AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th September, 2004, 12:25 PM
surgeon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 52

Unhappy It just goes from bad to worse - Radeon 9800 pro woes

Things just go from bad to worse !!!! Back to my trusty FX5200.

After the nightmare I had on Friday evening fitting my new heatsink and fan correctly, yes it took me about 30 minutes to lock the clip down as the PSU gets in the way – I eventually managed this using the curvature of a good old dinner fork. I noticed a temperature reduction of about 11C after a few hours use. Cool !!

I fitted my new Radeon 9800 pro got everything running nice and fine and had myself a good few hours playing Doom 3, till about 2 a.m.

Got up Saturday morning, booted up, loaded Doom 3, went downstairs to make coffee went back upstairs and the pc is as dead as the proverbial dodo !!

PANIC !!!

Tried to reboot the fan on the CPU wobbled a bit, the LEDs on the front of the case glow and the lamp that plugs into the USB port on the back (makes it easier to peer into the case) works fine. Something at least is getting power.
None of the case fans are operational neither is the fan in the PSU – so I’m thinking that my PSU has given up the ghost. I don’t know how these things work but I am presuming that in order to work correctly the 20 pins that plug intro the ATX mobo have to complete some sort of circuit in order for the power to flow, this would explain why the USB light worked but the case fans or the fan in the PSU did not.
Tried different power leads still no joy.
So Saturday evening I bought a new PSU a nice meaty 550 watt one!! Previous was 350 watts.

Sunday morning I disconnect all the cables where appropriate and connect the mobo, HDD with XP on, FDD and Radeon to the new PSU. Boot up and nothing, the screen looks like a patch taken from Joseph’s technicolour dreamcoat – blocks of lovely colour.

So, it looks like the Radeon’s had it.

To cut a long story short………..I’ve reinstalled my FX5200 and booted up the pc and it ran fine. For about 10 minutes then the mouse locked up. Tried to reboot since then and I’m getting post codes relating to loading IDE drivers and stuff, I reckon that either connecting all of the kit to the power, the other HDD the CDRW and DVDRW will rectify this if not then a CMOS rest should. I obviously have driver issues as well as I’m running my FX5200 as standard VGA hardware as I’ve not taken out the ATI drivers yet.

So tonight’s order of service will be, dismantle the case, put in the new PSU properly, reset he CMOS, boot up and remove the ATI drivers and install the NVIDIA stuff.

Hopefully this will sort it.

My question is twofold. We got there in the end.

What’s happened to my Radeon? Faulty?
Why did my PSU pack up? Old age? Radeon overloaded it?

Have they just blown each other up?

All replies much-appreciated etc. etc.

Cheers.


P.S. Anyone flogging an X-Box cheap ?? LOL
__________________
Cheers !!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Oh why... oh why... oh why ? ? ?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th September, 2004, 11:26 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

12v went on your psu, possibly taking out the vid card on the way, if your has the 12v connector...would explain why the case fans didn't start.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2004, 12:16 AM
surgeon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 52

Thanks Cadaveca.

Guess you could put it down to bad luck then !!

Just got the new psu hooked up and everything connected, reset my cmos any errors went away. just flashed to the latest bios and everything seems ok, using the fx5200 again now.

Sounds silly but this has sort of put me off the 9800 pro a bit.
__________________
Cheers !!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Oh why... oh why... oh why ? ? ?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2004, 03:48 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

I know what it's like to have bad luck. I had a similer problem. My Antec PSU blew up taking my X800 with it.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2004, 08:09 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

did you make a claim to antec, pitch?
or did ya get an rma?
i love rma's....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2004, 09:07 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Thats scary the psu can take out the graphics card? what would you do then? get a replacement through ATi or from the PSU manufactures? im well and truely scared about that!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2004, 09:20 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Real sorry things went badly for you surgeon. We've all been there but I think losing Video cards hurts the most, does me anyway!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2004, 09:24 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by surgeon
Got up Saturday morning, booted up, loaded Doom 3, went downstairs to make coffee went back upstairs and the pc is as dead as the proverbial dodo !!
Just a blind shot in the dark, but did you switch a kettle on when you went downstairs? Kettles do draw a good wack of power, about 3000 watts. Could there have been a power surge caused by the kettle? Slightly loose wire in the kettle's plug? I mean something must have caused this to happen.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2004, 09:28 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
did you make a claim to antec, pitch?
or did ya get an rma?
i love rma's....
Since I got both items from work at the same time, they were cool about it. We no longer do antec PSU's as pretty much half the batch were faulty.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 8th September, 2004, 11:03 AM
surgeon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 52

Definitely a shot in the dark, yes I would have put the kettle on, maybe the toaster, can't remeber if I used the microwave - 950 watts there, perhaps the fridge started up as they periodically do etc. etc.
I see where you're coming from danrok but most of the time when the pc's on someone may be making a drink, cooking etc. etc. Also the pc is surge protected - unfortunately not surgeon protected
__________________
Cheers !!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Oh why... oh why... oh why ? ? ?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 8th September, 2004, 01:59 PM
scottman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: At the BackDoor
Posts: 290
Send a message via AIM to scottman Send a message via MSN to scottman

I have a antec 550watt true Control it best PSU Video card Die I CRY remember when i overclocked my 9800 Pro to like Way pass a XT then Unoverclocked it 3 days later It died I cryed then sent it back and got a new one i wasn't Overclocking when it went
__________________
P4 3.0 800mhz fsb
Geil PC 3200 DDR ram 1gig dual channel
MB Abit IC7 MAX 3 i love this board
ATI HIS 9800 Pro IceQ BRAND NEW CARD REPLACED
120 gig Sata 80 gig ATA
Logitech Z5300
Housed in Thermaltake Xaser III 2000A
550 watt Antec True Control
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 8th September, 2004, 03:37 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitch
I know what it's like to have bad luck. I had a similer problem. My Antec PSU blew up taking my X800 with it.

Now THIS hurts! Sorry to read this, Pitch!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2004, 02:07 AM
benighted's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Location: Grayland, WA.
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to benighted Send a message via MSN to benighted

My PC has an antec power supply.... it better not take out the 6800 I have coming. I've already lost a 9800pro to condensation drip.
__________________

Buy AVG Anti-Virus and Support AOA!!
AOA Team fah
Silent water cooled system:
Zalman Reserator 1.1
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice @ 2400MHZ
Epox 9NDA3+
2GB GSkill PC3200
Maxtor 10 SATA X2 RAID0
eVGA 6800 Ultra 256MB

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8KTA3 Pro and Radeon 9800 Pro Legin76 EPoX MotherBoards 7 7th October, 2004 06:02 PM
RIP Radeon 9800 pro benighted Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 9 27th September, 2004 06:42 AM
8RDA3+, Radeon 9800 pro and irq.. Raz AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 28th August, 2003 11:46 AM
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO is here ! ! ! marcofra2000 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 8th March, 2003 05:49 AM
Epox 8K5A3+/Radeon 9700pro Woes shorty EPoX MotherBoards 3 17th February, 2003 07:31 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:02 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0