AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 01:40 AM
R0BB23's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 440
Send a message via ICQ to R0BB23 Send a message via AIM to R0BB23 Send a message via MSN to R0BB23 Send a message via Yahoo to R0BB23

s video to video

i have a voodoo3 3000

i need an s video cable that has s video on one end and the big ass prong thing on the other (normal video)

does that exist and what can i do here.

none of my tvs have that wierd lookin s video plugin.
__________________
"All bureaucracies are the same. They drain the life out of the truly creative people and develop mind-less paper-pushers as their critical mass."
-Rama II, Arthur C. Clarke

"Opinions are like kittens, I'm giving them away."
-Modest Mouse
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 02:17 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Try this link. Make sure you count the pins on your s-video adapter before you buy anything:

http://all.search.shopping.yahoo.com...&rkeys=&clink=
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 02:18 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

BTW, it's called an RCA composite plug. You normally see it in groups of three but only one is used for video, the other two are for the stereo sound.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 02:25 AM
R0BB23's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 440
Send a message via ICQ to R0BB23 Send a message via AIM to R0BB23 Send a message via MSN to R0BB23 Send a message via Yahoo to R0BB23

thanks superman,

superman comes to the rescue agian.

i already know the other thing but hey its a nice thing to make sure i dont screw up.

and hey i owe you.

anything you need.
__________________
"All bureaucracies are the same. They drain the life out of the truly creative people and develop mind-less paper-pushers as their critical mass."
-Rama II, Arthur C. Clarke

"Opinions are like kittens, I'm giving them away."
-Modest Mouse

Last edited by Daniel ~; 14th October, 2001 at 04:26 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 04:18 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Rob, thanks for offering, but all that's really necessary is a big "Thank you", which you already gave. Although I do wish I had Visual Studio
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 04:27 AM
R0BB23's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 440
Send a message via ICQ to R0BB23 Send a message via AIM to R0BB23 Send a message via MSN to R0BB23 Send a message via Yahoo to R0BB23

*in a mobsters boss voice*

consider it done.

boys get on it

*in a squicky voice*

right boss


now for my second question i have to stretch it "35FT" now will i get signal lose at that distants
__________________
"All bureaucracies are the same. They drain the life out of the truly creative people and develop mind-less paper-pushers as their critical mass."
-Rama II, Arthur C. Clarke

"Opinions are like kittens, I'm giving them away."
-Modest Mouse
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 05:43 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

hmm..svideo is sheilded..I dunno......It's probably good to 15yds or so..I honesty haven't had to deal with that long a lenghts though...
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 09:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: RSA
Posts: 227
Send a message via ICQ to proze

if you think about it, normal tv is shielded coax cable, and that can for aaaaaaaaaaaaages, so you should be okay.

as for the adapter, a lot of cards have an s-video to rca adapter in the box with 'em... unfortunately mine didn't, so i also looked for one of these adapters.. like bl00dy hens' teeth!!! i hope you have better luck!
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@1540 (140*11), Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 256 Samsung PC2700 at 173Mhz, MTS Glaciator, Powercolor Radeon 8500 275/275, Delta 300W PSU.

Duron 600@1102 (105*10.5), Asus A7V, 256MB generic RAM at 140mhz 2-2-2, MTS Glaciator II, Creative GF Pro, Awesome no-name 300W PSU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 01:54 PM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

I know RCA cables can stretch a very long way, and since RCA is essentially the same thing as s-video (bare wires with different connectors on the ends), you shouldn't have a problem.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 04:32 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by Superman53142
I know RCA cables can stretch a very long way, and since RCA is essentially the same thing as s-video (bare wires with different connectors on the ends), you shouldn't have a problem.
Be nice if Composite was the same thing as S-Video, but it's not. S-Video needs 2 pairs of coax, where as composite only needs one. Depending on your cable, composite may not go that far.

An S-Video socket has exactly 4 pins. If the S-Video socket on the graphics card has more (like 6 pins), the card may already generate a composite signal on the extra pins. Some graphics cards can also generate a composite signal on two of the pins under software control.

Otherwise, it is possible to make an S-Video to composite adaptor using a capacitor to push the chromiance signal onto the luminance signal - not the right way of doing it, but it works in 90% of cases.


I'm waiting for a video card with a SCART socket on the back... (;


AidanII
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 05:16 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I've seen degradation of the signal at lengths above 20ft. It really depends on the signal being transmitted, some components pump a strong signal into the line, others don't. You really won't know until you try. I don't foresee any issues though, as the signal type is low impedance and transmits easily through nearly any gauge wire.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 05:17 PM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Quote:
Originally posted by AidanII


Be nice if Composite was the same thing as S-Video, but it's not. S-Video needs 2 pairs of coax, where as composite only needs one. Depending on your cable, composite may not go that far.

An S-Video socket has exactly 4 pins. If the S-Video socket on the graphics card has more (like 6 pins), the card may already generate a composite signal on the extra pins. Some graphics cards can also generate a composite signal on two of the pins under software control.

Otherwise, it is possible to make an S-Video to composite adaptor using a capacitor to push the chromiance signal onto the luminance signal - not the right way of doing it, but it works in 90% of cases.


I'm waiting for a video card with a SCART socket on the back... (;


AidanII
What he said
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 05:24 PM
R0BB23's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 440
Send a message via ICQ to R0BB23 Send a message via AIM to R0BB23 Send a message via MSN to R0BB23 Send a message via Yahoo to R0BB23

Quote:
Originally posted by AidanII


Be nice if Composite was the same thing as S-Video, but it's not. S-Video needs 2 pairs of coax, where as composite only needs one. Depending on your cable, composite may not go that far.

An S-Video socket has exactly 4 pins. If the S-Video socket on the graphics card has more (like 6 pins), the card may already generate a composite signal on the extra pins. Some graphics cards can also generate a composite signal on two of the pins under software control.

Otherwise, it is possible to make an S-Video to composite adaptor using a capacitor to push the chromiance signal onto the luminance signal - not the right way of doing it, but it works in 90% of cases.


I'm waiting for a video card with a SCART socket on the back... (;


AidanII
habla inglas
__________________
"All bureaucracies are the same. They drain the life out of the truly creative people and develop mind-less paper-pushers as their critical mass."
-Rama II, Arthur C. Clarke

"Opinions are like kittens, I'm giving them away."
-Modest Mouse
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 07:17 PM
R0BB23's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 440
Send a message via ICQ to R0BB23 Send a message via AIM to R0BB23 Send a message via MSN to R0BB23 Send a message via Yahoo to R0BB23

k my voodoo3 3000 has 4 of those prong holes and that big rectangle one thats always there on s video.
__________________
"All bureaucracies are the same. They drain the life out of the truly creative people and develop mind-less paper-pushers as their critical mass."
-Rama II, Arthur C. Clarke

"Opinions are like kittens, I'm giving them away."
-Modest Mouse
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 10:48 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

hmmm I have one here that you can have, but the "card" end has 9 pins and is a splitter to S-vid and composite, I guess it only works on the radeons OH WELL :P
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2001, 04:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to SEiZe Send a message via Yahoo to SEiZe

Re: s video to video

Quote:
Originally posted by R0BB23
i have a voodoo3 3000

i need an s video cable that has s video on one end and the big ass prong thing on the other (normal video)

does that exist and what can i do here.

none of my tvs have that wierd lookin s video plugin.
Are you requiring one of the stock cables that came with the video card? I think that I might have one laying around the house some where. I have a Voodoo3 3000 and i don't use the cable since i use my laptop for output to my tv via a 30ft S-Video cable.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2001, 05:46 AM
R0BB23's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 440
Send a message via ICQ to R0BB23 Send a message via AIM to R0BB23 Send a message via MSN to R0BB23 Send a message via Yahoo to R0BB23

Re: Re: s video to video

Quote:
Originally posted by SEiZe

Are you requiring one of the stock cables that came with the video card? I think that I might have one laying around the house some where. I have a Voodoo3 3000 and i don't use the cable since i use my laptop for output to my tv via a 30ft S-Video cable.
well i already got the s video hocked up.

but i do need stuff get the sound hocked up also.

whats a stock cable?
__________________
"All bureaucracies are the same. They drain the life out of the truly creative people and develop mind-less paper-pushers as their critical mass."
-Rama II, Arthur C. Clarke

"Opinions are like kittens, I'm giving them away."
-Modest Mouse
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2001, 06:12 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

a stock cable is the cable that came with the manufacturer of the product you bought.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheap video card with Video Out raphael2040 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 14 17th December, 2006 10:42 PM
no video MightyMar22 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 23 13th August, 2005 06:57 PM
New BF2 video out Skiracing108 GAMES! OH YEAH! 12 5th June, 2005 04:42 AM
RGB video out ClubBarf General Hardware Discussion 7 14th October, 2004 12:30 AM
no video .MexiDan. CRASHED! 4 2nd August, 2002 04:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0