AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th July, 2005, 10:39 PM
devilmyarse's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: England
Posts: 436

More problems with 6800LE! Blocky Textures

All of a sudden i've started getting blocky textures in games, when i say blocky i mean blocks the size of about 50x50pixels! It's making games like NFSU:2 and WOW very hard to look at! i feel like i've stepped back into the realms of DOS games right now!

I thought it might be something to do with a defective pipe, so i disabled all the masked pipes, and just for good measure put the card to stock clocks. No improvement, it was working perfect before, NFSU:2 looked great with everything on max settings. What the hell is wrong with my card? Any ideas or suggestions of what i can do to get it to work, increasing AA does nothing, increasing texture filtering does nothing, decreasing them does nothing, putting everything on lowest setting does nothing.

Here's an example:
Attached Thumbnails
More problems with 6800LE! Blocky Textures-blockytextures.jpg  
__________________
System Specs: Antec 900
Enermax Liberty 500W
Asus P5Q-Deluxe
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 2.4Ghz
2x 2GB OCZ Hiper 1066mhz
ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB
Samsung Syncmaster 15"

Apple Macbook Pro
15'' Core 2 Duo 2.33Ghz
X1600 Mobility Radeon
Boot camp Mac os X/Vista

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th July, 2005, 10:47 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

that looks like texture filtering is disabled, I don't actually know if you can disable/enable this thorugh control panel options so I'd recomend uninstaling the drivers, doing a driver cleaner run and re-installing them
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th July, 2005, 10:49 PM
devilmyarse's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: England
Posts: 436

Bah i've just done that to get the XG77.76 installed! Sodding thing!

Oh well i'll give that a try, but not tonight, i'll get it done tomorow.

Any other suggestions?

BTW VERY quick response, thank you!!!
__________________
System Specs: Antec 900
Enermax Liberty 500W
Asus P5Q-Deluxe
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 2.4Ghz
2x 2GB OCZ Hiper 1066mhz
ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB
Samsung Syncmaster 15"

Apple Macbook Pro
15'' Core 2 Duo 2.33Ghz
X1600 Mobility Radeon
Boot camp Mac os X/Vista

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th July, 2005, 11:39 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

try turning triliniear optimisations off, you need to be in performance and quality settings of the forceware control panel, and set it to advanced mode, then just disable the trilinear optimisation setting. Check to see if this worked, if it did try enabling it again and check if the problems back
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th July, 2005, 11:49 PM
devilmyarse's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: England
Posts: 436

Just tried all those, tried forcing 8x anisotropic filtering and 8x aa, did nothing, tried disabling trilinear optimization and disabling it, did nothing, i'll just have to re-install the drivers tomorow! hope that fixes it!
__________________
System Specs: Antec 900
Enermax Liberty 500W
Asus P5Q-Deluxe
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 2.4Ghz
2x 2GB OCZ Hiper 1066mhz
ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB
Samsung Syncmaster 15"

Apple Macbook Pro
15'' Core 2 Duo 2.33Ghz
X1600 Mobility Radeon
Boot camp Mac os X/Vista

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2005, 02:01 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

If it does it in more than one game it's almost certainly a driver problem, I can't imagine a hardware fault would disable such a specific feature
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2005, 04:45 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

This doesnt happen with any other game does it? The pixelation bug is a known issue with NFSU2 from a long time ago.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2005, 04:47 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

To fix it in NFSU2, fiddle with the texture filtering settings in the game, and ALSO fiddle with the filtering settings in the driver settings. That should fix it. search NFSU2 pixelation on google and you will find a hundred other people with similar issues across hundreds of drivers.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2005, 10:31 AM
devilmyarse's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: England
Posts: 436

It happens in WOW too though! Other games seem to be completely fine! On WOW if i try to change the multi sampling to anything other than 1x my screen starts flickering!

Ok i'll try and see if i can fix it if it's a bug with NFSU2. But i've tried all sorts of combinations of texture filtering, aa, trilinear optimizations off/on etc.

Thanks for the suggestions guys!

I fixed NFSU:2 but wow is still having the same blocky textures problem. I'll have a fiddle with the forceware settings for that later on.

To fix NFSU:2 i turned every single setting off, then in game turned em all back on again. Worked like a charm. Strange bug that.
__________________
System Specs: Antec 900
Enermax Liberty 500W
Asus P5Q-Deluxe
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 2.4Ghz
2x 2GB OCZ Hiper 1066mhz
ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB
Samsung Syncmaster 15"

Apple Macbook Pro
15'' Core 2 Duo 2.33Ghz
X1600 Mobility Radeon
Boot camp Mac os X/Vista

AOA Team fah

Last edited by devilmyarse; 31st July, 2005 at 11:11 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Community project: Better BF2142 textures! skool h8r GAMES! OH YEAH! 6 15th October, 2006 05:29 AM
My 6800LE arrived :) ajopz Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 17th September, 2005 01:44 PM
6800le Problems!! Help!!!! MightyMar22 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 10 16th August, 2005 09:10 PM
6800LE (again!) devilmyarse Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 12 22nd June, 2005 08:56 PM
Dodgy Textures MONKEYMAN Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 9 18th April, 2005 02:13 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0