AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2005, 01:46 AM
NarkotikBuzz's Avatar
Member
Breakout Champion
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 793

Exclamation Video card dilemma

I currently have a choice between 2 video cards that i own. In my pc now i have an ATI 9600se which is AGP 8X...I also have an ATI 9100 which is only AGP 4X....which card is the better choice? They both have 128megs of ram, and i know that the 9100 is a tweaked version of the 8500. Does the 8x make much of a difference? I always assumed it does. I do alot of gaming so i need to know which card will be faster? The rest of my system is: Abit nf7-s v.2, AMD XP-M 2500+ OC'ed to 2.26, 512mb of Mushkin ram, Maxtor HDD(not sure which one, it is only 40Gigs). In some games the 9600 really chugs along, and gets horrible scores with aquamark. I really need help with this problem.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2005, 02:15 AM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

9600SE......

I'm not sure. Unlike the 9800SE opposed to the 9800pro, the 98SE had only 4PP and was underclocked, however there was/is a mod to unlock the other 4 and then raise the core/mem. The 96SE is slightly different, since the 9600 line only sported 4pp, and the 9500 had 8, the 96xt or pro's just ramped up the clock speeds. So, now that my rant is over, replace the stock HS/F, put in the 9600 and see what kind of core/mem speeds you can reach.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2005, 02:38 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Well the 9600Se only has a 64bit memory interface, and 4 pixels pipelines which I believe only support a single texture per clock at 325mhz, so thats 1.3Gpixels/texels and 3.2gbyte/s memory bandwidth

The 9100 looses DX9 and alos only has a core clock of 250mhz with 4 pixel pipelines giving it just 1Gpixels but it does support 2 textures per pipeline making 2Gtexels. It also has a 128bit memory bus and faster ram, so it has a lot more memory bandwidth, but it only has the single vertex unit next to the 9600's two

So you are looking at more memory bandwidth and fillrate, but lower pixel and vertex rates combined with older DX technology

It's a tough one to call, especially as it isn't an apples to apples comparrison, you're going to loose DX9 capabilitys, which makes a dirwect performance comparrison impossible, but, I do think that the severly crippled memory bandiwdth of the 9600SE will give the 9100 a slight edge, you need to compare them to tell really though
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2005, 05:15 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

The 9100 is the faster card. But the 9600SE is a more technically superior card. I would be using the 9100.

It is almost akin to comparing an FX5200 to a GF4TI4200. The 5200 supports DX9, but at a slide show rate, so it is hardly worth having. The Geforce 4 TI does not support DX9, but is the more powerful card.

The AGP rate counts for sod all, so dont bother AGP4X or 8X. Its marketing crap, not real performance. The sad fact is the letters SE make any card a piece of crap. A 64 bit 9600 is far too crippled to be usefull. Even overclocked, its slower than the 9100. Then the 9100 does overclock reasonably well. The choice is clear for me.

9100 all the way. The 9100IGP on the other hand, is a completely seperate story, but I am assuming it isnt an integrated.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2005, 05:53 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

disio is right, the 9100 will play better , the 9600 might look better tho
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2005, 01:41 PM
NarkotikBuzz's Avatar
Member
Breakout Champion
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 793

well, i put in the 9100, and tried using atitool to OC it, and the best it will do is 274/264. is it possible to flash the bios to get higher speeds? even with stock cooling the card is not getting very hot, but if i try to set the speeds higher than that i get lots of artifacts. Any ideas?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2005, 02:02 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Not really, thats about it. It isnt a high clocking card, but it does a reasonable job. What drivers are you using?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2005, 02:12 PM
NarkotikBuzz's Avatar
Member
Breakout Champion
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 793

i am currently using the softmod 5.8 catalyst drivers....they are working pretty good so far, no problems..
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2005, 02:14 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I would use the 5.7s, possibly the Omega 5.7s if you want more performance. The 5.7s are better for 128MB cards. And the Omegas just make them even better.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2005, 02:52 PM
NarkotikBuzz's Avatar
Member
Breakout Champion
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 793

well, i loaded the 5.7 omega drivers, and put the clock settings 270/530....and then i scored 19237 on aquamark, with an average of 19.6 FPS...i think my 9600se scored about 17000, so it is a definate performance gain. Hopefully soon i will get a new card. I think i am going to get a GF6800le, and hope it unlockes to 16 pipelines. Thanks for all the info.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2005, 02:56 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Get a Leadtek if you buy a 6800LE. Glad to hear its working well for you.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheap video card with Video Out raphael2040 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 14 17th December, 2006 10:42 PM
New Video card on the way!!! NarkotikBuzz Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 25 19th September, 2005 05:06 PM
New video card? Mark Alex Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 17 11th July, 2005 04:42 AM
ATI/Nvidia multi-video processing!!!!1 AGP card-1 PCI-e card (ATI ONLY) cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 20th May, 2005 03:15 PM
$150 Video Card fusheeezy Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 18th June, 2004 12:10 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0