AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2003, 08:50 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Quality of TV out-put

Hi all, I've got an Inno3D GF4 Ti4400, not overclocked or anything.

I've tried using the supplied S-VHS to Composite Video adaptor and connecting to a small TV but the quality is really bad! Very blurred and dark Is it the adaptor? Should I just use the S-VHS output to connect to a S-VHS in on a TV for better quality?
Has anyone done this, if so whats the quality like? Any better suggestions?

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2003, 11:35 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Have you setup the resolution and drivers correctly?
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2003, 12:18 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Erm....I thought it was "plug and play"?

I'll have another go at it tomorrow and post back.

Thanks Holst.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2003, 12:42 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

If you're expecting a monitor like display on a TV, then you'll be disappointed! A TV will struggle to display even 640x480 clearly! Most TVs can manage 320x400 though. If you're trying to display more than 640x480, then you're really onto a loser.

In terms of quality, using the Composite input ranks near the bottom. S-Video is better, and RGB or Component is the best.

On the flip side, a TV does do FSAA automatically, due to it's low resolution!

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2003, 05:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 183

First off; to go from a Y/C output to a composite input you need a encoder! No cable adapter can do what electronics are needed to do!

Just how small of a TV?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2003, 06:51 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by videobruce
First off; to go from a Y/C output to a composite input you need a encoder! No cable adapter can do what electronics are needed to do!
Most modern video encoders can tell when both the Y and C lines are terminated, and when only the Y line is terminated. If the software sees only one line terminated, it switches the video encoder into composite mode. No extra electronics needed, as the encoder on the card can already do Y/C and composite.

The shame is that a number of encoders currently used can also do RGB (European SCART accepts an RGB signal), but the card manufacturers never seem to bother putting an RGB option on their cards.

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2003, 09:40 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Is RGB the same as component video?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th March, 2003, 11:55 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveI
Is RGB the same as component video?
No. Component video is YUV. YUV is a clever hack that allows colour signals to be backwardly compatible with black and white. (OK, so NTSC also changes the frame rate...)

The Y contains the luma signal, which is pretty much what you'd see on a black and white TV. The U contains the red signal minus the luma. The V contains the blue signal minus the luma. I think I got that the right way around!

Alas, TVs work in RGB, and most computers work in RGB. Sending YUV to a TV is a nice idea, but the TV still has to process YUV to convert it to RGB to send to the guns. If your source device is already working in RGB, why bother converting it to YUV to convert back to RGB?

Can you tell I'd rather have an RGB input than a YUV input?

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2003, 03:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 183

Quote:
Originally posted by Áedán


Most modern video encoders can tell when both the Y and C lines are terminated, and when only the Y line is terminated. If the software sees only one line terminated, it switches the video encoder into composite mode. No extra electronics needed, as the encoder on the card can already do Y/C and composite.Áedán
You are saying the encoder is IN the card and it gets activated upon the cable that is attached to the Y/C connector.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2003, 06:01 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by videobruce
You are saying the encoder is IN the card and it gets activated upon the cable that is attached to the Y/C connector.
Most cards graphics controller produce the video data in a 24bit format. The video bus provides 8 bits Red, 8 bits Green, and 8 bits Blue. Obviously no TV handles the data that comes across the video bus! Most (non ATI) cards use an external converter chip to convert the video data into a known TV standard. Most of these chips provide at least two outputs. (which typically end up as the Y and C connections on the Svideo connector)

As they can sense the termination on the end of a cable, they can tell when a device is connected to the end of the cable. If you only connect a composite device, the encoder only sees a single termination, and assumes you're running composite. Hence, it alters the encoding mechanism it uses, to provide composite instead of S-Video or RGB.

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2003, 02:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 183

Ok I follow. I just assumed that if it was a Y/C jack that was all it could do.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LCD quality rxu Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 17th February, 2006 08:24 PM
The quality of mobo's Hozee EPoX MotherBoards 0 7th September, 2005 10:53 PM
finally seeing the quality barneygumble742 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 30th March, 2005 01:17 AM
2d quality on 8RGA smiffy EPoX MotherBoards 2 4th January, 2005 08:22 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0