AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2001, 05:59 AM
AmbientFiction's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 311

MX400 improvements (Ongoing)

This thread will be updated by me from time to time to let people know what will really up their system and what is too much effort to even bother with.
This is an on going thing that I am doing with my Visiontek GeForce 2 MX400 64meg.
My first attempt at Mad Onjin 2000 using this setup:
DX8.1 beta
default drivers
Celeron 633 @750
passive heatsink (Not modded yet)
384megs of ram
using the 1024*768 setup as most gamers do.
I got a score of 3500 which was sad. So then I heard about flashing the bios on the card. Flashed the bios to a different ver of the card with the same TV/out decoder.

Ran MO 2000 again same setup but there was a change.
This time the score read: 3926

Once again running MO 2000 this time the change was the Det4 21.83 drivers for 9x.
Same setup and the score read: 3978
not much of a change but still some.

In the next few days the plans go as followed:
Remover passive heastink , lap it and reapply with AS2 and a 23cfm 60mm fan.

I am also getting an Aska sliver mtn heatsink so we will look at the OC and how much it hikes up the scores.

Not much longer after that I will be adding ram sinks and then we will look at OCing the Core and Memory.


I hope Daniel ~ doesn't mind me doing this on going report on the modding of my Vid card and how well each tweak does.
__________________

AMD XP 1700+ @ 1639mhz (Bad vid card can't hold high FSB)
Epox 8hka+
Aska Silver Mtn 40ºC full load folding 24/7
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
GF2MX400 w/ updated bios modded with 23cfm fan and AS2 under the heatsink on the GPU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2001, 06:11 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Of such stuff as forums are made of!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2001, 05:18 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Good luck. Modding is fun, but the problems you might be having may be system related, so don't put all your eggs into this one basket .
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2001, 06:01 PM
AmbientFiction's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 311

I am going to do my entire system pinky but I just want to kinda make a FAQ so to speak for others that are looking to get better preformance ratings out of their cards and the system will come in a few days. When I am all done Daniel will find a full copy of everything with pictures of every step.
__________________

AMD XP 1700+ @ 1639mhz (Bad vid card can't hold high FSB)
Epox 8hka+
Aska Silver Mtn 40ºC full load folding 24/7
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
GF2MX400 w/ updated bios modded with 23cfm fan and AS2 under the heatsink on the GPU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2001, 06:45 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Nice start for our AOA Overclocking FAQ!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2001, 03:53 PM
AmbientFiction's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 311

Exclamation UPDATE

After I got my Heatsink, Shim, and AS2 yesterday I went to work.

After seating the monster heatsink known as the Asks Silver Mtn (I call it a monster because the thing weighs 1.2lb)

**Note** The following could ruin your card please refer to Dimreapers sig at this point which reads as follows:
Notice: AOA Forums is not liable for injuries, deaths, or any loses,
resulting from following my instruction or advice! I am not liable
for injuries, deaths, or any loses, resulting from following my
instruction or advice! By following my instructions or advices you
agree to these terms.
This also goes for lose of equipment.

I stuck my card in the freeze with a bottle of 151 that had been in there for a good week. That way it had to spend less time trying to get the epoxy to come off. After about 10 mins it was cold enough to pop off the heatsink so then I went to work. Once all the epoxy had been scraped I Dabbed on AS2 onto the GPU and then put some crazy glue around the edges of the GPU. Then I pressed the heasink back into place. I had a spare fan from a Volcano 3 heatsink so I superglued it to the heatsink and viola. I had a 23cfm fan hooked to my GPU.

At that point I put everything back together and OCed my system to what you see in the sig and also Oc my graphics card Default on the card was. 200mhz core and 165mem. The core is now at 205mhz and the Memory is at 180mhz. After I had done this I ran mad onjin 2000 and scored a 4397 so I know I'm doing something right.
__________________

AMD XP 1700+ @ 1639mhz (Bad vid card can't hold high FSB)
Epox 8hka+
Aska Silver Mtn 40ºC full load folding 24/7
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
GF2MX400 w/ updated bios modded with 23cfm fan and AS2 under the heatsink on the GPU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2001, 12:59 AM
Da Whip's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 57

Nice job. Not a bad MO 2K score either.
What Det's are you using? I got 5675 w/ my MX400 using the 12.8's.
Then again, I am using an 1.47 T-Bird.
__________________
New build in the works
DFI nF4 SLI-DR
3400+ Winnie
BFG 6800GT (one for now)
2x74Gb Raptors Raid 0
Hitachi 160gb back up
Patriot PC3200XBLK 2x512
XP 90 w/ Panflo
Sony 16X Dual Layer DVDRW
Samsung DVD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2001, 03:42 AM
AmbientFiction's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 311

I am running the 21.81s for 9x if anyone knows of better driver tell me and I'll see what I can do. I know this card has more in it I just need ram sinks first.
__________________

AMD XP 1700+ @ 1639mhz (Bad vid card can't hold high FSB)
Epox 8hka+
Aska Silver Mtn 40ºC full load folding 24/7
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
GF2MX400 w/ updated bios modded with 23cfm fan and AS2 under the heatsink on the GPU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2001, 03:10 PM
Da Whip's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 57

I found the 12.9's better than the Det XP drivers.
MO 2K - 5346 w/ Det XP
MO 2K - 5675 w/ Det 12.9

I ran Defrag to set things right and Rambooster to clear RAM, before running MO 2K.
__________________
New build in the works
DFI nF4 SLI-DR
3400+ Winnie
BFG 6800GT (one for now)
2x74Gb Raptors Raid 0
Hitachi 160gb back up
Patriot PC3200XBLK 2x512
XP 90 w/ Panflo
Sony 16X Dual Layer DVDRW
Samsung DVD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2001, 03:49 PM
AmbientFiction's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 311

Rock I'll do a switch then. Have you seen the detonator-destroyer? When you run it it takes all of the files out that uninstall dosen't
__________________

AMD XP 1700+ @ 1639mhz (Bad vid card can't hold high FSB)
Epox 8hka+
Aska Silver Mtn 40ºC full load folding 24/7
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
GF2MX400 w/ updated bios modded with 23cfm fan and AS2 under the heatsink on the GPU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2001, 10:34 PM
Da Whip's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 57

Det. Destroyer is a great program. I use everytime I update the drivers. Hope the 12.9's help your score.
__________________
New build in the works
DFI nF4 SLI-DR
3400+ Winnie
BFG 6800GT (one for now)
2x74Gb Raptors Raid 0
Hitachi 160gb back up
Patriot PC3200XBLK 2x512
XP 90 w/ Panflo
Sony 16X Dual Layer DVDRW
Samsung DVD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2001, 01:50 AM
AmbientFiction's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 311

Quote:
Originally posted by Da Whip
Det. Destroyer is a great program. I use everytime I update the drivers. Hope the 12.9's help your score.
Wow I just installed the 12.9's and I jumped my frame rate up a good 7 to 9 frames a sec. time to run 3d mark.

**Edit**

Just ran 3d mark 2000 and I got a score of 4415 but I found a few artifacts on the last test which is the Bump mapping (Emboss -1 pass).

The core is at 210 and the memory is at 193.
Anyone know of anything that could speed this card up some? Maybe dropping the core and upping the ram? Its sdram so I don't know how much higher I can take it.
__________________

AMD XP 1700+ @ 1639mhz (Bad vid card can't hold high FSB)
Epox 8hka+
Aska Silver Mtn 40ºC full load folding 24/7
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
GF2MX400 w/ updated bios modded with 23cfm fan and AS2 under the heatsink on the GPU

Last edited by AmbientFiction; 30th October, 2001 at 02:02 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2001, 03:52 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by AmbientFiction


Wow I just installed the 12.9's and I jumped my frame rate up a good 7 to 9 frames a sec. time to run 3d mark.

**Edit**

Just ran 3d mark 2000 and I got a score of 4415 but I found a few artifacts on the last test which is the Bump mapping (Emboss -1 pass).

The core is at 210 and the memory is at 193.
Anyone know of anything that could speed this card up some? Maybe dropping the core and upping the ram? Its sdram so I don't know how much higher I can take it.
You'll have to back down the overclock a bit first, attack the core speed first. The memory is where you're getting the real benefit overclocking your card.

Besides ensuring there's plenty of cooling across the card (like a PCI slot cooler or like I have, the intake fan in front blowing across it enough), you're going to reach your cap rather quickly with the MX400.

Good cards, but not great (the Ultra, that's a great card).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 04:44 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Graphics cards often have a voltage regulator for the GPU, locate it and look up the specs. More than likely there is a voltage feedback pin that when grounded out through a resistor will give the GPU additional voltage, and as a result a higher GPU core speed . . . . . I gotta get this done on my Gainward GF2MX . . . .

Edit: After taking a quick look at my Gainward card, it appears I was mistaken. The voltage regulator is of a three terminal preset variaty(not sure if it's switching or linear though). This means you would probably have to supply voltage to the ground terminal, probably through a resistor, to trick the internal error amplifier out. I'll have a look at the specs for the part that's on my Gainward card to see if I can figure it out.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dimmreaper; 9th November, 2001 at 04:59 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 05:05 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Found the spec sheet for my Gainwards voltage regulator. The regulator is an AME1084(typically the first line on the part identifies the manufacturer and model number). Here is the spec sheet for anyone else using a card with this part:

http://ame.ame.com.tw/Datasheet/ame1084.pdf

Edit: After a quick look through the spec sheet, it appears that the ACDT(second line on the part) means this is an adjustable version of the part, good news indeed. This means the card has a resistor on it that I can replace with one with lower impedance to up the voltage.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dimmreaper; 9th November, 2001 at 05:11 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 12:21 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I checked the Fairchild datasheet out, and it recommends using a bypass capacitor on the adjust pin to lower ripple and improve transient response.

http://www.hawks.dircon.co.uk/aoa/VReg1084.jpg

Looking at the circuitry around the regulator on my board, you can clearly see the adjustment resistors at R14/R13. R14 is marked on the datasheets as R1, and R13 is the resistor connecting it to ground. Note the lack of C29, which would be the bypass capacitor.

In my instance, I'd need to alter R13 to allow me to bring the voltage up. I'd like to put one of those Dallas/Maxim digitally controllable potentiometers on there, so I can use I2C to adjust the voltage on the fly. Given the circuitry on the board will provide the minimum load (10mA), and the Dallas part can easily handle the 35/50microA that the bandgap reference provides, it should be fairly easy to replace R13 with a resistor and the Dallas part as a trimmer, and R14 with a higher value (~5K?). Wire the Dallas part to the SMBus, and then it should be easy to set!

Well, that's the theory at least!


AidanII

Any idea why it doesn't like the IMG tag?
__________________

Last edited by Áedán; 9th November, 2001 at 12:24 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 12:29 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by AidanII
Any idea why it doesn't like the IMG tag?
Apparently Spode or Daniel~ do not have it enabled in the topic, I've also noticed the same thing in the EPoX topic. Dan is currently under the weather, but I promise I'll bug him about it when he is back a full capacity.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 12:31 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by AidanII
Note the lack of C29, which would be the bypass capacitor.
My Gainward card appears to have a bypass capacitor, lucky me I guess . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 07:14 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I know what you guys are saying, unfortunately I have some electronics experience/training from years back, but for some reason when I talk technical it sounds cool, but when I read other techies posts it sounds like geek speak .

Still will have to address the cooling issue if you're upping voltages and clock speeds, which is a real issue with these GF2 cards.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2001, 07:36 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky
but when I read other techies posts it sounds like geek speak
One problem, Jeff ain't no techie. He is a "Performance Automotive Engineer", in other words I design/build race car components for a living . . . . I'm a mechanically minded indevidual, some of that just happens to bleed over in to electronics . . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gf2 mx400 (agp) or gf4 mx440 pci piccoLEW Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 16th March, 2004 12:44 PM
Epox 8RDA+ & ongoing USB issue bealeuk EPoX MotherBoards 5 8th December, 2003 10:10 AM
AOA FORUMS LOGO and a myriad of improvements!! Daniel ~ Random Nonsense! 2 28th January, 2002 04:48 PM
Kyro II vs MX400 proze Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 25 10th October, 2001 09:38 PM
GeForce2 MX400 AmbientFiction Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 35 30th September, 2001 10:45 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0