AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2005, 03:02 PM
toaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 78

Voodoo5 5500 AGP problem

Hi.
I picked up a 3dfx Voodoo5 5500 AGP a while back, just for a retro games PC project.
However, I've not yet seen this card do colour. I've tried it out in a number of different retro motherboards. (MSI 6167 with Slot A Athlon, Gigabyte GA71xE4, - both of which are PC100, AGP x2 older style boards. Epox 8KTA+ and Asus A7V-E - both of which are PC133 AGPx4 boards.)

Post is always fine, and card does display. However, it does so only in monochrome, even in the BIOS set-up screen.

I've never actually tried to install it fully in a machine that has an OS and then load up drivers for it, but it seems to me that the absence of colour surely could'nt be driver related, and that if it could do colour at all it would be able to display in colour from the start.

Any ideas?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2005, 03:07 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

are you using a CRT or TFT screen?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2005, 04:53 PM
toaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 78

CRT (an old but trusty and reliable Samsung Syncmaster 700NF) I've got a voodoo3 which I have tried in the same bench conditions in pretty much the same motherboards as the Voodoo5 and it seems fine.
I thought it might have been AGP voltage supply issue but then why does the voodoo3 work ok?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2005, 04:55 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

There is a pin on the VGA connector that gets grounded by a color monitor and left open by a monochrome one, if I remember correctly. This causes the video card to configure its output appropriately. It may be that your card has some damage that prevents it from properly detecting that signal and so it always thinks it is plugged into a monochrome monitor.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2005, 02:07 AM
toaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 78

cheers gizmo, thats definately a start, think I'll get the card out and have a poke around with a multimeter.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2005, 05:37 AM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Also, make SURE you have the molex connector from your power supply plugged into the 5500 video card.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2005, 12:01 PM
toaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 78

Yup....check....still black and white...havent had a chance to check the monitor ground thing yet, But its a HUGE card, couldnt miss the big fat molex connector on the top even if I didnt have the manual!! Once again, 3dfx prove that they were years ahead of their time
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2005, 01:14 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

while at the same time years behind by not including hardware TnL
I remember when those cards came out and I thought no one will ever pay that just for a video card, and this was back when £200 was pricey
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2005, 12:05 AM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

i paid about £35 for my 5500, havn't used it in a while. But i might get round to setting up a retro machine at some point.
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2005, 05:44 AM
toaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 78

piccoLEW...does your 5500 work?

I bought mine for a Retro machine project, I might be interested in giving a fair price for a working 5500 rather than take another chance on ebay
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2005, 05:49 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

a voodoo3 3500 performs just a little less, and you can find one of those anywhere, and they are more retro.
I dont consider a 5500 retro..yet.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 25th February, 2005, 04:27 PM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

toaster do you fold at all?
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 25th February, 2005, 05:13 PM
toaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 78

No, not at present, to be honest I dont really know too much about it but I thought I might give it a go once I've got a decent machine together that I can dedicate to it. I once did the SETI at home thing on a much older machine and it totally chewed up the resources. - I it was my only machine at the time and I was dial up too. Now things are different, so maybe soon.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2005, 02:21 AM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

its great
become a folder and i would send it to you ¬_¬
but you have to promise the rig its gonna be used in will fold at least one WU
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2005, 04:26 AM
toaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 78

I'm just putting the final touches to "dedicated-legacy-folding (and other stuff) rig Mk1" A bit more testing and tweaking to see how much I can crank out of it and remain stable and it will be ready to unleash on the world of folding. If you are serious about the Voodoo5 then I'll pop it in and have a 3dfx "themed" legacy rig!!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2005, 03:52 PM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

sorry if i sound a bit silly, but whats "dedicated-legacy-folding"?
that like folding at home?
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2005, 04:19 PM
toaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 78

No mate....was just me being silly. It is "Folding at home" but on a machine made of prehistoric components with every last bit of performance squeezed out of them...with maybe a nice "Themed" paintjob.
With the pace of PC component advance the last couple of years that places quite capable kit like Athlon XP's alongside sub 0.5Ghz CPU's, and firmly in the "Legacy hardware" zone.
On the prehistoric vibe though, the Voodoo 5 card was total T-Rex!!! Absolutely massive for the time (and what it did) and now also sadly extinct.
The Godzilla of Graphics cards!!!!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2005, 11:47 PM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

well, i'm gonna want a screenie when it finishes a WU
and adress to post it to as well

Attached Thumbnails
Voodoo5 5500 AGP problem-aoa3dfx.jpg  
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2005, 05:22 PM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

*bump*
offer free stuff and they disappear
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2005, 06:14 PM
toaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 78

Hey piccoLEW, dont worry, if it breaks your heart I'm sure I can get by without it.
I will post pics of my "Steam engine" rig doing some folding for sure though
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GeForce FX 5500..... Volten Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 30 6th February, 2006 07:42 AM
5500 Fx Any Good? ajopz Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 22 22nd August, 2005 03:45 PM
mandrake linux and voodoo 5500 agp piccoLEW OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 10th September, 2004 04:22 PM
VooDoo 5500 robbie Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 27 19th May, 2004 12:37 AM
Voodoo 5500 bigjohnson Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 26th April, 2002 06:53 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0