AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2005, 04:06 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Overclocking AGP cards

I have a question about overclocking AGP cards. I have currently a TI 4600, and I can easily adjust the core and clock speeds from the driver interface. WHat I am wondering is what effect does the AGP bus speed have on performance? I'm running an nForce2 board and can pretty much set the AGP independently.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2005, 04:55 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

In a word. No.
It may give a few 3dmarks extra upping it to 80mhz or so, but in reality agp4X is about all even a modern card needs.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2005, 09:11 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Upping the AGP bus will really kill stability too.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2005, 03:43 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Geforce 4 cards will actually compensate for a higher AGP bus by not using extra clocks. If you run 80mhz it will be running 40 mhz for example. That is one of the reasons GF4TIs used to be so good for overclocking. They could handle well over 75mhz without tearing while many 9700/9700pros died a terrible terrible death. You cant really kill a geforce 4 by overclocking. If you clock the core too high it will drop odd frames and remain stable before it shows artifacts. If you clock the ram too high it will frame drop rather than distorting. overclocking the AGP bus will do no harm, but will limit your performance considerably in some cases. It will give you no performance boost though.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2005, 03:51 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

One thing you might want to try (you can tell ive had and loved a TI4600 for a long time) is give him a little extra volts on the AGP slot. stock voltage is meant to be 1.55 volts though for some reason AGP voltage is usually a little on the low side with most boards. Top end nvidia boards love having some extra to play with. 1.6V measured, not set is the best bet.

so check with USDM if your on epox or MBM5 if you have some other board and see what your AGP volts are, and up it until it sits on at least 1.6V. If you have to go to 1.63 or 1.64 to get over 1.6 then do it. Just make sure it has a genuine measured voltage over 1.6. but under 1.65. lol.

1.6-1.65 is best.

This gives added stability, better overclocking, and has no negative effects on your card at all.

1.6-1.65 is also recommended for all top end cards, FX5800, FX5800U, FX5900, FX5900U, FX5950, FX5950U, 6200, (yes i consider the 6200 to be a top end card as it is actually a decent piece of equipment) 6600, 6600GT, 6800 series. (this is AGP only by the way).
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking your Nvidia 6800/6800LE DDR graphics card: Overclocking/Unlocking Guide. MONKEYMAN AOA FAQ 0 16th July, 2005 10:09 PM
Go Cards Phat Pat Random Nonsense! 3 23rd July, 2004 05:25 AM
NIC Cards PC PLOD Mobile Devices and Networking 10 7th April, 2003 07:01 PM
What IRQ to set 2 PCI Cards Cytomax EPoX MotherBoards 3 15th March, 2002 05:27 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0