AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2005, 09:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: surrey . england
Posts: 27

ti4800le

hello

i have a ti 4800le i bought last year as new??? when installed i get perhaps 20 boxes with light vertical lines , i remember reading that some ti4's had a cap problem does anyone no where i can find out more ,desktop its self is ok apart from boxes , hope that its not ram any clues



ianf......
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 01:14 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

can we have a quick rundown of the system / OS / drivers / games and APIs affected / make of card or any other relevant info.

th GF4TI cap problem kills more than it distorts. your problem sounds more like a grotty pixel shader / bad driver or API / overheat / overclock failure.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 01:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: surrey . england
Posts: 27

hello dsio thanks for the reply

current os xp64 rc2 did try on 98se with same results i purchased 2 from ebay this being the second a pine xfx , the prob is once into desk top .. i reckon its not visible in startup due to black background ?. although it was package and dvi adapter still sealed along with other pieces , if it had been clocked is it worth putting into 98 p.c and using riva to de tune it , i have the second one in my giga nf2 box and am using an mx400 64 it is sloooow , are ther any diagnostic programs i could try .. thanks ianf
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 01:49 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

what are the clockspeeds it is running?

it should be 290 core and 600 ram on that XFX card.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 03:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: surrey . england
Posts: 27

hello dsio

i have yet to set it up again it is an akward board its long and sort of fouls the harddrives its 2.58 am here (on hols) will hit the sack and set it up on an other machine in morning ,on the box xfx list it 550/350 to be honest i have a t14200 golden sample agp4 which may end up in there although on ebay there is a ti4600 but i think its agp 4 , normally i would just buy gear you can squeeze a little but daughters are dear?? so making do for a bit . thanks ian
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 04:30 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

mate AGP8X gave absolutely no performance improvement to the geforce 4 series other than the MX (which needed AGP ram).

the TI4600 in nearly all cases runs at the same speed as the TI4800, and in most cases faster because it overclocks further without AGP8X, so just ignore the AGP speed unless it is a compatability issue, as its sure not a performance one.

'nite
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0