AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2009, 03:24 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Is my GTS250 dying?

Yesterday I started getting a few driver failier and recover notices and then I started getting a checkerboard type patern on screen that comes and goes. I've since changed from WIN 7 x64 to XP Pro x32 with new drivers (190.xx) and am getting the patern flashing on. I upgraded the drivers to 191.62 and have gotten the same patterns though less.
Is my vid card dying? It's not OC'd.
EDIT:
The GPU client has given an unstable machine notice and shut down. I think I'm in deep doo-doo!
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD



Last edited by PorPorMe; 30th October, 2009 at 03:29 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2009, 08:45 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Quote:
Originally Posted by PorPorMe View Post
Yesterday I started getting a few driver failier and recover notices and then I started getting a checkerboard type patern on screen that comes and goes. I've since changed from WIN 7 x64 to XP Pro x32 with new drivers (190.xx) and am getting the patern flashing on. I upgraded the drivers to 191.62 and have gotten the same patterns though less.
Is my vid card dying? It's not OC'd.
EDIT:
The GPU client has given an unstable machine notice and shut down. I think I'm in deep doo-doo!
Unlucky man. I guess u tried 2 hard to beat my dx11 score !!! If U have another pc see if it does the same in it and if it does send it back. As an advice; don.t ever use rivatuner unless it recognised the card I think it was me blowing the 9800 by using riva without reinstalling it and rebuilding the regentries for the 9800.
Opera/8.01 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/3.1.10423/1724; en; U; ssr)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2009, 03:05 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Yea Mike, this sounds like your vidcard is dieing....
The checkerboard stuff is artifacts which shouldn't be there...
That's one thing I can say about this ole EVGA 8800GTS, it just keeps on a goin...
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2009, 08:26 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

A hopefull sign-I've uninstalled the GPU client and things are doing OK. Just maybe I've got a corrupt programn. I'll get a new one today and cross my fingers!
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2009, 08:41 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

It may only show up when pushing the card. try running a bench and see if it returns.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2009, 11:29 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Confirmed a dying card. I installed new drivers (195.36) And tried to run the Heaven demo. Tha artifacts jumped right out. I hope I can find the invoice for the video card or that BFG is good about returns!
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2009, 07:16 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Rma?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2009, 09:48 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

We can hope! I can't afford a new card anymore, and the GTS250 died. I'm down to one rig now. i transfered the card out of my 2nd rig into #1.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2009, 12:00 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Have you tried use Rivatuner and UNDER clocking it? Might help save it for a while.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2009, 03:42 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

I used Precision and it underclocked itself before it died for good. R.I.P
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2009, 09:43 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Sorry to hear this, PPM. May the RMA gods favor you!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2009, 08:05 AM
candle_86's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2009
Posts: 53
Send a message via MSN to candle_86 Send a message via Yahoo to candle_86

wait before you write it off bake the card, im not kidding it works, google for the directions for tempature ect, it might just save your card
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2009, 10:03 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

Quote:
Originally Posted by candle_86 View Post
wait before you write it off bake the card, im not kidding it works, google for the directions for tempature ect, it might just save your card
Listen, I don't know you, and I don't want to sound like I'm on your case, but you have to be careful about advice like that - when you don't know who you're talking to.

The man's got a warranteed card, and he's trying to arrange to send it for replacement. Why in the name of Pete would you recommend such a thing? That fix is a OTT last resort thing for old cards that have died, and can't be returned, kind of like freezing hard drives [or taking them apart].

Good thing we know PorPor, and I know he wouldn't try that fix unless there was no other way out.

But the next guy you recommend it to might not be bright enough to know better...and void an otherwise good warrantee. Would you yourself do it if the card was under warrantee? At the very least, state that it is a last resort fix if all else fails.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 9th November, 2009 at 03:27 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2009, 04:38 PM
candle_86's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2009
Posts: 53
Send a message via MSN to candle_86 Send a message via Yahoo to candle_86

it wont void is warranty actully, Ive done this to an 8800GTS by BFG it didnt fix it, reapplied the back stickers and sent it back. BFG's lifetime warranty covers overclocking, heatsink changes ect, the only reason they wont accept an RMA is water damage
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2009, 05:02 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by candle_86 View Post
it wont void is warranty actully, Ive done this to an 8800GTS by BFG it didnt fix it, reapplied the back stickers and sent it back. BFG's lifetime warranty covers overclocking, heatsink changes ect, the only reason they wont accept an RMA is water damage
Ye, one time I sent one card back in two pieces, forgot it on the floor and accidentaly walked over while going to bathroom for a pee that night. And I wrote the message saying "no water damage sir, naha" ! And what do you know they replaced it ! JK <3 u guys. RMA time por por.
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia Geforce GTS250 1GB REVIEW chrisbard Random Nonsense! 61 30th December, 2009 08:20 AM
PSU dying? subseb AMD Motherboards & CPUs 22 13th March, 2005 05:09 AM
Dying 8rgmi SteveI EPoX MotherBoards 6 3rd November, 2004 01:10 AM
Is Something Dying?? RussianMissile1 CRASHED! 9 27th July, 2004 03:22 AM
Dying PC... nab572 General Hardware Discussion 6 20th January, 2003 08:40 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0