AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2001, 12:25 PM
reddeathdrinker's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Forres
Posts: 307
Send a message via ICQ to reddeathdrinker Send a message via AIM to reddeathdrinker Send a message via Yahoo to reddeathdrinker

Connecting CD drives to Sound card...

I've got 2 CD drives, A 52* LG CD-ROM and a 12*10*32 Memorex CD-RW drive. Currently, I only have the LG drive connected to my SBLive! card, on the audio channel.

If I want to connect the second drive to the card, which socket will it go onto on the card (aux?) and will having both drives connected to the card cause me any conflicts?
__________________
Microsoft doesn't care where you want to go to today, you'll go where Microsoft tells you to.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2001, 01:07 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

I'd splice the wires and plug them in the same socket. This will only cause problems if you try to play two music CDs at once (the two songs would overlap). Those audio cables are usually Analog, not digital, so this should work without hurting anything . . . . But try the AUX socket first and see if that works out for ya . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2001, 01:16 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

SB Live comes with a Digital and analog CD cable. Atach the digital cable to a drives digital output, and the analog to the other drive.

That is if you have a drive with a digital output......

....if you don't have the AUX is just fine.

The digital input really does make a difference with SB live if you are using Digital speakers on the COAX SPDIF digital out line. Sound like I never heard before - belting out a few Deacon Blue CD's last night proved that !!!
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2001, 01:32 PM
Jimbo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 62

I tried using the AUX port on an SBLive PCI512 for a customer PC and I could not for the life of me get a DVD or CDRW drive to create sound on the AUX port...screwed something up.

Ended up using a spliced cable that IBM provided w/ one of the drives.
__________________
The night is pitch black,
Come and make my Pale face fit in the place of please
-Bob Dylan
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2001, 01:35 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

Quote:
Originally posted by Jimbo
I tried using the AUX port on an SBLive PCI512 for a customer PC and I could not for the life of me get a DVD or CDRW drive to create sound on the AUX port...screwed something up.

Ended up using a spliced cable that IBM provided w/ one of the drives.
And you selected it in the advanced properties of the Volume control ?
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2001, 01:39 PM
Jimbo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 62

Quote:
Originally posted by wild_andy_c


And you selected it in the advanced properties of the Volume control ?
I'm not sure . It was a sweet Intellestation w/ Dual Xeon's and it's already chuggin' away at the customer site! After reading your post regarding Digital vs. Analog..I'm feeling a little dumb!!

Wishing...just one more hour to make it work!!
__________________
The night is pitch black,
Come and make my Pale face fit in the place of please
-Bob Dylan
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2001, 12:10 AM
Maddman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 65
Send a message via ICQ to Maddman

some cd drives also can pass audio over the ide cable in the sound settings under windows is where the setting is.
__________________
" TANSTAAFL "

"Intel Inside" is a Government Warning required by Law

-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 3.1
GIT/O d- s+:++ a C+++ U-- P L E? W++ N++ o-- K++ w++ O+ M- PS+ PE Y+ PGP- t 5+
X R++ tv++ b+++ DI++ D- G e h+ r-- y?
------END GEEK CODE BLOCK------
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2001, 01:23 AM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

I've got a DVD and a CD-RW. One puts sound into my Creative Ensoniq 64's CD input and the other into the AUX connector. No problem here except some programs aren't designed with the option of playing music from a second CD drive so you have to use the first.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2001, 01:32 AM
reddeathdrinker's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Forres
Posts: 307
Send a message via ICQ to reddeathdrinker Send a message via AIM to reddeathdrinker Send a message via Yahoo to reddeathdrinker

Cool - many thanks for the help guys and gals!
__________________
Microsoft doesn't care where you want to go to today, you'll go where Microsoft tells you to.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2001, 06:47 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by Maddman
some cd drives also can pass audio over the ide cable in the sound settings under windows is where the setting is.
that works fine as long as you don't do anything on you system. when set to that, cd's will even skip on my 1.4 tbird setup.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Sound Card??? z3speed4me Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 26th August, 2006 06:41 PM
sound card madcatmk3 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 5th December, 2005 09:51 PM
Built in sound or Sound Card geekbyte EPoX MotherBoards 6 31st December, 2003 02:48 AM
What is the best sound card? Intrepid6546 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 18 24th June, 2002 05:23 PM
sound card Phiber Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 26 28th September, 2001 01:17 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0