AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 03:47 AM
mrreality13's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: montgomeryville,PA
Posts: 25

Talking best budget vid card?

Hi all.
Im on a Very tight budget im getting ready to build my very first system it will prolly be around $425.00 (us)(new egg)
My question is can I get a good vid card for under $100.00(us)?

This is what I think Ill build.
ASPIRE Black Turbo Case with 350W Power Supply
Lite-On Black 52X32X52X16 Combo Drive, Model SOHC-5232K (no dvd burning as i got 1 in my home entertainment sys.)
Hitachi 80GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive, Model HDS722580VLSA80
Kingston 184 Pin 512MB DDR PC-3200
ASUS "K8N" NVIDIA nForce3
AMD Sempron 2400+ 1.667GHz, Socket A Processor - Retail
__________________
Remember no matter how tall or short you are we all have to travel the same distance to kiss someones ass.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 03:57 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

you have an athlon 64 motherboard, and an athlonxp cpu. they dont work together.
also as far as the video card goes, try for a cheap 6600, or an expensive 6200. Shader Model 3.0 capable. The X300 is a joke, dont buy one, the x600 is a joke as well. the x700 is good but im not sure how much it is.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 04:35 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

My MSI RX9250 was only $70(AUD) it's not fully sick or anything but runs just about anything.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 04:55 AM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

Seeing the mobo your going to use has AGP you might want to try neweggs refurbs 9600Pro for $83.00.
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 05:02 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Only problem is those cards are a little long in the tooth these days. the 9250 is a direct x 8.1 card. it doesnt support shader model 2.0 let alone 3.0
the 9600 is a nice card too but they have some real age on them now. a 6200 with onboard ram will do better than a 9600 in most cases and has purevideo/SM3.0 support which makes it future proof.

the most important thing is for this dude to get his motherboard and cpu in order though. Socket 754 motherboards and socket A cpus dont mix. Its like putting a square peg in a round hole... that and between the cpu and the northbridege, you will have NO memory controller LOL.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 05:25 AM
mrreality13's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: montgomeryville,PA
Posts: 25

Lightbulb I found this vid card??

lol sorry bout mb Was doin so much reacherc lost track.Ill prolly be using this one..EPOX "EP-8VTAI" VIA KT880 Chipset.
Are refirbs ok, Im a little sceptial of them?? Looks like the 6600 and 6200 are all pci-express??And the 700's are out of my range.

Found this one ??
ASUS nVIDIA GeForce FX5200 Video Card, 128MB DDR, 128-bit, DVI/TV-Out, 8X AGP, Model "V9520/TD" -RETAIL
Model# V9520TD
Item # N82E16814121149 //This is $74.00(us)
Im goin to go look at refirbs now.

Now that I listed a working mb can you revise and RE-advise please?
Thank you !!
__________________
Remember no matter how tall or short you are we all have to travel the same distance to kiss someones ass.

Last edited by mrreality13; 18th February, 2005 at 05:42 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 05:54 AM
mrreality13's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: montgomeryville,PA
Posts: 25

oops

Guess by listing wrong mb I messed up all your help IM sorry.Please re advise??
__________________
Remember no matter how tall or short you are we all have to travel the same distance to kiss someones ass.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 06:10 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

the 6600 are definately not PCI-E only and im pretty sure the 6200s are AGP as well. Ill look it up just in case though. I would recomend an 8RDA3+, as the KT880 isnt as good as Nforce2.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 06:13 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

here is a 6200 AGP http://www.pny.com/products/verto/pe...ce/6200agp.asp
dont get a 5200, its a mediocre 3d card. the 6200 is a much faster piece. Else, see what a 5700LE or 9800SE costs. the 9800SE in particular is good as the extra pipes can be opened, giving more performance.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 06:50 AM
mrreality13's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: montgomeryville,PA
Posts: 25

5700le it wil be

I like the 5700 and its in my $ range so is the mb(EPoX "EP-8RDA3IPRO" NVIDIA nForce2 Ultra 400 Chipset Motherboard For AMD Socket A CPU -RETAIL $58.00 us)you recomend.Only diffrence I see is audio. what is this used for?shader model 2.0 or 3.0?
Hope this dosent sound silly. I really only play diablo lod/ but when this is done ill prolly do world of warcraft.I dont do fps games as my reflexes suk-lol
And im not in to big sound from my pc as i usally turn it off to listen to music. as i have a killer(6.1 surround bla bla bla) entertainment system.Thank you
__________________
Remember no matter how tall or short you are we all have to travel the same distance to kiss someones ass.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 07:07 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

WoW will need SM2.0 and future games will need 3.0
its a rendering method. If you can, use that 8rda series board you just suggested, and get a 6200 (high end version) else, settle for a 5700 series.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 09:05 AM
mrreality13's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: montgomeryville,PA
Posts: 25

Sounds good

Thanx again maby i should step up the vid card Ill just have to wait a few weeks
dsio with that B&O gear your sound must rock your whole system makes me drool -wish i had $ for that
__________________
Remember no matter how tall or short you are we all have to travel the same distance to kiss someones ass.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 09:08 AM
mrreality13's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: montgomeryville,PA
Posts: 25

thank you again!
__________________
Remember no matter how tall or short you are we all have to travel the same distance to kiss someones ass.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 09:24 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Bang and O equipment isnt the nirvana everyone makes it out to be. my audio gear was $15000+ when it was new. its all around 1992 to 1994, and cost less than 2K all up second hand from studios/musicians. speakers and amps havnt changed much in 60 years so buying old works. dont be afraid to buy second hand, and you wouldnt believe what you can pick up for a song.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 09:29 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

And waiting will really pay off for you. If you can go a little further, into the US$150-200 area, you can get a 6600 or 6600GT or 6800LE, which will give your machine some real punch, and make WoW fly like an eagle.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 06:18 PM
mrreality13's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: montgomeryville,PA
Posts: 25

thanx

I have to do some recerch on new egg and the procetcion i get buying a referb but i think ill do ok , some one , a friend told me i should, in case the vid card needs it step up the ps to 400w,
__________________
Remember no matter how tall or short you are we all have to travel the same distance to kiss someones ass.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2005, 06:30 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrreality13
I have to do some recerch on new egg and the procetcion i get buying a referb but i think ill do ok , some one , a friend told me i should, in case the vid card needs it step up the ps to 400w,
Don't buy a cheap PSU with a high wattage. A high quality PSU rated at say 350w would be much better than a cheap 400w job.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2005, 01:10 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrok
Don't buy a cheap PSU with a high wattage. A high quality PSU rated at say 350w would be much better than a cheap 400w job.
Very true. PSUs are all about quality over quantity. You really dont need a massive PSU for any of those cards either. The 6600 is a tidy little thing, and the 6800LE needs an external power connector but still uses slightly less than a GT or ultra.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
7300GT with GDDR3 (best buy budget card) g4dg3t Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 10 27th September, 2006 07:31 AM
Budget SLI cards dabaerman Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 25th December, 2005 02:59 AM
Mod on a Budget danrok Case Modifications 15 11th March, 2005 08:21 PM
Budget PC TheJoelster General Hardware Discussion 12 10th January, 2005 03:26 AM
Professional, High Quality, Budget(ish) recording/audio capture card. offie Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 26th July, 2004 09:52 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0