AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


View Poll Results: Did you see improvement with these drivers?
Yes 4 40.00%
No 1 10.00%
Only in FPS/3dMark 1 10.00%
ATI still stinks 4 40.00%
Voters: 10. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 20th January, 2002, 12:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: STL MO
Posts: 137
Send a message via ICQ to thehandler

question

Just had a major crash and had to restore an old registry.
Speaking of drivers for the Radeon, how exactly does a guy check to see what driver he is currently using? Now that makes me wonder how a guy checks the VIA 4in1 drivers and any other driver for that matter. Mike
__________________
ABIT NF7-S r.2.0
XP-2600 Mobil Barton AXMG2600FQQ4C
Thermalright AX-7/ TT Smartfan 2.
PC-3200 2 gig. G.SKILL cas 2 with Heatspreaders.
HIS Radeon XP1650GT/512 GDDAN-R ICEQ RTL.
WD SATA Raptor 150GIG
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz sound card.
PSU 700W GameXStream RT OCZ700GXSSLI.
Thermaltake Xaser III V1000A Case.
21” Samsung LCD monitor.
LOGITECH THX Z-5300 5.1 surround.
XP-PRO OS.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2002, 08:41 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

I purchased the Radeon 8500 (retail) last week. I installed the 9008 driver set and in my opinion this card is best of the best.

http://gamershq.madonion.com/compare2k1.shtml?2487036

Just for kicks I ran the 3dMark2001 and I am very impressed with the score. This is out of the box, nothing tweaked anywhere with the vid card. The only OC is running the cpu at 140mhz instead of 133. Not much of a OC, but the system is running extremely stable, not overheating and outstanding performance.

I am an Intel convert, this is the 4th AMD system I have built in the past year. All of them are outstancing.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2002, 09:21 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:

8KHA+
Radeon 8500 (retail)
XP1800+
Santa Cruz Sound Card
512mb Crucial PC2100
IBM 46g HD
The rest, all the best
I automatically respect anyone with a Turtle beach card , myself being a Creative convert, have been using the Santa Cruz for 4 months with all praise.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2002, 04:54 AM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

Well thank you Pinky::The Santa Cruz was selling at $99.95 a few months ago and since I had no games giving a problem with the sound. I rode the free horse till the end. RTCW is a taxing game and the sound went, At least the Santa Cruz was almost half from way back then.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2002, 05:57 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I picked mine up at Compusa for $59.99 new... may not need another card for a long time (unless I start a fire with my box which is not impossible ).

That score of 8400 is outstanding, can't wait to see what tweaking brings.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2002, 06:53 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

This was an emazing score over the DDR64 VIVO I had previously. The score on that card was 3680, I never expected this much of an improvment over the Vivo. The vivo is an excellent card (se) 198/198 and I installed it in the wifes system. She is happy with it, very much better than the Kyro 11 4500 that was in her system.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2002, 10:02 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

You're right, the VIVO is a great little card... plenty for current gaming... managed 4000 3dmarks which aint bad

I think that with in/out and GF2 Ultra type performance, this card is a real steal.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2002, 06:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: STL MO
Posts: 137
Send a message via ICQ to thehandler

GF ULtra?

Hey Pinky.
I was suprised to see you compare the 8500 to the GF2 Ultra.
Isn't it rather widely held that the 8500 retail actually outperforms the GF3-TI500? Isn't this why Invidia is hurrying to get their GF4 to market to regain their performance crown? Just curious. Mike
__________________
ABIT NF7-S r.2.0
XP-2600 Mobil Barton AXMG2600FQQ4C
Thermalright AX-7/ TT Smartfan 2.
PC-3200 2 gig. G.SKILL cas 2 with Heatspreaders.
HIS Radeon XP1650GT/512 GDDAN-R ICEQ RTL.
WD SATA Raptor 150GIG
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz sound card.
PSU 700W GameXStream RT OCZ700GXSSLI.
Thermaltake Xaser III V1000A Case.
21” Samsung LCD monitor.
LOGITECH THX Z-5300 5.1 surround.
XP-PRO OS.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2002, 04:58 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Re: GF ULtra?

Quote:
Originally posted by thehandler
Hey Pinky.
I was suprised to see you compare the 8500 to the GF2 Ultra.
Isn't it rather widely held that the 8500 retail actually outperforms the GF3-TI500? Isn't this why Invidia is hurrying to get their GF4 to market to regain their performance crown? Just curious. Mike
No, I was comparing the Radeon 64MB DDR to the Ultra in performance (at least mine overclock compares well ).

The radeon 8500 would spank the Ultra
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2002, 12:17 AM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

Pinky::I am looking at your system. I built a system simular to yours last summer. I used the Epox 8KTA3 mobo, right now it has an Athlon 1.2 AXIA unlocked retail cpu, 256mg Crucial Cas2 PC100/133, Kyro 11 4500 vid card. Seagate 20g HD. This system surprises everyone that comes here and takes a look at it. I built this for a guy, the friend of my neighbor, anyway he never came and paid the bill so it is sitting here in the corner.

I would have thought you would have a DDR mobo, with all your stuff.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2002, 04:02 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I'm taking baby steps into the AMD realm... have a duron and shuttle AK11 coming to play with, then I'll eventually graduate to something nastier (like a dual MP or extreme overclocked XP, but my money is in other things right now).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2002, 04:45 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

I'm sure you are aware that Epox is coming out in a couple of weeks with the 8KHA+ with the features that the Soyo Dragon + has, this is almost identical to the Abit and Asus KT266a mobo,s w/raid etc. They are supposed to have revamped the 3phase power regulater on the new boards also. Therefore this might eleminate the 5v & 3.3v rail problems with the 8KHA+ and the 8K7A line.

It seems as though the hi-end OC'ers really go for the raid setup. I don't think it is worth the extra cost of two hard drives + the controller (even though it is built in the mobo) it makes the board sell for about $50.00 more than without it.

Plus Epox is coming out next week with a new NForce board. I don't remember the exact specs but I think they are posted on the Epox site.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2002, 07:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: STL MO
Posts: 137
Send a message via ICQ to thehandler

Radeon trouble

Help........I just installed a new Radeon 8500 to replace my Radeon 32DDR. I
assumed my Radeon Tweaker program would function with it as it had with my 32.
I have the newest program version and I'm running win 98SE.
Each time I open the tweak program, it gives me an error message that says
"setclk_open0 failed" I uninstalled the program and re-installed it and
still no go. It also shows a default speed of 140mhz?? This is a 275mhz
card!
Why do you suppose I am getting this error message now and it worked great
with my old card? Is the program compatable with the newer 8500?
Thank you, Mike
__________________
ABIT NF7-S r.2.0
XP-2600 Mobil Barton AXMG2600FQQ4C
Thermalright AX-7/ TT Smartfan 2.
PC-3200 2 gig. G.SKILL cas 2 with Heatspreaders.
HIS Radeon XP1650GT/512 GDDAN-R ICEQ RTL.
WD SATA Raptor 150GIG
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz sound card.
PSU 700W GameXStream RT OCZ700GXSSLI.
Thermaltake Xaser III V1000A Case.
21” Samsung LCD monitor.
LOGITECH THX Z-5300 5.1 surround.
XP-PRO OS.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2002, 11:57 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

The only tweaker that works on the 8500 line of Radeon cards is the PowerStrip v3.12. You can download this from various sites and it will tell you accurately which card you have. You probably do have the retail version, but this version will work with this card. The 8500 has a different gpu than anything else.

For example I had v3.0 already and it showed my retail 8500 at 265.5/265.5. After I downloaded the latest version it shows 274.5/274.5. And you can tweak the gpu and memory with this software. Also this is the most used software of all tweaks.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2002, 03:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: STL MO
Posts: 137
Send a message via ICQ to thehandler

set up

Hey BJ, you and I are running almost the exact same set up. Only I am using the 1700 and you are using the 1800. Nice rig chief. Mike
__________________
ABIT NF7-S r.2.0
XP-2600 Mobil Barton AXMG2600FQQ4C
Thermalright AX-7/ TT Smartfan 2.
PC-3200 2 gig. G.SKILL cas 2 with Heatspreaders.
HIS Radeon XP1650GT/512 GDDAN-R ICEQ RTL.
WD SATA Raptor 150GIG
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz sound card.
PSU 700W GameXStream RT OCZ700GXSSLI.
Thermaltake Xaser III V1000A Case.
21” Samsung LCD monitor.
LOGITECH THX Z-5300 5.1 surround.
XP-PRO OS.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2002, 02:42 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

That is awsome, I purchased the 1800+ w/3yr warranty for less than $200.00 del. I could not pass this up. I had intended on waiting until the new cpu line was on the market before buying but I didn't think the price would be much lower than this.
Great combo, the XP cpu and 8KHA+. I have been posting over at amdmb.com forum for a awhile, and gotapex forum even longer. There are a lot of great people willing to help on these forums. I guess I kinka got off on the wrong foot with pinky, but maybe I will be able to help someone here also. I have been building systems for over 12yrs. Now I don't get out of the house except if I absolutely have to. I have been disabled from working at any job since 1998. Back problems have had two surgeries and still have to take a lot of meds. Anyway tell me about yourself. Really hope I am able to help someone on this forum. I will only relate to real world situations, not I heard, or someone told me stuff.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2002, 01:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: STL MO
Posts: 137
Send a message via ICQ to thehandler

stuff

Sorry to hear about the disability. Hope all goes well with that. I doubt if you have any problem with Pinky. He seems to be a pretty good guy and has helped quite q few himself. I'm sure everyone over here will appreciate your help as well.
I stick to this board as well as AMDMB. and more recently I have been hanging out at RAGE3D because of my interest in the Radeon board. My 8500 is giving me fits right now. I am freaking out and can't figure out the problem. I installed it a few days ago and my scores on Mark 3D 2001 went up from 3100 to 5700. Not bad but I knew I could go way higher with tweaking and ocing the vid card. Well as soon as I tried to run 3 totally diffferent tweak programs, my scores fell to 4100. I can't figure out what the heck is going on. Tweaks don't seem to make a diff. Adjusting clock speed makes almost no difference. If I disable the programs and run it all at default now, still 4100. My next option is to uninstall all three of the tweak programs and then go through the registry and make sure there are none of them left there. Then I am going to uninstall the ATI driver and re-install it. I am using the Beta 9008 driver which is the newest on the ATI site, but a newer one, I think it is 9012 is available on the Rage 3D site. I will try this and see what happens. Wish me luck as I am really bummed. Mike
__________________
ABIT NF7-S r.2.0
XP-2600 Mobil Barton AXMG2600FQQ4C
Thermalright AX-7/ TT Smartfan 2.
PC-3200 2 gig. G.SKILL cas 2 with Heatspreaders.
HIS Radeon XP1650GT/512 GDDAN-R ICEQ RTL.
WD SATA Raptor 150GIG
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz sound card.
PSU 700W GameXStream RT OCZ700GXSSLI.
Thermaltake Xaser III V1000A Case.
21” Samsung LCD monitor.
LOGITECH THX Z-5300 5.1 surround.
XP-PRO OS.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2002, 02:17 AM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

Sorry to hear about the vid card, which card do you have? I don't remember which version you have. What was the card you had installed before this Radeon?? I know there are happenings that cause this type of thing when the radeon picks up a driver file that does not belong with the Radeon set. I am not saying this is the case, but you never know, because I do not know if you did a fresh install of the drivers??

Which drivers are you using?? The 9008 or 9012 set from www.Rage3d.com they are by far the best I have found. Yea they are beta but the good drivers have to start somewhere, and most start at Rage3d.com. If I can help please let me know.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2002, 12:06 AM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

The newest XP drivers for the Radeon Line of vid cards. MS has the 6014 drivers on the Windows Update site for XP. After you have XP installed the OS will contact Windows Update site and if you have the Radeon card installed, MS will allow you to download the drivers and install them. From what I have heard, they are great. Stability is good and more features enacted on the 8500's
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2002, 08:05 AM
turbo dan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 442
Send a message via AIM to turbo dan Send a message via Yahoo to turbo dan

After reading through these post's I thought I would add my .02 cents worth. I tried the new beta version, 6025 from ati for win xp. You do have to replace newer files for them to work. I have a 64Mb ddr vivo and my 3dmark2001 score went up 97 points. Now at 3180. I think they are still low but seem right in range when I compared them on madonion. They seemed like they were working good until I played CS and noticed white flashes/spots in shady areas. I rolled back to the 3276 drivers and now no more flashes/spots. I think they still have a few things to work out or I need to change some settings. Anyone see this besides me?
Overall I'm very happy with the card.
__________________
bit by folding bug Feb. 2002

AOA Team fah

Last edited by turbo dan; 4th February, 2002 at 08:08 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beta Ati Drivers! cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 12 30th September, 2004 04:28 PM
Beta FX drivers 44.03 garikfox Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 13th May, 2003 12:27 AM
Latest Radeon Beta Drivers! Pinky Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 23rd June, 2002 03:39 PM
Beta INF file for the next version of 4in1 drivers, Beta AGP driver Lionfish OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 9th May, 2002 01:02 PM
New Radeon Beta Drivers and Nvidia Certified Pinky Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 24th March, 2002 01:03 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0