AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2001, 09:17 PM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

Help with Radeon 32MB DDR

Hey, just curious if anybody familiar with the Radeon 32MB DDR and Tribes 2 can help me out. I am trying to get optimum quality and performance from my Radeon in the game Tribes 2 and I was wondering if anybody can help me with the Radeon settings. Fro example should I use anti-aliasing and if so what setting? As well as all of the other settings, what do you guys think would be the optimum settings for my Radeon without loss of very much performance--preferrably none at all, lol. Thanks!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2001, 10:13 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

well, the best way to go is to test it out. fsaa will make it look better, but I'm not sure what sort of performance hit it'll take for that perticular game.yeah, I know that wasn't a whole lotta help.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2001, 08:19 AM
WyrmMaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 253

If you use radeon tweaker you could use the preset for tribes 2. Im not sure how good it is, but its probably a good starting place.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2001, 06:02 PM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

I'm never using Radeon Tweaker, again. It'sgreat to install, but when you wanna uninstall it to see how well the most recent drivers work or to see how the beta drivers work, it won't uninstall completely, ever. I'm sure there's some registry keys that I coulda deleted to make my video work after Iuninstalled Radeon Tweaker, but I upgraded to WinXP, anyways and since I never do an upgrade, I always like to have a fresh start with an OS, the registry and anything to do with Radeon Tweaker was deleted. Does anybody have any suggestions that are worth-while? Oh, yeah....this is for MrPCMan, I have been playin with it and sometimes when I turn certain things on, things that should give me a boost in resolution regardless of the performance hit, it makes the video look like crap....I have been playin with it for a while, but Tribes 2 has some settings of it's own that have to do with video, so Iwanted to find a good combination between the windows Display Properties settings and the Tribes 2 settings. Thanks for trying, though. TTYL!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2001, 10:40 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I don't tweak my Radeon much. I use powerstrip with XP, never used radeon tweaker. The Antialiasing settings I leave at 2X or just leave off. It degrades performance enough and doesn't make enough of a difference to notice... I can notice 4X AA but then it really eats the frames up.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hey, get some help with an Radeon... Motivator Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 3rd September, 2005 07:38 AM
Free 32MB USB KEY!! cadaveca Online Deals, and Steals 5 10th July, 2005 11:01 AM
Radeon all in wonder GrahamGarside OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 27th September, 2004 04:54 PM
New RADEON out and about. MiGGinZ General Hardware Discussion 5 5th October, 2003 07:28 PM
How can I check to see if my laptop can handle a 32mb network card? josh2139 Mobile Devices and Networking 6 20th August, 2002 04:43 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0