AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2005, 06:50 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

Yay more questions :) Sis 300/305 oc'ing.

I have a Sis 300/305 and wondering if anyone knows any software for changing settings/core - memory speed. The latest drivers for this card i got from Sis site didnt allow me to do anything except change Video Overlay and colours and there were some grayed out buttons though :|

It has larger memory at 32mb as apposed to 16mb on my TNT2 and im hoping i might be able to get more out of the Sis then the TNT2. And supposedly it supports Hardware T&L but i havent's been able to find out if i ts true or not.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2005, 10:02 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

Ok forget about that.

1. Im lucky if i can boot up.
2. It freezes on nearly every game bah.

I also had some weird colours n **** coming up when i put my TNT2 back i think this one has just about had it to.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2005, 02:45 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

the 315 was a GF2 class chip that had hardware T&L and aint asll that bad, the 300/305 was never a very good chip for anything but servers. and that TNT ait gonna run much but quake2 and not that well...

$50 will get ya a 9100 or a spankin 440mx/128 or 9000pro, heck theres even 5200/9200 in that range that offer questionable dx9.
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2005, 08:14 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Put anther way, save yourself from true unhappiness, open your life to the thrill of a modern Graphics's card; for $50 bucks you can amaze yourself!! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2005, 09:38 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

I just hate having to wait for my GFX5200 i want gta games running better now!!!! . Only 12 or so more days and i should have it just hope i dont have any major hassles with it.

To save me a bit of trouble later could someone tell me the appropriate drivers for it? Im guessing latest ForceWare eh.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2005, 10:21 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

get the omega drivers, they make a fair bit of differance on the 5200

http://www.omegadrivers.net/
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2005, 02:00 PM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

Ohhh i remember that site i took a look at it yesterday i found it through a google search of modified or custom made nvidia drivers. Good thing you mentioned it though i had completely forgotten and hadnt bookmarked it. Have done so now though
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2005, 04:46 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

yeah, SiS 300/305 aren't really very good for anything apart from basic use like surfing the net, using email, stuff like that. A few days ago, i had this card, i got it with this computer. I bought a Voodoo 3 3000 off of ebay UK and it arrived a few days ago. I installed it and even though it only has half the memory of the SiS (the SiS has 32Mb) it's connected by AGP so it runs a lot faster. The OpenGL support for the Voodoo isn't as good as the SiS though (I've tried running enemy territory but it just says cannot load openGL subsystem).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2005, 05:03 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

if I remember correctly voodoo cards don't properly support opengl, only a subset of it to allow it to run games. Also they only support 16bit colour so any games that require 32bit colour would have a problem.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2005, 05:32 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

well, i've run most games fine on XP.And in display properties, it says 32 bit although yes, you are right that they do only support 16 bit, this must just be an XP thing as it is displaying like my old card.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2005, 05:46 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

it will support 32bit 2D displays like the desktop but only renders 3D in 16bit colour
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
oc'ing RAM???? l33t_baller Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 11th September, 2005 03:56 PM
OC'ing my computer albar AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 10th April, 2005 08:59 PM
8RDA3+ rev 3.1 OC'ing Klavs EPoX MotherBoards 3 23rd June, 2004 06:43 PM
help oc'ing xp2700 purplemohawkman AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 21st September, 2003 06:15 PM
OC'ing ATi 9000 Pro - Help? JouninX Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 17th July, 2003 06:23 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0