AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2003, 06:59 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

VGA/Tv out Clone

I am trying to set up a machine in our church that is already running dual vid cards. Agp to projector and Pci to Monitor. It runs a program similar to Powerpoint. I have been asked to set it up so the same thing that is on the projecto can be displayed on a couple of TVs with composite inputs. I fugure a nice Radeon 9200 or GF FX 5200 with TV out should do the trick. Does either one of these cards support cloning between the VGA nad tv out? I have a great 440 MX card but cannot get it to clone the VGA to the TV out.

Any help would be great. Has anyone been able to get this to work on any of these cards? Do I need a special utility/Program?

Thanks Sam
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2003, 07:48 PM
MercutioUK's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 170

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow
I am trying to set up a machine in our church that is already running dual vid cards. Agp to projector and Pci to Monitor. It runs a program similar to Powerpoint. I have been asked to set it up so the same thing that is on the projecto can be displayed on a couple of TVs with composite inputs. I fugure a nice Radeon 9200 or GF FX 5200 with TV out should do the trick. Does either one of these cards support cloning between the VGA nad tv out? I have a great 440 MX card but cannot get it to clone the VGA to the TV out.

Any help would be great. Has anyone been able to get this to work on any of these cards? Do I need a special utility/Program?

Thanks Sam
Try getting the newest drivers for the MX440, it SHOULD be able to do TV out and that will just display exact same as goes out of the VGA on the same card. If that doesnt work (I have had issues on an MX400 the old Gforce2MX) try a program called Tvtool (http://www.softpedia.com/public/cat/...11-2-5-8.shtml). It loads on startup and enables the TV out display.
Older drivers werent so hot with the TV out hence this program aims to resolve the issue. The other problem is that many card manufacturers use different TV out chips so it may be worth trying the site for your particular brand of card (as opposed to the nvidia detonator drivers) as these are likely to have driver support for TV out.

Hope some of the above helps
__________________
Never buy a dwarf with learning difficulties,
It's not big, and it's not clever.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2003, 04:11 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

It is an MSI card. I have tried their drivers and still no go. I DL'd the TvTool and will try that. Is one better than the other in cloning TV out and VGA? nVidia/ATI????

I do not have much time into ATI based cards.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2003, 01:27 PM
MercutioUK's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 170

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow
It is an MSI card. I have tried their drivers and still no go. I DL'd the TvTool and will try that. Is one better than the other in cloning TV out and VGA? nVidia/ATI????

I do not have much time into ATI based cards.
Well... depending how much your looking to spend you cant really go toooo far wrong with one of the ATI all-in-wonder cards. Most of the different models right back as far as the 32MB radeons that were around before they went fully head to head with nvidia in hte performance market might suit and can probably be got off ebay for less than $50 if you look hard enough. The low end "current" models all-in-wonder might be more like $100.
Personally id look at different software tools - that TVtool was what I used to get around the poor TV out drivers and is only $15 for the full version and you can at least try before you buy
__________________
Never buy a dwarf with learning difficulties,
It's not big, and it's not clever.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8RDA+ and ghost error verifying dmi after clone gplracer EPoX MotherBoards 1 30th December, 2003 01:03 AM
Don't put that down payment on a clone of yourself just yet... mookydooky Random Nonsense! 1 12th April, 2003 12:04 AM
Clone this Joke.......Please! Uncle Bob Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 5 14th February, 2003 05:31 PM
Clawhammer clone . . . . VIA Cyrix 4 ??? dimmreaper AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 6th March, 2002 06:45 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0