AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2002, 08:02 PM
drow_elf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 721
Send a message via ICQ to drow_elf Send a message via AIM to drow_elf

AGP bus speed

i just upped my FSB to 124Mhz and found that my AGP bus wont take 124Mhz (ive tried returning the vid card to stock (from 250/550) but it only helps a bit) but if i use a 2/3 multiplier for the AGP clock it drastically reduces my 3dmark score even when the card is OCed (lower than when running the AGP + FSB at 112 and OCed!!)

mobo is bh-6
video is geforce3 ti200
3dmarks for 112mhz are ~6000
3dmarks for 124FSB and 83AGP are ~4400

the only other thing that might cause freezes would be the card pulling too much power- but i'm not sure how much more power would be pulled at 124mhz
__________________
"Pointillists shouldn't use Scantrons" -me
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2002, 08:48 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Standard AGP speed is 66MHz dude... 83MHz isn't that bad, although a lot of video cards can handle speeds above that.

read here
http://www.tomshardware.com/mainboard/00q1/000214/

and here
http://whatis.techtarget.com/definit...213768,00.html

Why are you sure the problem is video card related?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2002, 08:50 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Another thing I had to do is kill 4x. doesn't make a hill of beans diff anyway...At 121 mine goes back to 66 I think. I get better scores at 120 than I do at 121 and up till it don't boot no more..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2002, 10:12 PM
drow_elf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 721
Send a message via ICQ to drow_elf Send a message via AIM to drow_elf

mainboard only goes 2x so its already fine but having a score of 4400 is quite crappy esp considering its an overclocked machine...
__________________
"Pointillists shouldn't use Scantrons" -me
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HTT Speed? Mr. K6 EPoX MotherBoards 7 10th October, 2004 10:58 PM
Ram Speed Help please.... CoolChris Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 27th July, 2004 07:22 PM
GPU Memory speed vs GPU core speed Hoppster Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 10th July, 2004 05:00 AM
New core speed relative to old core speed mookydooky ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 17 18th May, 2002 04:14 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0