..i don't believe there is any thing left to try

bright side i have had upgrade fever today and sitting next to me is a brand new ASUS A7V333 and 2 sticks of 256 pc 2700 memory (generic) this board has some interesting features "asus post reporter" and "asus my logo" < something to do with desk top appearance i guess

combined with the antech case / wd 40 gig hdd/ and a 400 watt sparkle power supply should make a nice rig....oh ya and that video card :nervous: :nervous:
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2002, 12:09 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Quote:
Originally posted by kat
well after a couple of days of tinkering, i just believe that this old kt7a is nearing the end of the road ..i don't believe there is any thing left to try

bright side i have had upgrade fever today and sitting next to me is a brand new ASUS A7V333 and 2 sticks of 256 pc 2700 memory (generic) this board has some interesting features "asus post reporter" and "asus my logo" < something to do with desk top appearance i guess

combined with the antech case / wd 40 gig hdd/ and a 400 watt sparkle power supply should make a nice rig....oh ya and that video card :nervous: :nervous:
WOW kat that sounds good! I have the exact same board, it is a good one. If you want to increase Vddr, check out my article on SA: http://www.spodesabode.com/content/article/a7v333

Good luck with your new toys! If you have any questions about that board, just ask.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2002, 01:11 AM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

shhhh ...suppose to be a secret....

with all of the epox stuff going on around here, im sure it wont bring the house down for a couple of abit/asus guys to hang out...you never know :-D
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2002, 01:59 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Well, now that there are more of us they can't just shut us out! LOL

Any updates on your problem kat??
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GForce FX5900 Albratron..more stable when overclocked. michealwolfe Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 10 8th July, 2004 03:09 AM
need bios for Albatron-GForce FX 5950Ultra michealwolfe Hardware Hacking 1 30th April, 2004 05:40 PM
New Gforce Drivers & coolbits SadisticWarrior Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 28th October, 2002 05:44 PM
Epox 8k3a+ and Asus's gforce cards bah EPoX MotherBoards 2 30th April, 2002 05:27 AM
Pny Ti 4600 KTV_Striker EPoX MotherBoards 2 29th April, 2002 04:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0