AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2006, 10:13 AM
Hoppster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Waikouaiti Otago NZ
Posts: 82
Send a message via MSN to Hoppster

Question Gainward Bliss 7800GS+ 512MB Video Card

Ive found one of these for sale,

Has any one tried them and how would the rest of my setup handle it?

here are the advertised specs.

"It is one of only 1500 worldwide made by Gainward and is the fastest AGP card ever made

It has the new Nvidia 7900 GT GPU running at 450MHZ and 512GB of GDDR3 memory running at 625MHZ (1250MHZ effective)

The standard 7800GS only has 16 pipelines and uses the 7800 core. Because of marketing restrictions Gainward had to market it as a "7800" but have added the "+" to show it uses the different 7900core which also means it has 24 pixel pipelines.

The 512MB of memory is also something not offered with the standard 7800GS (these usually have 256MB)

Other features include:

- Silent cooling solution
- High-Speed DDR 256-bit Memory Interface
- Dual 400MHz RAMDACs
- Designed For Extreme HD Gaming - Delivering Ultra Realistic Gaming Experiences
- Built for Windows Vista - The next generation operating system
- Dual link DVI support
- Shader Model 3.0 Support
- True High Dynamic Range Rendering Support - Based on Open EXR technology"
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200
Leadtech 6600 GT TDH @ 570/1070
Geil 2GB RAM
2 x 200GB Western Digital
Dual Boot XP32 bit Home Edition
Vista Beta 2 Release 5308 64 bit


"You cant help a bit of bad luck now and again"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2006, 10:18 AM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

I think it's actually using the 7800GT chip with 20 pixel pipelines rather than 24, the price of this card makes it tempting to just jump to PCI-E and have access to even better cards. Surely the speed of this card would saturate the AGP port but i don't know really. Dsio should know
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home

Last edited by Got EpOx; 10th July, 2006 at 10:18 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2006, 10:48 AM
Hoppster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Waikouaiti Otago NZ
Posts: 82
Send a message via MSN to Hoppster

Does have 24 pipelines

Just read in another forum, they do have 24 pipelines

A guy with an athlon xp 3000 got over 4000 on 3dmark 2006

Wonder what my machine would clock?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200
Leadtech 6600 GT TDH @ 570/1070
Geil 2GB RAM
2 x 200GB Western Digital
Dual Boot XP32 bit Home Edition
Vista Beta 2 Release 5308 64 bit


"You cant help a bit of bad luck now and again"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2006, 11:03 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by Got EpOx
I think it's actually using the 7800GT chip with 20 pixel pipelines rather than 24, the price of this card makes it tempting to just jump to PCI-E and have access to even better cards. Surely the speed of this card would saturate the AGP port but i don't know really. Dsio should know
I very much doubt it. Nearly all SLI and Crossfire systems, including those with top end X1900XTX and 7900GTX graphics cards in them, have *LESS* bandwidth than a standard AGP system.

PCI-E offers 4GB/s of bandwidth when it is operating over 16 lanes.

In SLI or Crossfire mode, the vast majority of systems run the two cards on 8 lanes each, or PCI-E 8X mode. This is slightly less bandwidth than AGP 8X offers.

PCI-E 8X = 2GB/s
AGP 8X = 2.13GB/s

What's more is you can actually overclock the AGP bus quite considerably.

This isn't needed however, as no card that maxes out PCI-E in SLI on an 8X per slot motherboard can max out AGP.

Furthermore, there was even an AGP 16X standard as well, that never made it into proper production due to PCI-E, that offers even greater bandwidth than PCI-E, and this is actually what NV40 chips were originally designed to comply with, and is why they then were able to bridge to PCI-E on early NV40s while still being able to fully utilize that bandwidth, if it were ever needed.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2006, 11:18 AM
Hoppster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Waikouaiti Otago NZ
Posts: 82
Send a message via MSN to Hoppster

Thumbs up Sounds good.

hey thanks for the info

Ive been surfing and doing some research, and they sound good.

Should over double my score.

From what I have read I mite go for it - if i can get it at a reasonable price.

Found this interesting site with a CPU performance in gaming report

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/cpu-games2
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200
Leadtech 6600 GT TDH @ 570/1070
Geil 2GB RAM
2 x 200GB Western Digital
Dual Boot XP32 bit Home Edition
Vista Beta 2 Release 5308 64 bit


"You cant help a bit of bad luck now and again"

Last edited by Hoppster; 10th July, 2006 at 11:19 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2006, 11:45 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

When you get it, take some photos, and do a review on it for us mate. There might be something in it for you as well.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2006, 10:12 AM
Hoppster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Waikouaiti Otago NZ
Posts: 82
Send a message via MSN to Hoppster

Gonna save bucks

Ive done my last upgrade on my current box. No point in trying to paint a donkey.

Grand plan is to save up and buy an AM3 whenever they come out, upgrade to PCI-E or whatever graphics port is the norm then - and then when that happens, high end graphics cards of today should be cheap enough.

My rig currently plays all the latest games at medium to high quality settings, good resolutions at reasonable framerates therefore unfortunately ive made the decision to stick with my Legend 6600 GT TDH.

Though im as flakey as the weather, and could decide to go for the GS7800+ next week if i found one cheap enough.

Bit of overtime would be required at work though
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200
Leadtech 6600 GT TDH @ 570/1070
Geil 2GB RAM
2 x 200GB Western Digital
Dual Boot XP32 bit Home Edition
Vista Beta 2 Release 5308 64 bit


"You cant help a bit of bad luck now and again"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2006, 11:59 AM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoppster
Ive done my last upgrade on my current box. No point in trying to paint a donkey.

Grand plan is to save up and buy an AM3 whenever they come out, upgrade to PCI-E or whatever graphics port is the norm then - and then when that happens, high end graphics cards of today should be cheap enough.

My rig currently plays all the latest games at medium to high quality settings, good resolutions at reasonable framerates therefore unfortunately ive made the decision to stick with my Legend 6600 GT TDH.

Though im as flakey as the weather, and could decide to go for the GS7800+ next week if i found one cheap enough.

Bit of overtime would be required at work though
AM3? i think you mean AM2, and they're out already. And PCI-E is the norm.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2006, 12:29 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

AM3 is supposed to be backwards compatible to a certain extent, but until it's released, it's hard to know. I'm not sure when AM3 is designated to be released on an unsuspecting world though.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 15th July, 2006, 11:07 AM
Hoppster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Waikouaiti Otago NZ
Posts: 82
Send a message via MSN to Hoppster

Wink What the heck - im gonna order it.

Its not much dearer than most 7900GT PCI express cards.

Way cheaper than fully upgrading my system

and i can hock off my 6600 on trademe (E-Bay)

Looks like ill be working tommoro tho, (on a sunday = double time)

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200
Leadtech 6600 GT TDH @ 570/1070
Geil 2GB RAM
2 x 200GB Western Digital
Dual Boot XP32 bit Home Edition
Vista Beta 2 Release 5308 64 bit


"You cant help a bit of bad luck now and again"

Last edited by Hoppster; 15th July, 2006 at 11:09 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 15th July, 2006, 11:23 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Your stoic resolve lasted 2days and 55minutes! *impressed*
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM







Last edited by Favu; 15th July, 2006 at 11:23 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 15th July, 2006, 11:41 AM
Hoppster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Waikouaiti Otago NZ
Posts: 82
Send a message via MSN to Hoppster

lol

true - case of the must haves big time.

One of 1500 must almost clasify the card a collectors item???
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200
Leadtech 6600 GT TDH @ 570/1070
Geil 2GB RAM
2 x 200GB Western Digital
Dual Boot XP32 bit Home Edition
Vista Beta 2 Release 5308 64 bit


"You cant help a bit of bad luck now and again"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 15th July, 2006, 11:50 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I still have an original 5800 Ultra somewhere in the garage. Now those things were rare. One day, with some luck it will be worth something.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 15th July, 2006, 11:58 AM
Hoppster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Waikouaiti Otago NZ
Posts: 82
Send a message via MSN to Hoppster

As much as a 386 dx40 ?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200
Leadtech 6600 GT TDH @ 570/1070
Geil 2GB RAM
2 x 200GB Western Digital
Dual Boot XP32 bit Home Edition
Vista Beta 2 Release 5308 64 bit


"You cant help a bit of bad luck now and again"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 15th July, 2006, 12:02 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I have one of them as well. Complete with 32MB of ram! 8X 4MB SIMMs. Those 4MB SIMMS alone are worth a fortune.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Graphics card the DiabloTek GeForce 6800 GS / 512MB GDDR3 / AGP 8x Question! HairRazor Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 13 16th March, 2007 04:33 PM
Cheap video card with Video Out raphael2040 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 14 17th December, 2006 10:42 PM
ATI/Nvidia multi-video processing!!!!1 AGP card-1 PCI-e card (ATI ONLY) cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 20th May, 2005 03:15 PM
Kingston Technology 512MB Secure Digital Card $44.99 - $15.00 rebate = $29.99 mookydooky Online Deals, and Steals 0 15th December, 2004 05:28 PM
Resource Conflicts - WIN98, WIN/ME & 512mb RAM & NVIDIA Gef2 MX400 video card mardude EPoX MotherBoards 6 13th February, 2002 11:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0