AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2005, 07:35 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Frames to render

How does changing the amount of frames to render ahead in the direct3d options panel for the nvidia cards affect performance?
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2005, 08:26 AM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Good question - anybody know a good answer?
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2005, 12:21 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

From my understanding, two main things.

First, if you have a SLi setup, you need to set the buffer to at least the number of GPUs in your system to get best benefit.

Secondly, the more frames that are drawn ahead, the more latency between your input and the display showing you've done something. However, you probably want two to three buffers at minimum.

I'm sure there are more, but I don't know of them!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2005, 12:57 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

If you are benchmarking, increasing the prerendered frames can improve performance considerably particularly on cards with low memory. When gaming, i recomend keeping it to a safe 2. Never go 1 or below. SLI doesnt change this, it just further reinforces the message, dont go below 2.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Create and render 3D models with Blender danrok Digital Image, Photo, Video and Audio Editing. 1 26th January, 2007 01:17 PM
USB Cameras and dropped frames Gizmo General Hardware Discussion 0 22nd January, 2005 05:05 AM
Dropped frames.. mrpcman Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 27th March, 2002 09:42 AM
WOW, I have a WU that is over 380 frames? What gives? TranceBear ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 5 25th October, 2001 06:19 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0