AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th February, 2002, 09:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 19

memory or video card

which is most important?im going to build a system for a freind and hes low on cash.hes using an amd1700xp and wants to use ddr ram.would it be better to get 128megs of ram and a geforce3 ti200 card or 256 megs of ram and a geforce 2 ti 200 card?he will be playing games alot,like n2002 and medal of honor.or should i sanve money on the cpu buy using a duron and put more oney in the ram and v.card?thanks for the replys.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th February, 2002, 11:03 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Welcome aboard, edodge9! Not easy decisions, for sure. I think 256 Mb of RAM is a must. The 128 Mb "standard" left town at least a year ago. Sorry that the present prices for RAM are back into seller, rather than user friendly territory.

When in doubt, I favor expense in the basic core zone of PC's. Such as mainboards, HDD's, CPU's and RAM. Rather than spending just to be able to show off that my Soundcard is British Racing Green.

I don't understand whether your friend already has an XP 1700+, or is in need of a CPU. Even though a 1.3 Ghz Duron gives one respectable performance, I just don't think that a serious gamer could abide less than an Athlon. The poor guy wouldn't be able to sleep soundly until an Athlon inhabited his box.

Buying the RAM and Athlon/Athlon XP puts you into less expensive Vidcard territory.

It's possible that your friend's hardware priorities are very different than mine. Why not talk to your friend and really find out what s/he wants?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th February, 2002, 11:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 19

thanks for the reply.games is it.looking at cpus dont have one yet.do already have a new case with 400w supply.amd is a must.i was looking into 256megs of ram and the geforce2 ti200 64meg card.i was just wondering if that would be enough.thanks again.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th February, 2002, 11:52 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

If your PC is resorting back to the virtual memory on the HDD all the time, the best video card in the world will feel like garbage.

Get as much ram as you (or your friend can afford). It is a core component that will impact performance everywhere. I personally believe WinXP systems should all have 512mb or more. My systems have 512, 384, 256, & 192. And it shows. Also, make sure you use a single 256 stick. It may not be long before you want to add more.

With video cards, bleeding edge always costs a fortune, then drops like crazy within a few months, imho.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th February, 2002, 12:02 AM
T-Shirt's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Snohomish, Wa. USA
Posts: 37

The memory! Get the Memory! go with the Gf2 or less and plan on a future upgrade, You (He) needs at least 256M or the whole machine will feel slow. in 6-months or a year there will be better cheaper Video cards and the computer will still be fine.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th February, 2002, 12:40 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

If you building a gaming PCthen you have to have a geforce3
A geforce2 is just about passable now..but in 6months time it wont be any good and you will have to spend again to upgrade.
(loosing the money you spent on the geforce2)

If you get 128mb of ram your PC wont run right.
On the up side adding another 128mb is easy..and you can keep the memory you still have.

When I built my PC I had a geforce3 512mb ram (it was cheap then) and a duron 800 oc to 1044.
Changing to a XP-1700 @1700 didnt make games much faster.
The duron did a very good job once running at a good fsb (100mhz fsb held things back allot)

Thats probably what Id recomend.
Get a decent DDR board.
256mb ram
Geforce3
Cheap duron (and OC it to hell)
Then save up for a .13 thoroughbread.. in 6 months time you will still have a great system.

That will give you a kick ass system and keep you in budget.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.

Last edited by Holst; 25th February, 2002 at 12:51 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th February, 2002, 01:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 19

thanks for the replys everybody.they have helped alot.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th February, 2002, 01:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 19

holst,you mentioned going with a duron now then upgrading to a tbred later,do you know what motherboards(chipset) i could buy tha would support them?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th February, 2002, 04:44 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
Originally posted by edodge9
holst,you mentioned going with a duron now then upgrading to a tbred later,do you know what motherboards(chipset) i could buy tha would support them?
Its not official yet but I think that the 8kha+ will support it..as epox tech has said the that effect.

And the newer epox KT333 based board will support it.
I think that board will be a better buy than an 8kha+ if you can get one (im not sure if there released yet)

As the Thoroughbread used a 133mhz fsb socket A and a lower voltage I think most of the newer crop of DDR boards will support it....but the only one ive heard anything about is the epox boards.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2002, 12:02 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by edodge9
holst,you mentioned going with a duron now then upgrading to a tbred later,do you know what motherboards(chipset) i could buy tha would support them?
that's what I would do, start with a good mobo, half a gig of ram and a cheap cpu and then get a new tbred later.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheap video card with Video Out raphael2040 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 14 17th December, 2006 10:42 PM
Inserting memory card causes USB card reader to get removed videobruce General Hardware Discussion 2 6th November, 2006 03:26 PM
PS3 requires memory card adapter for PS2/PS1 memory cards Gizmo GAMES! OH YEAH! 6 14th August, 2006 06:01 PM
ATI/Nvidia multi-video processing!!!!1 AGP card-1 PCI-e card (ATI ONLY) cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 20th May, 2005 03:15 PM
I **** my video card scottman Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 35 16th April, 2004 07:40 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0