AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2004, 01:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 5

Question How bad would a 6800 GT bottleneck with this system...

I am going to upgrade my graphics card and was looking at the 6800 GT, but was wondering with my system how bad would the card get bottlenecked:


system specs:

Gigabyte 7VT600-RZ(-C) mobo
3200+ amd athelon xp barton
1 GB PC2100 ddr ram (soon to be 1.7 GB)
2 80 gig HDD at 7200 rpm
430 watt EZ Media PSU


IF this setup would bottleneck the card too much, then what cards should i be looking at..I can spend up to $350.00 for a new card.






Thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2004, 01:03 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

IMO, you should be fine with that, however I would suggest instead of added more ram (realistically 1GB is enough), look to replace what you have with faster ram, eg 2700, 3200.

Other than that, nice system.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2004, 01:15 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Quote:
Originally Posted by vindrow
I am going to upgrade my graphics card and was looking at the 6800 GT, but was wondering with my system how bad would the card get bottlenecked:


system specs:

Gigabyte 7VT600-RZ(-C) mobo
3200+ amd athelon xp barton
1 GB PC2100 ddr ram (soon to be 1.7 GB)
2 80 gig HDD at 7200 rpm
430 watt EZ Media PSU


IF this setup would bottleneck the card too much, then what cards should i be looking at..I can spend up to $350.00 for a new card.






Thanks
dont worry, it should be just fine.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2004, 08:11 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

i would suggest ddr400 ram, so that the processor and ram run at 1:1 ratio. this will bump up performance quite a bit.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2004, 02:57 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

that system will be fine, the card its self will be the bottleneck most of the time because almost all processing is done on it these days
I left my a64 clocked at 800mhz by mistake yesterday and noticed rome total war was a bit slower than I expected but still playable and other games weren't noticeabley affected which shows how little impact the cpu has on performance of games
I aree with the other suggestions for memory though, while performance will be fine with what you have after the vid upgrade memory will be the next biggest improvement, unless you need 1.7gb for something (I can't think what because I have a gig and the page file is never touched even in cubase and photoshop) then replacing your current memory with at least ddr333 and preferabley ddr400 will give the best gains and selling your old memory should mean it's not too expensive
by the way I've not heard of that psu make, is it a good psu or a cheap one that came with a case? If it's a cheap one even though it claims 430W it may not be up to task with a 6800 card
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible CPU Bottleneck revealed? Super Nade Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 29th January, 2006 06:46 AM
6800 57 C chrisbard Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 30 4th November, 2005 09:10 AM
BottleNeck drewpaul86 General Hardware Discussion 7 28th January, 2004 04:49 AM
Any easy way to find out the bottleneck of my system? Xetan EPoX MotherBoards 13 27th July, 2003 03:28 AM
Overcoming the bottleneck: HDD's Con General Hardware Discussion 23 27th November, 2002 07:50 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0