AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2002, 04:19 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Is a stock Duron 950 fast enough for a Kyro 2?

Hi, all. I've read that Kyro II's need a fast processor. Is a CPU that's slower than 1.33 Ghz simply not OK for Kyro II's? Thanks!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2002, 07:48 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I though 100 bus and 1ghz was the base requirements for them... I could be mistaken. I think their popularity was short-lived since I rarely see any mention of them any more.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2002, 09:14 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

they are still around, and a decent card, but I see Gf2-GTS's for the same price ($65-70 us), I think I would buy one of those instaed, they'll spank a kyro in framerate
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2002, 09:12 AM
286 Rocks's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to 286 Rocks

I have a kyro 2 on a 1.2 T-bird they are nice cards but they do eat processor. From my experience I think a 950 would be fine although as stated above a GTS would probably be better in your situation.
__________________
--------- There are 3 types of people in this world, those that can count and those that can't---------
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2002, 09:54 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

I had a thread around here a few months back talking about the same thing...maybe it has some info in it..
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th January, 2002, 07:08 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Is Pricewatch the worst place in the world to look for GF2 MX, GF2 GTS, Pro and GF 2 MX 400 Vidcards? I can't find a decent price from a decent etailer, period!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2002, 09:19 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

One of the systems we have has a Duron 850 retail cpu. This system has a Kyro 11 4500 card in it and runs great. I have downloaded the latest drivers and no problems at all.

Cloasters::In my opinion you will be much better off purchasing a Kyro 11 4500 vid card in place of the low end nVidia cards. The Hercules card will outperform these cards you are looking at, the price for this card is in the $100.00 range.

You can find these off www.pricewatch.com just put the name of what you are looking for in the search block and press enter. You will find some pages of this card. This will work also for the nVidia cards you are seeking..
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS

Last edited by BobyJo; 22nd January, 2002 at 09:23 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft to offer employees stock instead of stock options. mookydooky Random Nonsense! 0 12th July, 2003 01:45 PM
8k3a 2812 bios is FAST, It appears to have CPU fast decode enabled ! retrospooty EPoX MotherBoards 56 26th August, 2002 02:09 AM
Duron 1Ghz how fast? FerrariF50 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 24 28th March, 2002 09:40 PM
GF2 Ti vs. Kyro II proze Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 22nd February, 2002 01:13 AM
Kyro II vs MX400 proze Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 25 10th October, 2001 09:38 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0