AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2004, 04:22 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Update:

The last few weeks I have been busy with work, PLUS my truck has decided to short out all of its computers and electronics . Good news is the Voodoo machine is getting and upgrade, getting a Duron 700 from a friend.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2004, 04:25 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

BTW, how do you overclock the microprocessor in a Chevy Truck?
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2004, 10:07 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Dual 4-barrel carbs.....
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2004, 02:27 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

LOL Unfortunately my truck is fuel injected :P
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2004, 02:57 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
Dual 4-barrel carbs.....

Rob

PS, I have an 800 duron that will do 1gig all day long from Allan.
I'll throw it up in the classy's if you don't want it.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2004, 03:21 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by dolanenwindrift
BTW, how do you overclock the microprocessor in a Chevy Truck?
Swap the crystal/resonator out with one of a higher frequency? Overclocking it might not have the desired effect though. If the EFI uses that clock as it's time reference, you'd lean out the mixture, as it'd think time had passed faster.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2004, 06:33 PM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

Quote:
Originally Posted by dolanenwindrift
Update:

The last few weeks I have been busy with work, PLUS my truck has decided to short out all of its computers and electronics . Good news is the Voodoo machine is getting and upgrade, getting a Duron 700 from a friend.
Curious, what motherboard do you have for the donated chip?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2004, 02:47 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

I've got a Gigabyte board - Via KT133A chipset, don't have the model number in front of me ATM.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2004, 06:36 PM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

That'll be nice. You'll now be at the point where the video card is the limiting factor, so any further upgrades will defeat the purpose of the whole exercise.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 3rd August, 2004, 05:41 AM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

That's the idea - hopefully I will have it in my hands this week.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2004, 10:42 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Quote:
Can you try out Command and Conquer renegade? cos wheni was usin a voodoo 5500 i had problems playing renegade
My old 5500 had some major azz compatibility problems..
But some drivers will work for certain games for it..
Oh, and that K-6 is holding it back, you need a P3 on it, or an original TB.
That is if you want to keep the classic feeling..
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2004, 11:05 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Heh, my old DOS machine works fine. It's a Pentium II 400Mhz on an old Abit BX6 motherboard with 128MB RAM. It's running FreeDOS, so no license concerns there. Soundcard is a Philips Acoustic Edge, which is one of the few cards I've found that appears to be very close to being truly SB/SBPro compatible. Had to move it about slots a bit to ensure it ended up on IRQ5, but once that was done no TSR was required to screw around with interupts! It even plays Pinball Fantasies and OMF2097 just fine!

Graphics card is an old Geforce 2 MX with heatsink from a P90. For those who might remember, it's the one that got partially disassembled for a lapping attempt. That didn't help the card's overclocking. TV out works fine however, and those old DOS games are at a resolution that suits the TV.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VooDoo Interview! Daniel ~ Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 14th October, 2006 10:21 PM
voodoo 2 boards :O Maelstrom2160 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 3rd December, 2004 12:33 AM
VooDoo 5500 robbie Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 27 19th May, 2004 12:37 AM
Voodoo 3 Adapter to VGA? Wa11y Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 10 7th May, 2002 01:39 PM
Voodoo 5500 bigjohnson Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 26th April, 2002 06:53 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0