AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2005, 04:09 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I take my hat off to anyone who plays GTA3 and Vice on a TNT2. when you finally do upgrade the wow experience is going to be great

It isnt really an issue... your card cant do DX9, so if the driver cant do DX9 either nothing changes. run the 44.03s with DX9.0C installed and it should run ok. despite the fact that your using DX9 in vice, you are only using direct 3d 6.0 not 9.0 due to hardware support, but 9.0 for audio etc. i think it will be fine.

if not you can always change back to the newer drivers

http://files.aoaforums.com/index.php?dir=138
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2005, 04:16 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

Well ill give them a try and run that 3dmark program again as i just ran it then to compare after making a big change (different drivers for example).

Though it is kinda weird when using dxdiag and tesing Direct3D it test's 7/8/9 interfaces and reports all tests succesfull. Perhaps this means something else though?

EDIT: GTA3 and Vice City actually run pretty smooth the whole way through but i do run on pretty much lowest settings etc which doesnt bother me.

GTA3 fps averages around 25 to 38 unless in a situation where it might drop to 18 or so for a very short period. Pretty much the same with Vice City but may drop lower at times when things get heavy.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2005, 05:04 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

Hmmm i got a sightly better makr in 3dmark 2001 se but im getting lower fps on GTA3.

Plus i cant oc it anymore the overclock settings only allow from 0 to 100mhz for both core and memory which is lower then default :|
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2005, 05:14 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

use rivatuner to overclock it at a hardware level rather than a bios level
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2005, 05:31 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

It still seems to be slower i switched back 66.93 and im getting a higher fps now. It's oc'ed slightly higher then with the older drivers though but i doubt its enough to get a 5/10 fps increase over the old ones.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2005, 11:50 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

gta only runs at about 25fps anyway due to the frame limitter
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2005, 12:38 PM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

30fps but can run higher with frame limiter off. I think its 25fps with frame limiter on for vice city.

What im trying to improve is the fps when alot is going on as it can drop to notciable lag even if it isnt for too long though sometimes it is.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2005, 02:37 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I'd say your biggest limitting factor is not having hardware TnL
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nvidia question bonesaw Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 24th April, 2007 12:54 PM
Stupid question but ATi card in Nvidia SLI motherboard? kadu07 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 11th February, 2007 10:20 PM
Another Nvidia ghost feature emerges danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 18th December, 2006 05:07 PM
Need some Riva Tuner Help ! Pita^Norf Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 26th May, 2003 11:31 PM
RIVA TNT2 drivers on W2k SEiZe Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 15th November, 2001 05:29 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0