AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 06:24 AM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

I screwed my video card

my card doesn't work at all it is screwed it won't work in my or my sisters computer i trying to send it back can they tell if i overclocked it **** **** **** i ain't go no money i think i burned the core out i wasn't ever overclock i just came home today and it woodn't work i was overclocking yesterday and it was fine when i turned it off what the hell happend can they tell or can i bull**** then i have got lots of stuff of them in the past
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control

Last edited by scottman; 29th March, 2004 at 06:51 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 06:29 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Sorry to hear about your loss, but easy with the mouth.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 06:49 AM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

can it do that work after overclocking then die sorry i am just really pissed it never made no things 0n the sceen can they tell that i overclocked it please tell me will HIS replace it or i about to get a cheap crapy card
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 08:02 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Have you check to see if it's seated properly?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 08:14 AM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

i have tryed it many time i think i burnt the core out i been reading up on returns and it doesn't say anywere i can't overclock it just says i can't take off the heatsink and mod it i think i will get a new 1 on warrty by seat u mean pluged in right
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 10:00 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Yes, I meant plugged in right, sometimes they don't go all the way down properly. seems yours was. I guess you'll have to return it if you can. Sorry, sounds like bad luck.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 10:30 AM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

i think i can return it HIS doesn't say much like the big 1's i think i will just b given a new card cause there warranty doesn't say anything
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 10:41 AM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

What if I have modified or damaged something?
Under consumer law guidelines, we are not required to give refunds, exchanges or credits if you want to return products that you have modified, damaged, or removed the identifying barcodes/serial numbers from. Also, if goods being returned for warranty claims are found to be damaged or modified, it is unlikely that the manufacturer's agent will handle the warranty. In this instance, we can either give you the manufacturer's agent contact details so you can contact them yourself without any further cost, or we can handle the warranty claim for you, however we will need you to pay a non-refundable testing & return fee of $33.00inc GST in advance of returning the goods to the manufacturer's agent. Testing and returning goods to manufacturer's agents takes time and labour on our part, as well as incurring shipping costs back and forth, so the testing & return fee goes part-way to covering this expense, and we can't guarantee that the manufacturer's agent will still honour any warranty on damaged or modified goods. We define "Modified" to include things like removing product serial numbers and barcode stickers, unlocking AMD CPUs, removing heatsinks/fans glued onto video cards, cuts/joins in power leads, and soldering components onto circuit boards. "Damage" includes things like scratches across circuit board tracks, CPUs which are crushed or burned by incorrect heatsink assembly, memory plugged in backwards, and electronic components which are broken off circuit boards - we've seen all of these and more!
that is what the place i got it says in there FAQ i looking good
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 10:59 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I wish you luck!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2004, 10:25 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

If it's broken, just return it and see what happens. You may get lucky. Some guarantee's cover 'user stupidity', so it's worth a shot.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 20th March, 2004, 04:01 AM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

its an odd one this if you have actually burnt the core as my VGA silencer is probably the same thing, i got a scare today with a nasty hot smell to find the fan had stopped working on the vga luckily i caught it in time maybe thisis what happend to urs
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2004, 12:04 AM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

no the fan worked fine
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2004, 12:05 AM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

still does maybe i should brake it so then they wood have to give me a new card
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2004, 12:09 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Most of the ways I know of to kill a fan are pretty easy to tell when doing failure analysis......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2004, 12:21 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

The straight path, the honest path is best.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2004, 01:43 AM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

well just send it back, it was working, and the next day it wasnt working.

dont tell them about the overclock, it just gives them a reason to say no. They probably wont even bother testing it if its under warranty, play stupid, "i dont know nuffin, fix it dammit!" salespeople often give up in the face of stupidity its what i have my dad for when something goes wrong with my comp
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2004, 11:18 AM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Funny enough exactly the same happend to my 9800se recently it was softmodded but not overclocked, worked fine one day then the other artifacts allover the screen, hope you get it sorted
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2004, 11:35 AM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

the place i got it from test it if it don't work then they send it to HIS then they make there mind up
no way i telling them i overclocked it i don't know how to do stuff like that i just a 15 year old kid it took me 2 months to save 4 this card
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2004, 11:39 AM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

it will work out good if i get a new card cause then it is a frest card never overclocked but i got the scores to show what the card can do i did get it higher then a thought bit to high
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2004, 12:00 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottman
the place i got it from test it if it don't work then they send it to HIS then they make there mind up
no way i telling them i overclocked it i don't know how to do stuff like that i just a 15 year old kid it took me 2 months to save 4 this card
well if your only a 15 year old kid, you get tooooo much pocket money
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheap video card with Video Out raphael2040 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 14 17th December, 2006 10:42 PM
New video card? Mark Alex Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 17 11th July, 2005 04:42 AM
ATI/Nvidia multi-video processing!!!!1 AGP card-1 PCI-e card (ATI ONLY) cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 20th May, 2005 03:15 PM
Need a new video card. Which one? Gizmo Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 16 6th September, 2004 02:47 PM
Can't see with new video card SteveI CRASHED! 13 26th March, 2002 01:09 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0