AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2003, 03:42 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

what would you reccomend for a guy on a buget

hey peeps what graphics card would you reccomend for a dude on a budget.. me being new to all of this..

im mostly goin to be playing games such as C&C Empire Earth just as in me and a few m8s nothing drastic just yet

my pc specs are below
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2003, 04:24 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Well how much moey do you have to spend or want to spend? That will determine what card you are going to get.

Come up with a figure and we will help you pick the best card for the money.

ATi 9600 comes tomind or the 9200 if you are really strapped.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2003, 04:27 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

how much are those two cards?

im looking to spend realy not more than £100 cuz i am brassic lol
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2003, 04:48 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

I don't know pounds, only dollars.

The 9600 pro goes for about $150 and the 9600 non pro goes for about $120. I think the 9200 is about $70.

Do not get a card that ends in SE. such as a 9600SE or 9200SE.

Also nVidia just came out with a 5700 that is suposed to be on par with a 9600XT but about $20 cheaper. That would make it slightly more than the 9600pro.

On a personal note: I think they need to add some more letter to the end of the names, I am not confused enough yet.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2003, 04:51 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

chrs m8y ive converted your prices to ££££ lol and its less than £100 so im realy happy about that.... thanks for the help dude

mad moe
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2003, 06:05 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Welcome to AOA madmoe! I've moved your thread to the proper Topic. glad you found what your looking for!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2003, 09:42 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

thanks mr admin dude :P

chrs agen for help peeps

madmoe
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2003, 10:53 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by madmoe
chrs m8y ive converted your prices to ££££ lol and its less than £100 so im realy happy about that.... thanks for the help dude

mad moe
Hiya, just remember that it's not a direct comparison. A number of things result in different selling prices in the UK.

Here's a couple of links with the 9600 though. If you can stretch a little further ebuyer have the 9600 pro for £99.99 plus VAT and delivery.

http://www.lowestonweb.com/Products/...9-EFD030750327

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...=ASC&offset=20
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2003, 11:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: london
Posts: 5

re comment about cards ending in se

Quote:
Originally Posted by Staz
I don't know pounds, only dollars.

The 9600 pro goes for about $150 and the 9600 non pro goes for about $120. I think the 9200 is about $70.

Do not get a card that ends in SE. such as a 9600SE or 9200SE.

Also nVidia just came out with a 5700 that is suposed to be on par with a 9600XT but about $20 cheaper. That would make it slightly more than the 9600pro.

On a personal note: I think they need to add some more letter to the end of the names, I am not confused enough yet.

why the comment re SE, as i have bought a radeon 9200se, and having problems. suggestions why?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 22nd November, 2003, 07:04 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Quote:
Originally Posted by crouchender
why the comment re SE, as i have bought a radeon 9200se, and having problems. suggestions why?
The SE's are slower versions of those cards. I am not sure how they are "crippled", maybe someone else can explain.

I just wouldn't want someone to pick up a Radeon 9600se and think that he is going to get the same performance as a Radeon 9600.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 22nd November, 2003, 09:04 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

thanks all peeps
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2003, 12:10 AM
mpa4712's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to mpa4712

hm, if you really want a good opinion, id say cut back on the modding, and get a better cpu/mobo. Wut uve got there, a tbird and a "jetway" mobo, those are gonna bottleneck any video card you get, expecially any of the newer ones. You can grab a good nforces board and a good xp1700tbB for about 150 if you look hard enough. DDR ram then too, twinmos is very cheap and is great ram. Thats just an opinion tho, i think it'd be a better bet for u instead ofa new video card.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2003, 04:09 AM
BigRed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to BigRed Send a message via AIM to BigRed Send a message via Yahoo to BigRed

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpa4712
hm, if you really want a good opinion, id say cut back on the modding, and get a better cpu/mobo. Wut uve got there, a tbird and a "jetway" mobo, those are gonna bottleneck any video card you get, expecially any of the newer ones. You can grab a good nforces board and a good xp1700tbB for about 150 if you look hard enough. DDR ram then too, twinmos is very cheap and is great ram. Thats just an opinion tho, i think it'd be a better bet for u instead ofa new video card.
Actually...
Quote:
32mb graphics (i know i need better)
That narrows it down to either a TNT2, Geforce, or geforce2gts/radeon1 card. none of those will play any recent games. The min requirement for most recent games is at least a 1ghz system but a good videocard.

If he gets a 9600 he could just pump up the fsaa and anistropic and enjoy quality graphics and do the cpu/mobo thing later.
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying, Thats god damn right." -Red
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2003, 07:22 AM
mpa4712's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to mpa4712

gf2gts is actually a decent card. My gf4mx400 plays all recent games good, but with no eye candy
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2003, 10:28 AM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

hey thanks for the advice ill work up spme money and do the suggested
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW PDA....What do u reccomend ??? CaesaR General Hardware Discussion 2 6th May, 2003 09:10 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0