AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2005, 04:07 PM
gsi31099's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Location: South Africa
Posts: 37

Red face Gigabyte 6600GT TurboForce Edition SLI'ed

I just got mah new hardware and I'm already frustrated with it
I got a DFi NF4 SLi-DR mobo, and two Gigabyte 6600GT TurboForce Edition's... The PC keeps freezing up in 3D apps, like 3Dmark/AQMark3! The temperatures all seem fine!

I'm going to continue struggling through the night, my only question for now is: Does anybody else have, or know of some1, with the same config?
__________________
Koolance PC2-650-BU for CPU
Antec True550 P/Supply
DFI NF4 SLI-DR
AMD64 3200+ @ 2280mHz(228x10)
1.0G Ram(Kingston DDR400)
36GB WD Raptor 10,000rpm
ASUS 6600GT's SLi'ed (588/1098)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2005, 04:32 PM
karbon86's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 195

do they have enough juice? good power supply?
__________________
Main Rig
AMD64 3200+ @ 2.0ghz
MIS K8TNEO FSR
Asetek Waterchill Antartica
2x512 OCZ Platinum LL pc3200 @2.6v
2xSeagate 80 gig SATA raid-0
ATI 9800pro (460/800)
SB live 5.1 (old)
Pioneer 16x DL+DVD burner
Dell M992 19"crt 1600x1200 .24dp

Soon to be added

ATI x800XT-PE

Server
P4 1.6
Dell 4550
80gig IDE
512mb DDR PC-2100
Windows Server 2003 EE
[url=http://vspx27.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=45]
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2005, 07:05 AM
gsi31099's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Location: South Africa
Posts: 37

Wink

Got it going... It was my RAM... Odd, because I never had problems before upgrading. Swopped with exactly the same modules, from my girlfriend's rig... 2 x 512mb Kingston "Value" DDR400...

Haven't had much time to do any tweaking or OC'ing, but here's my scores anyhow:
3DMark03 - 13 428
3DMark05 - 5 525 (With one card the score was 3300)
Aquamark3 - 65 189
Running the ForceWare 67.02(Beta) drivers...
__________________
Koolance PC2-650-BU for CPU
Antec True550 P/Supply
DFI NF4 SLI-DR
AMD64 3200+ @ 2280mHz(228x10)
1.0G Ram(Kingston DDR400)
36GB WD Raptor 10,000rpm
ASUS 6600GT's SLi'ed (588/1098)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2005, 03:17 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

damn ur 05 is about as high as mine! these 66's are some pretty hard workers.
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2005, 07:12 AM
gsi31099's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Location: South Africa
Posts: 37

Unhappy

Guys, I'm really sad to report: I haven't been very lucky at keeping the Display Cards Cooler than 110deg C... Thats the threshold by the way!!! Thus I keep getting artifacts while running 3D Apps! Had quite alot in 3DMark05 and some in CounterStrike Source!

I tried running the PC with my Case open, in my office at work, with the Aircon on fullblast directly into the case! Still suffers after about an hour's play!!!
__________________
Koolance PC2-650-BU for CPU
Antec True550 P/Supply
DFI NF4 SLI-DR
AMD64 3200+ @ 2280mHz(228x10)
1.0G Ram(Kingston DDR400)
36GB WD Raptor 10,000rpm
ASUS 6600GT's SLi'ed (588/1098)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2005, 10:32 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsi31099
Guys, I'm really sad to report: I haven't been very lucky at keeping the Display Cards Cooler than 110deg C... Thats the threshold by the way!!! Thus I keep getting artifacts while running 3D Apps! Had quite alot in 3DMark05 and some in CounterStrike Source!

I tried running the PC with my Case open, in my office at work, with the Aircon on fullblast directly into the case! Still suffers after about an hour's play!!!
110C! somehting MUST be wrong in there,thats insane! What cooling do the cards have?

Can you run each card on its own and see what happens?

LAz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2005, 03:29 PM
gsi31099's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Location: South Africa
Posts: 37

Sheesh, insane's not nearly descriptive enough! You should try and remove the buggers after testing! The cooling looks very nice, and the idea of not having any noisy fans on them was quite a "cool" thought... but obviously doesn't work so well! I'm wondering if this is a problem with the cards? I e-mailed support at Gigabyte for some info... still waiting!

Here's a link to the cards:
http://tw.giga-byte.com/VGA/Products...NX66T128VP.htm

I tried running the Cards in Single GPU mode... and with SLI completely disabled! Still, the same thing happens! I sent the cards back to the supplier today for credit! I'll be getting 2 x Asus 6600GT's day after 2moro! These are the only other cards I can get immediate stock on!

Link to Asus card:
http://www.asus.com/products4.aspx?l...62&modelmenu=1

If you guys know of anybody with the same Gigabyte cards, find out what they're temps are running at... as a matter of interest?
__________________
Koolance PC2-650-BU for CPU
Antec True550 P/Supply
DFI NF4 SLI-DR
AMD64 3200+ @ 2280mHz(228x10)
1.0G Ram(Kingston DDR400)
36GB WD Raptor 10,000rpm
ASUS 6600GT's SLi'ed (588/1098)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New 6600GT AGP SteveI Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 24th July, 2005 01:34 PM
Ram ns of a 6600Gt? p01n7e Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 11 16th June, 2005 04:58 PM
6600gt Skiracing108 Benchmarking 10 3rd June, 2005 07:29 PM
6600gt Skiracing108 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 31st March, 2005 01:15 AM
6600gt Skiracing108 General Hardware Discussion 13 30th March, 2005 01:07 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0