AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2005, 03:19 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

nVidia caught 'optimizing' again?!?!

According to this story at 3DCenter, the folks at nVidia have been caught with their hands in the optimizer again. This time, the problem centers around the G70 (aka GF 7800) and NV40 (aka GF 6800) chips and the 16xAF mode. Apparently, nVidia is being over aggressive in their optimizations, and the result is 'shimmering' in their 'high quality' mode. nVidia has promised a driver fix to be released soon which will address the issue. It remains to be seen what kind of performance hit will be involved; some places are suggesting that the performance hit may be as high as 30%, although I think that will be a bit high. 10% seems like a more realistic number, but we won't know for sure until the new drivers come out.

Have you seen this 'shimmer' problem? What do you think about it? Tell us!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2005, 06:30 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

It's there, it's bad, and i'm a pissed camper. remrmber me bitching about colinmcrae giving bad performance...wel...that's just part of the story. Issues are fixed in newest driver, 78.03, however.
__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 31st August, 2005 at 06:39 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2005, 06:49 PM
benighted's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Location: Grayland, WA.
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to benighted Send a message via MSN to benighted

My 6800U is very slow with BF2 on anything past medium settings.
__________________

Buy AVG Anti-Virus and Support AOA!!
AOA Team fah
Silent water cooled system:
Zalman Reserator 1.1
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice @ 2400MHZ
Epox 9NDA3+
2GB GSkill PC3200
Maxtor 10 SATA X2 RAID0
eVGA 6800 Ultra 256MB

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2005, 12:05 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Hey giz, what abour radiosity? if a game or the driver were to use it on the gpu instead of cpu...G70 supports this...5% performance gain, maybe...i think.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2005, 12:44 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Not sure I understand what you are on about, Cad? Radiosity?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2005, 01:04 AM
Exile69's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,264

Radiosity.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair CX 750W | TP-Link Archer | MSI Z-390A Pro | ASUS GTX 1060 3GB Phoenix | Intel i5-9600K @ 3.7GHz | 16GB G.Skill DDR4 3200 | Corsair Carbide 275R | Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo | 500GB Samsung 860 EVO + 120GB Kingston SV300 | Sony BT Headphones/Anker BT Speaker| ASUS TUF Gaming VG24V | Razer Basilisk X Hyperspeed | Microsoft Wireless Keyboard
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2005, 02:23 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

If you use Xtreme-G modded drivers instead of Nvidia ones anyway there is no problem however. The XGs without cheating still perform better than the normals, with cheating.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2005, 06:21 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
Hey giz, what abour radiosity? if a game or the driver were to use it on the gpu instead of cpu...G70 supports this...5% performance gain, maybe...i think.
Ok, now I understand a bit better. However, I would think you would WANT to do this in the GPU instead of the CPU by default, unless you just don't have enough GPU horsepower to push it. Wouldn't you?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2005, 06:39 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

THat's my point...it's done at the cpu currently. So part of the gpu is not getting used. Optimizations aren't the only problem.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2005, 07:25 AM
z3speed4me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Union, NJ
Posts: 458

soooo the problem wit pixelation or watever you wanna call it when i unlock 16 pipes can be fixed???? or did i read this wrong...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i caught you out TweaksRUS! skool h8r Data Security 29 10th June, 2006 06:20 PM
Uh, oh! They caught me on film! Uncle Bob Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 4 26th January, 2003 03:24 PM
Bambi caught in the act! Uncle Bob Random Nonsense! 8 20th January, 2003 06:57 AM
Optimizing Boot Time with 8RDA+ chr EPoX MotherBoards 23 15th December, 2002 02:39 PM
DSL optimizing burekar Mobile Devices and Networking 18 24th December, 2001 02:29 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0