AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2005, 04:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 6

Qustion About Graphics Card Compatibility..

about 2 years ago, I purchased a Radeon 9800 for my computer which did not work. I returned it and bought a geforce fx 5900 which did work. The ATI card that i bought had the connectors in 2 sections, while the nvidia one had it broken into 3 sections, like the mx440 that my computer came with. both cards said that they were 8x/4x compatible.

I am considering purchasing a geforce6800, but i noticed that it, like the 9800, had the connector divided into 2 sections. My question is, with my AGP4x system board, will i be able to use this card? any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2005, 05:29 AM
y2butonz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 83

Yupp the 6800 is backwards compatible.
__________________
System Specs:
Thermaltake Kandalf Silver + Aerocool Gatewatch, Ultra X-Connect 500w w/ Blue UV Window
EPoX 9NPA+ (Non-Ultra)
AMD64 Socket 939 3500 Winchester + Coolermaster Aquagate @ 2.8GHz
ATI Sapphire X850XT @ 600/600 + Arctic Cooling Rev.2 ATI 5
2x512MB Matched GeiL Ultra-X PC3200+
1x 120GB Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9
1x 300GB Maxtor Maxline III 16MB Cache + Vantec Vortex
Audigy2 ZS Gamers Edition + Logitech Z-5500s
Logitech MX1000 + K/B Wireless Desktop
19" Digimate TFT x2 RR - 8ms
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2005, 08:16 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

Most cards are if not all major brand names anyway. The only problem i would see is lowr agp then 4x or a board that is 1.5v only.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2005, 10:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 6

then why didn't the radeon 9600XT or 9800 work? both said that they are compatible with 8x/4x
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th August, 2005, 11:29 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

this sounds a little silly, but are you sure the motherboard is a 3 part slot and not a two?

You see, if you use a 3 part AGP card in a 2 part slot, you end up getting a solid mass of dust jammed in the space between the two forward parts of the card slot, that looks like a divider.

6800s and all AGP 8X cards are 2 part slots.

the FX used the Geforce 4's AGP 8X system, which was more a 4X rejig than an 8X slot. Hence it had the 3 part AGP slot.

Can you give me the model of your motherboard and I will find out for you?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 12:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 6

the card that came with my computer had three slots, so did the 5900 i have now, the cards that i tried in the past that had 2 slots did fit without a problem, just no video signal. the motherboard is an MSI MS-6577.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 12:53 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

That board is an HP only OEM board, so there are some limits to it. What is the revision number on it?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 01:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 6

is that the same as BIOS Revision?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 01:12 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

yeap
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 01:15 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by id.SubZ3R0
then why didn't the radeon 9600XT or 9800 work? both said that they are compatible with 8x/4x

because there are 2 differnt AGP 8x standards...one that operates @ 1.5v, and the other that operates @ 0.8v. ATI cards are bad for this 1.5v 8x agp, which lead to your problem. ATI says mobo maker's are at fault for the issue, and 0.8v is the proper spec...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 01:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
because there are 2 differnt AGP 8x standards...one that operates @ 1.5v, and the other that operates @ 0.8v. ATI cards are bad for this 1.5v 8x agp, which lead to your problem. ATI says mobo maker's are at fault for the issue, and 0.8v is the proper spec...
I suspected something like this was the case before i noticed the difference in the connection.

The BIOS Revision is v3.10, 01/09/2003
BIOS Core is v6.0
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 01:22 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

the 6 series will work with that board.

just be sure you have a decent PSU in the machine. The stock HP PSU may not keep up.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2005, 01:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 6

I've already changed the power supply for the card that I currently have, it was kind of hard since the hp one was physically smaller than standard ones. So I had to remove part of the bay to make it fit.

Anyways, I appreciate your help, thank you.
__________________

Last edited by id.SubZ3R0; 25th August, 2005 at 02:16 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battlefield 2 Video Card Compatibility Exile69 GAMES! OH YEAH! 10 22nd August, 2005 04:02 AM
I want a new Graphics card, but which one. themonk Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 1st June, 2003 05:00 PM
best ram&graphics card ? eric-cartmann EPoX MotherBoards 2 17th May, 2003 11:14 PM
Video card / Motherboard compatibility eobard Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 14 13th July, 2002 06:48 PM
Graphics Card Iceman Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 9 21st May, 2002 11:42 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0