AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2002, 09:23 AM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

Question Radeon 7500 or 8500??

Quick question, I'm debating between the Radeon 7500 and the 8500. I was wondering if the 8500 is really worth the extra $100 based on today's, as well as the near future's, applications? I only deal with retail for hardware, so I can get the 7500 retain for about $100 and the retail 8500 for about $245....any suggestions?? Also, what are the main differences between the two other than the fact that the 8500 has the Rage Theatre chip on it and I believe that the 7500 doesn't?? lemme know, thx
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2002, 09:29 AM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

Aight, I had an emergency and had to go out and get another video card, so I bought the one that I can currently afford, the Radeon 7200, but I have 30 days to return it, so I will definitely be gettin one of the previously mentioned 2--7500 or 8500--after I get some input....another question....does anybody know a safety zone for overclocking the Radeon 7200?? What speed, I mean, would be the optimal speed for this card?? Also, does anybody know the best setting for this card to give it the highest 3DMark2001 Score?? Settings meaning the settings thatI can change with PowerStrip....thanks....ttyl
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2002, 05:35 PM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

I believe the 7200 is the same as the Radeon 32MB DDR, right? It's default then would be 164 or so (or 148 if it's OEM). I'd say you should be able to hit 180 no problem, and perhaps as high as 195, but not much above that without extra cooling.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2002, 11:04 PM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

Ok, thanx for the OC info, but what about the various driver settings, do you know what I should enable and disable for this card to perform it best on games such as Tribes 2 and Quake 3 Team Arena?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2002, 12:21 AM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

The Radeon 7500 is a purebred up from the Radeon vid cards over the past years. The 8500 uses a complete different GPU, double the pipelines between the GPU and the memory. 3.6ns memory and DDR are on the 8500, the 7500 sports 4.5ns memory. The main difference you will see is the difference in smoothvision (AA on other cards and 32 bit color) does not slow down the card like others.

As you stated the Radeon retail goes for arroune $250.00 + sh. The 7500 can be had for about $125.00 or half. The 7500 is a good card for systems of 1.0ghz and less cpu's. If you are building a hi-end system you will definately be proud of the 8500.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2002, 12:27 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Quote:
Originally posted by CNUCompGuy
Ok, thanx for the OC info, but what about the various driver settings, do you know what I should enable and disable for this card to perform it best on games such as Tribes 2 and Quake 3 Team Arena?
You'd want to download RadeonTweaker (availiable from www.aoafiles.com) and try that. You may want to download the latest update, however, as we don't have that on the aoafiles server.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2002, 01:28 AM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

I'm never usin Radeon Tweaker, again....the first and last time I ever used it, it screwed up my registry and in order to fix the problem I was forced to reinstall windows....basically when I went to uninstall the program....it didn't reset all of the registry crap....then when I tried to play anything that required certain graphics features it would freeze comp....one thing....if u r goin to use Radeon Tweaker, make sure u know what your gettin into and that you know for a fact that you will not be uninstallin it any time soon....I use PStrip, now, much, much better....anywayz, ttyl
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2002, 02:05 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Quote:
Originally posted by CNUCompGuy
I'm never usin Radeon Tweaker, again....the first and last time I ever used it, it screwed up my registry and in order to fix the problem I was forced to reinstall windows....basically when I went to uninstall the program....it didn't reset all of the registry crap....then when I tried to play anything that required certain graphics features it would freeze comp....one thing....if u r goin to use Radeon Tweaker, make sure u know what your gettin into and that you know for a fact that you will not be uninstallin it any time soon....I use PStrip, now, much, much better....anywayz, ttyl
Oh. In that case, why not use PowerStrip (j/k)
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2002, 03:15 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Yup, the 7500 is based on dx 7, while the 8500 is dx8(hence the 8).
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2002, 04:18 AM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

I am running Win98se and have used the 9008 drivers, the 9012 and now am running Omega xx12 and I don't really see any difference between the Omega and the 9012's except the smoothvision is disabled in OGL. Antistrophic filtering is application preference in both D3D and OGL.

The 8500 really shine in D3D, since OGL is disabled with the Omega drivers, one must assume that OGL is not the best route to go in gaming. As far as settings I have been running the Omega's in default settings, otherwise install them and set to 32bit 1024x768, I check the settings in all the tabs but have not had to change anything.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2002, 05:26 AM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

Just to touch up on what u said bout OpenGL, BobyJo....When Iwas using the older drivers for my Radeon....OpenGL ran much better than D3D, but now that I'm using the most recent drivers, D3D works about 10x better than OpenGL....so, I'm assumin that ATI has changed several things around with their drivers since their first Radeon drivers came out....whatcha think??
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2002, 02:23 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Cool

It seems you are right. I also remember when most of the games were OGL and I had to download some files to keep the video card up to date. I am not talking about video drivers, these were OGL drivers. Then when you install the game, it installs it's own version of OGL.

I think D3D is the better way to go, and the 8500's along with the new breed of drivers do a really good job in the performance and what the screen looks like.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
radeon 7500 & CU-133A+ point EPoX MotherBoards 0 28th February, 2003 09:52 PM
ATI Radeon 7500 ilke Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 12th February, 2003 12:59 PM
Epox 8Kt3a & Radeon 7500 issues burekar EPoX MotherBoards 0 10th November, 2002 09:14 PM
Radeon 7500 OC burekar Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 19th June, 2002 07:47 PM
Radeon 7500 tweaks&questions? Kris Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 11 22nd January, 2002 06:11 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0