AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 20th July, 2005, 05:51 AM
Daishi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 109
Send a message via AIM to Daishi Send a message via MSN to Daishi

doesnt matter if its patented by ati they can name it something else and have it work 1 way differently and there u go lol ati cant touch nvidia if they do that.
__________________
Tweaks R Us - Home of the Xtreme G Drivers

System Specs:
AMD Athlon 64 4000+
eVGA Nforce 4 SLI Mobo
1GB Corsair XMS Pc3200
2x WD Raptors in Raid 0
eVGA Geforce 7800 GT x2
Audigy 2 ZS
Logitech z-5500
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 20th July, 2005, 08:13 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Im not so sure about that, but besides, it costs money to come up with those different ways.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 25th July, 2005, 06:53 PM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

i thought nvidia were the 1st to use bridge chip? and that ati were the ones who tried to muck it up by saying it would decrease performance and that their cards were native cards only?
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 25th July, 2005, 07:06 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

agp to pci-e bridge, yes....ATI's bridge is pci-e to AGP.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 25th July, 2005, 08:55 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Yes, the 'X' range is a PCi-E native card.

The 6 series is AGP native therefore to run them on PCI-E machines, a bridge chip is required.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2005, 01:32 AM
~* InSoM *~'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: UK good old boring, cold, wet, UK
Posts: 402

well according to my suppliers (when they finally get some in), the actual cost price of a 7800GTX is.... only.... £20 more than a 6800U, they stock both XFX and Club3D... (when they actually receive them, 1 minute their getting 200, next 0)

So if anyone interested in a £400 7800GTX let me know, and I see what i can do (UK only im afraid, and price is according to suppliers) :P
__________________
Code:
    
    Main machine                Gateway machine         Wifey's machine
O/S WIN XP Pro SP1              SuSE 9.2                WIN XP Pro SP2
CPU 2.8 Celeron D               1Ghz Pentium III        2.4 Celeron D
RAM 768MB PC2700                512MB PC133             512mb PC2700
HDS 40GB Excelstar              20GB Quantum Fireball   40GB
VID XFX FX6600GT 128MB          NVidia 2 MX400 32MB     O/B AGP Video
MOB Eliteforce ECS 661FX-M      DELL                    DELL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2005, 01:37 AM
~* InSoM *~'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: UK good old boring, cold, wet, UK
Posts: 402

make it £385 + delivery
__________________
Code:
    
    Main machine                Gateway machine         Wifey's machine
O/S WIN XP Pro SP1              SuSE 9.2                WIN XP Pro SP2
CPU 2.8 Celeron D               1Ghz Pentium III        2.4 Celeron D
RAM 768MB PC2700                512MB PC133             512mb PC2700
HDS 40GB Excelstar              20GB Quantum Fireball   40GB
VID XFX FX6600GT 128MB          NVidia 2 MX400 32MB     O/B AGP Video
MOB Eliteforce ECS 661FX-M      DELL                    DELL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2005, 12:35 AM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
agp to pci-e bridge, yes....ATI's bridge is pci-e to AGP.
i thought the bridge chip worked both ways
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2005, 01:48 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

So will the lower numbered 7 series cards (eg 7200) be better than the high end 6 series cards?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2005, 02:05 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

No.

Essentially, the lower end 7 series cards will fall in line with the current 6 series. They may well rename the current 6800 as the 7600. The technology in the two chips is alot closer than Nvidia lets on, so there is little point in remaking the low end 7 series. I would expect a 110nm PCI-E native 12 pipe and maybe low clocked 16 pipe card to fill the lower but still high end 7 series, and the 7200 could well just be a rebadge. Similarly to how the GF4MX was just a Geforce 2 internally, the 7200 could be a 6200 PCI-E native card.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2005, 04:43 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Cool, so our 6800GTs arnt dead yet!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2005, 06:22 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by piccoLEW
i thought the bridge chip worked both ways
it does? not both chips do...ati's is pci-e to agp only, AFAIK.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2005, 06:28 AM
Daishi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 109
Send a message via AIM to Daishi Send a message via MSN to Daishi

ATI's way of rendering with both cards actauly in my opinion alot better than nvidias way. With Nvidia SLI 1 card renders the top half of the screen and the other renders the bottom. The problem with that is that most of the time 1 card will be stressed alot more than the other because how hard is it to render the sky.... you know. ATI's crossfire basically renders the picture as blocks on the screen like this. In my opinion this is a much more efficient way to render the screen dont ya think?

http://images.anandtech.com/reviews/...bf2checker.png
__________________
Tweaks R Us - Home of the Xtreme G Drivers

System Specs:
AMD Athlon 64 4000+
eVGA Nforce 4 SLI Mobo
1GB Corsair XMS Pc3200
2x WD Raptors in Raid 0
eVGA Geforce 7800 GT x2
Audigy 2 ZS
Logitech z-5500
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2005, 06:37 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

This for two cards? block rendering depending on the size of the blocks would work both cards out more equally then half-half as nVidia does. It might even be quicker depending on how it's done.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2005, 08:08 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daishi
ATI's way of rendering with both cards actauly in my opinion alot better than nvidias way. With Nvidia SLI 1 card renders the top half of the screen and the other renders the bottom. The problem with that is that most of the time 1 card will be stressed alot more than the other because how hard is it to render the sky.... you know. ATI's crossfire basically renders the picture as blocks on the screen like this. In my opinion this is a much more efficient way to render the screen dont ya think?

http://images.anandtech.com/reviews/...bf2checker.png
It certainly makes sense to even the load... for the rest I'll have to take your word.":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2005, 08:17 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

It does and at the same time it doesnt. One of the major advantages of splitting the screen top and bottom is it would limit the number of textures and shaders in play for that rendering. That is because the bottom half and all the shaders / textures in play there would not need to be processed.

This method would require the use of every texture on the frame and every shader on the frame for each card (or half as you would put it).

That would make the top and bottom method far better to use on lower end SLI cards such as 6600GT but also would give the upper cards a shot in the arm. Also the absense of an even split in the SLI rendering could be made by swapping the rendering roles per frame.

So frame 1: card one does the top, card two does the bottom
And frame 2: card one does the bottom, card two does the top

That way if one card finishes early, and is waiting for the more complicated part of the frame from the other card, it could then take on the harder part of the next frame, while the other does the easier part.

So the uneven split would go:

Card 1: 25% load from frame 1, 75% load from frame 2
Card 2: 75% load from frame 1, 25% load from frame 1

It would then even out in the frame buffer and both cards would do an equal amount of work in the end, though the end would be every 2 frames rather than 1.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2005, 08:29 AM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Wouldnt it require hepas of processing power to reassemble the image?
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2005, 11:36 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Talking

Better buy one 7800 and forget the SLI or crossfire or whatever brings more heat into your machine. So when you guys decide to give up on your SLI cards just PM me and I'll send you a SASE with my address on it...
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2005, 01:05 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

The chequerboard system is the most logical, it is after all how the pixelpipelines divide the load (anyone with a failed soft modded card will have seen the artifacting in a chequerboard pattern)
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2005, 08:51 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I KNEW I'd be in trouble the minute it started to make sense to me!! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia to show off a new mid-range to its GeForce 8 series Daniel ~ Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 13th March, 2007 11:46 PM
92.52 Nvidia GeForce Go 7 series driver for Vista 32-bit danrok OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 18th January, 2007 10:53 AM
BFG GeForce 7800 GS OC AGP review Gizmo Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 20th September, 2006 03:51 PM
GeForce 7 Series Ultra Cancelled !! saquib Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 23 14th September, 2005 09:20 PM
Nvidia GeForce 7800 GTX IceRaptor Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 2nd June, 2005 10:13 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0