AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th April, 2002, 12:26 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

GeForce4Ti4400 OC

Can people give me feedback on the speeds of their OC'z for their GeForce4Ti4400's? Thankx.
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th April, 2002, 07:43 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

i dunno if anybody here has the 4400.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th April, 2002, 09:05 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Oh... I hope some people do! What about GeForce4 cooling?
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th April, 2002, 02:01 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

You'd be a trailblazer. Tossing $300+ on a video card that will be $200 in a few months as the newness wears off is not my idea of "up"-grading... not to mention the GF3 features/dx8 that aren't even being used in the current set of games... etc

I happen to know from research that the Ti4600 is the only one with the 2.8ns bga memory, so overclocking will be more limited on the memory modules for the ti4400 and t14200, core should push about the same, say 325mhz assuming they didn't cripple the core by lowering the voltage it runs at through a bios modification between models (like ATI did with the 8500/LE/OEM).

**edit--core would be closer to 325mhz overclocked**
__________________

Last edited by Pinky; 9th April, 2002 at 04:33 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th April, 2002, 04:02 PM
Nate-X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Maryland..
Posts: 764
Send a message via ICQ to Nate-X Send a message via AIM to Nate-X

My ti4400 is waiting for me at the post office... can't wait to get my geforce2 ultra outtta there!

*edit* got it for $245 shipped.. so didn't do *too* bad
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th April, 2002, 04:08 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by Nate-X
*edit* got it for $245 shipped.. so didn't do *too* bad
That isn't too bad, I'm waiting for the Ti4200 and then waiting some more until it reaches the $150 range... hopefully in time for Unreal Tourney II in late June
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th April, 2002, 05:37 PM
Nate-X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Maryland..
Posts: 764
Send a message via ICQ to Nate-X Send a message via AIM to Nate-X

Just got it today.. grr didn't come with any game demos.. wtf is that all about lol
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 9th April, 2002, 09:37 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by Nate-X
Just got it today.. grr didn't come with any game demos.. wtf is that all about lol
OEM won't include them, but I'm sure nvidia's got some for download on their site...

Yup, found some demos on the nvidia site...
__________________

Last edited by Pinky; 9th April, 2002 at 10:00 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 9th April, 2002, 10:39 PM
Nate-X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Maryland..
Posts: 764
Send a message via ICQ to Nate-X Send a message via AIM to Nate-X

Dammit.. I went to put on the new heatsink and got thermal compound all over the processor Is there anyway to clean it up? Or will anything bad occur? Heheh.. It seems to be running ok =/ but I don't like the idea of having all that crap on it
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2002, 01:00 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

I just built a new PC, so I was going to get the best in hoping that it will last a while I am very please with the graphics. A 3dMark2001SE Pro score of 10175 isn't bad

I use rubbing alochol and cotton swabs to clean my proc off when I use too much compound. No problems yet
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2002, 01:34 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by SiGmA_X
I use rubbing alochol and cotton swabs to clean my proc off when I use too much compound. No problems yet
Yup, or nail polish remover
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2002, 02:01 PM
Nate-X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Maryland..
Posts: 764
Send a message via ICQ to Nate-X Send a message via AIM to Nate-X

I'm talking the ceramic part.. Alcohol did not want to get the AS 3 off . Someone mentioned using dish soap.. not the dishwasher stuff.. the standard.. =/ do I just rub that liquid soap on then take it off with alcohol?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2002, 11:54 PM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Thats what I would do. What do you mean by 'ceramic part'?
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2002, 12:13 AM
Nate-X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Maryland..
Posts: 764
Send a message via ICQ to Nate-X Send a message via AIM to Nate-X

'ceramic' was a term someone used with me I mean the part of the cpu that isn't the core.. the grey or green 'body' of the processor.. I tried isopropyl alcohol and it didn't help at all.. in fact it seemed to make matters worse =/
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2002, 12:16 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Oh. I just call the the 'processor'... I used rubbing alochol (97% ) on mine to clean it off when I put too much compound on it.
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2002, 12:28 AM
Nate-X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Maryland..
Posts: 764
Send a message via ICQ to Nate-X Send a message via AIM to Nate-X

I even used the alcohol that I use at work to clean circuit boards.. /sigh The AS3 looks like it's smeared on part of the processor.. and I'd use qtips and they didn't help at all.. I might try the dish soap like someone earlier suggested.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2002, 01:08 PM
Jazz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 1,105
Send a message via ICQ to Jazz Send a message via AIM to Jazz

Make sure you are using 90% or better alky. There is some crap out there that is like 70% and it doesnt touch as that well. I have a bottle of 91% here and it just wipes the as off.
__________________
AOA Team fah
"Remember there is a time to pray and there is a time to fight, anything can be a weapon if you are holding it right "
Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.
"Folding protiens and taking names"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2002, 04:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 16

Now i'm at 305/700 Mhz with a Gainward Ti4400. I remember you the default values: 280/580. I think the Asus 4400 can make more of this results, but i'm not sure. Someone have an Asus V8440 overclocked here?
__________________
www.ciesko.tk

OC-Enthusiast MoD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2002, 04:33 AM
Nate-X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Maryland..
Posts: 764
Send a message via ICQ to Nate-X Send a message via AIM to Nate-X

The stuff I'm using is like 91% isopropyl or something like that hehe.. I'll try it again once I get my new board..

I can get my PNY ti4400 to 310/600 easily.. and can get to 320/620 with some artifacts but no crashing Hopefully once I get some heatsinks on that bad boy I'll be able to get him higher.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2002, 05:42 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Im getting mine tommaorw - $285 with next day shipping for lan party- nice one too- leadtek-
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0