AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th September, 2006, 09:15 PM
Z1sTeM's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2006
Posts: 9
Send a message via MSN to Z1sTeM

silent running HW clock slow down due to temperature

Hi, I'm having massive artifacts on my 6800GT AGP, card I get this messages on the NVTweek debug:
silent running HW slowdown due to temperature.
and also this one:
silent running HW stress test transition L1->L2
Ok, I,m cooling my vidcard witha vf900 and it never goes more than 58C
so I know its not the GPU and the ram memory I have it with Iceberq copper heatsinks permanently glued with artic silver adhesive, I do OC the card but I change the speed to stock and I still see a lot of artifacts I dont see artifacts while loading windows or on the mobo boot logo, also my card will run good without artifacts for like 3 days playing HL2 then while playing game locks and crashes and thats when I get the Hw clock slow down but without the card being hot!right after I reboot the computer I have continue to have massive artifacts for 2 days and then gets resolve by it self, but this time the artifacts have stayed for 4 days now and they wont go away, is my card dead?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th September, 2006, 04:08 AM
Z1sTeM's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2006
Posts: 9
Send a message via MSN to Z1sTeM

alright I took out the card clean it now its working fine, I will not OC the card for a while lets see how it keeps up. but It was not overheating. so I dont know whats going on, can bad memory or mobo can cause artifacts?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2006, 04:37 PM
Z1sTeM's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2006
Posts: 9
Send a message via MSN to Z1sTeM

nope 2.5 hours or gaming and I get artifacts,
can a motherboard chip cause artifacts if they get too hot? mine runs at 42-45 C
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2006, 04:48 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

I would say either the card is damaged or part of the card is overheating, even if you have ramsinks on the card and a big heatsink on the core the PWM could be overheating or one of the ramsinks could have poor contact, also try re-seating the cooler on the core of your card and make sure it is clamped down nice and tight.

what speeds do you run at overclocked?
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th September, 2006, 08:02 PM
Z1sTeM's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2006
Posts: 9
Send a message via MSN to Z1sTeM

the GPU heatsink which is a VF900 is seated correctly the GPU temp is 42-58c, I have overclock the card for 6 months now at varius speeds the higher I OC was at 440/1.18 and got random locks on games then I switched to 430/1.15.
I noticed that one of the video ram heatsink is very very slighty not touching the whole ram chip I mean when I put the heatsink it slipt a notch to the side, but almost nothing, ill try to take a pic and posted also I cant move them anymore cause of the arctic silver adhesive is permanent. so is there any way that other thing will be causing the artifacts? like mobo temp or bad RAM memory?
__________________

Last edited by Z1sTeM; 14th September, 2006 at 12:53 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th September, 2006, 09:06 PM
Z1sTeM's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2006
Posts: 9
Send a message via MSN to Z1sTeM

Ok just for info, I fix this by turning my Wester Digital to zeros using the WD Tool to format my Raptor and reinstall windows xpee and the artifacts are gone, I can OC the card to 440/1.18 with no problems.
__________________

Last edited by Z1sTeM; 19th September, 2006 at 09:06 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th September, 2006, 09:14 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Glad this got sorted for you!
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th September, 2006, 05:37 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Just out of interest, are you getting the black/white line artifacts when you use antialiasing in CS:S?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows is running slow Daston OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 4th August, 2006 07:03 PM
BF 2 running SLOW at start??? JShaw99 GAMES! OH YEAH! 4 14th August, 2005 07:12 AM
16x running slow in DvD :ANNOING: BMan General Hardware Discussion 12 14th December, 2002 11:10 PM
I'm running the clock speed higher what next?? longun Hardware Hacking 8 13th June, 2002 11:02 PM
Slow Clock SteveI Intel Motherboards & CPUs 6 13th November, 2001 02:28 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0