AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2005, 07:31 AM
NarkotikBuzz's Avatar
Member
Breakout Champion
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 793

New physics processor for games, check this out.

There is a new processor on the way to control physics in games..check this out.... www.ageia.com I thought this was interesting news that everyone would be interested in.
__________________
Abit NF7-s
Barton 2500+ M @1800mhz
Leadtek 6800le
Ubuntu

HP Pavillion DV9535nr Laptop

AOA Team fah AOA Team files
"Who you callin a psycho?!" Kingpin

Last edited by NarkotikBuzz; 4th October, 2005 at 09:41 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2005, 03:58 AM
NarkotikBuzz's Avatar
Member
Breakout Champion
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 793

I am suprised this has gotten no comments yet. I am assuming that this processor will be replacing the Havok physics engine in the future, and put less stress on the GPU, and leave it for just graphics processing, which i am sure will result in some amazing looking games in the future. Any comments from the board?
__________________
Abit NF7-s
Barton 2500+ M @1800mhz
Leadtek 6800le
Ubuntu

HP Pavillion DV9535nr Laptop

AOA Team fah AOA Team files
"Who you callin a psycho?!" Kingpin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2005, 04:18 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Nope. Old news, that one. Judgements will be made here once there is a real product on the market, as until it is, it's still just vaporware.

Oh, and you CAN overclock the AGEIA cards.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2005, 08:13 AM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
Nope. Old news, that one. Judgements will be made here once there is a real product on the market, as until it is, it's still just vaporware.

Oh, and you CAN overclock the AGEIA cards.
Dave...it's not that you can...YOU MUST!
When do you believe they'll be available?
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2005, 03:34 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

I had heard originally, at computex, that that it was supposed to be out now, but it has not been widely adopted yet. only a handful of app designer's have signed on to support the ageia.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2005, 03:39 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

The got the funding they need on 3rd Oct. So, the ball is rolling...
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2005, 03:51 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

release about the same time as vista, i think.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2005, 04:38 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

According to the Inquirer, they are supposed to be shipping boards in December.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2005, 04:43 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Sounds possible, I hope so. It's about as close as you can get to a completely new component for a PC.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2005, 05:39 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

So is it just an add in card to improve aspects in supported applications?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2005, 05:45 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

It's a chip. So it can be on an add-on card, motherboard or possibly a video card.

In short it allows better realistic physics in games. Something which is a little lacking at the moment.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2005, 06:33 PM
tiamat63's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: O-H!!
Posts: 1,442

I thought either Gigabyte or Asus had sign cross patent agreements to integrate the Chip in some of their motherboards? Or was I just daydreaming?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2005, 06:39 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Asus have. That may be where some of the upfront money is coming from.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2005, 12:23 PM
NarkotikBuzz's Avatar
Member
Breakout Champion
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: LIMBO
Posts: 793

It looks like they are gonna be more expensive than i thought, i just wonder how many games will make use of it right away.
__________________
Abit NF7-s
Barton 2500+ M @1800mhz
Leadtek 6800le
Ubuntu

HP Pavillion DV9535nr Laptop

AOA Team fah AOA Team files
"Who you callin a psycho?!" Kingpin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2005, 10:14 PM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

wait so how will it work you put it in a PCI slot? or will it reaplce something? and do you need a new mobo?
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2005, 12:50 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I would imagine even the CPU makers would be looking at it. If you could integrate a high speed PPU on die, it would be a definate edge over the competition.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSE Processor smiffy ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 11 23rd September, 2005 04:24 PM
new processor Skiracing108 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 11 6th August, 2005 02:36 AM
Hot Processor...HELP!!! vincesherman Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 27 25th July, 2005 11:02 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0