AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th August, 2005, 05:13 AM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

Dead MOBO???

ok something is messed up...

i turn on my computer...power supply goes BZZ for like half a second...then NOTHING, no power to my mother board or fans or anything, lil led light on my mo bo doenst go on, the power button on front does nothing, is my power supply crapped out??? my zalman fan on my 6800 is automatically ALWAYS on so this should jus jump on as my computer is turned on,

is this quick buzz from like a short maybe? so its not allowing anything to go through, or did i wire my mother board wrong and now my motherboard is dead, whats goin on here??!!

id have to guess its the psu, could it possibly be the 20-24 pin adapter im using isnt allowing it to work i dunno this is just really strange, any feedback would help!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th August, 2005, 06:55 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

sounds like something is shorting out, what kind of PSU is it? maybe a few more details about your system?
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th August, 2005, 07:03 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Try jumping the green pin of the PSU 20 pin connector to one of the black pins to force it to start without being connected to the motherboard or any of the computer. See if the motherboard runs.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th August, 2005, 07:59 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I've had the "buzz" sound as well.... yep it was the Power Supply.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th August, 2005, 01:03 PM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

hmmm im really thinkin it has to be the power....i mean if there was at least power going TO the system, something else thats wired would start, like a fan or something, but im getting NOTHING...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2005, 02:58 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Did you get this resolved?
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2005, 07:30 AM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

yea power supply wasnt enough...i order a 520 from newegg...lil excessive yea, but it works now haha
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2005, 09:50 PM
devilmyarse's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: England
Posts: 436

Great to hear you solved that one! Must remember to get a really good psu when i build my next system....
__________________
System Specs: Antec 900
Enermax Liberty 500W
Asus P5Q-Deluxe
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 2.4Ghz
2x 2GB OCZ Hiper 1066mhz
ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB
Samsung Syncmaster 15"

Apple Macbook Pro
15'' Core 2 Duo 2.33Ghz
X1600 Mobility Radeon
Boot camp Mac os X/Vista

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dead mobo? Daston AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 4th January, 2007 07:48 PM
8rda+ is dead? Need new mobo dunelly EPoX MotherBoards 6 19th August, 2004 01:05 PM
Dead mobo? Super CRASHED! 3 26th August, 2002 08:08 PM
dead cpu or mobo? drow_elf AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 10th August, 2002 08:03 AM
Blarg! I am dead!(or at least my mobo) Lardmaster AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 16th July, 2002 06:26 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:32 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0