AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2004, 01:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 171

Major problem with 9800pro@xt.. please help!

I went to bed last night whilst my computer was running win mx. I left the computer downloading all nite whilst the monitor was switched off. I woke to a computer this morning that was still running, but it would'nt do anything (no image on screen when I switched the monitor on again).
I manually restarted the computer, and as it started I was greeted with a slow beep beep, then 5 or 6 quick beeps. I have removed the 9800pro and installed my spare fx5200 and the computer worked fine. I've tried reinstalling the 9800pro but the computer doesn't do the usual single beep when it begins loading windows, nor is there any signal to the monitor and the series of beeps has also stopped, which I think means it's not loading past the bios. My card is only 6 or 7 weeks old and I have had no signs that the card was on it's way out. I'm especially surprised as it wasn't doing anything intensive, nor was it overclocked (apart from stock xt speeds which it has no problem runningas its a R360 core). Is the card fried? Could be the bios I used to flash the card?
__________________
I7 3770k
AsRock Z77 Extreme 4
8GB G-Skill Ripjaw X 1600
60GB OCZ Agility 3
1TB Seagate barracuda 7200
MSI 670 GTX OC
Corsair HX620

Last edited by leekirlew; 24th September, 2004 at 01:10 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2004, 04:00 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Most machines will boot even if there's no video BIOS present - they'll complain, but still boot. It sounds like the card might well be dead! Do you have another machine you can try it in at all?
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2004, 04:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 171

yeah have tried and no go. The cards only 6 weeks old and i've fitted artic cooler rev 3. the running temps were only 55 when I went to bed and the comp had been on for quite a few hours then. Any chance the bios flash could have gone bad?
__________________
I7 3770k
AsRock Z77 Extreme 4
8GB G-Skill Ripjaw X 1600
60GB OCZ Agility 3
1TB Seagate barracuda 7200
MSI 670 GTX OC
Corsair HX620
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2004, 04:27 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

I think you'd know the instant you started the machine after a flash is it was bad.

Stick the Pro BIOS back on there, and check the heatsink, eg remove it, clean it, replace it, and try again.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2004, 07:31 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

the first 9800 pro htat ibought did this as well...i removed the power cord from the card and tried to boot...got the red message about the power cord...plugged 'er back in, and things were good to go. the card has not given me problems since. i did not do a bios flash on that card either.

i may have reset the cmos of the board too... i can't remember. generally, when things go wrong, it's one of the first things i do.


might try agp 4x too...just a thought
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2004, 07:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 171

Is that the cmos of the motherboard? Does the graphics card have a cmos? If so how do I reset it? I've tried booting without the molex and there is still no signal to my monitor. The card has been working perfectly until last night. I'm currently using my fx5200 which I'm not too happy about! No far cry or doom 3 for a while!
__________________
I7 3770k
AsRock Z77 Extreme 4
8GB G-Skill Ripjaw X 1600
60GB OCZ Agility 3
1TB Seagate barracuda 7200
MSI 670 GTX OC
Corsair HX620
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2004, 10:09 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

It sounds bad man, but dont give up. Did you try it in another machine? and have you tried putting it back to its original state? dont worry dude...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2004, 10:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 171

Yeah I tried it on a different machine. None of the systems seem to recognise it at all, but can't be sure because I can't see anything! I'm gonna c if I can get a pci card tomorrow and try flashing it back to pro.
__________________
I7 3770k
AsRock Z77 Extreme 4
8GB G-Skill Ripjaw X 1600
60GB OCZ Agility 3
1TB Seagate barracuda 7200
MSI 670 GTX OC
Corsair HX620
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2004, 12:38 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

i was refering to mobo cmos.
if it isn't even giving you display... i'd be flashing back...... if i could.......and a quick RMA.
but you got it of ebay, right? i'd still try a rma
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2004, 12:45 AM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Yeah i totally agree with cadaveca, if you can get t back to a pro and the standard HSF, get a quick RMA on it and get youself a new one.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2004, 11:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 171

my system was bought from ebay, I bought the card from a british company, www.novatech.co.uk. I spoke to them yesterday, they'll send it back to sapphire for me and I'll get it back within 28 days max. Just gotta find a cheap pci card today or a system I can use with onboard graphics!
__________________
I7 3770k
AsRock Z77 Extreme 4
8GB G-Skill Ripjaw X 1600
60GB OCZ Agility 3
1TB Seagate barracuda 7200
MSI 670 GTX OC
Corsair HX620
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2004, 02:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 171

Ok, I've tried booting using a pci card so can flash the 9800. The system will not boot at all when the 9800 is installed. Any suggestions?
__________________
I7 3770k
AsRock Z77 Extreme 4
8GB G-Skill Ripjaw X 1600
60GB OCZ Agility 3
1TB Seagate barracuda 7200
MSI 670 GTX OC
Corsair HX620
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Major Problem! Help Me This Instant, Plz!!! aghastpumpkin CRASHED! 13 7th March, 2006 09:30 PM
NCQ Major problem X64 grandmaster_b 64 Bit computing 6 30th March, 2005 12:21 PM
Major HD & IDE problem Jeffrey CRASHED! 10 4th May, 2004 02:42 PM
Major problem with 8RDA+... Romen EPoX MotherBoards 11 22nd July, 2003 03:31 PM
Major problem [PCI]Oz EPoX MotherBoards 3 20th March, 2002 09:16 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0