AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2002, 06:47 PM
fireball_87's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 596
Send a message via AIM to fireball_87

Question rigging up 3 monitors with out a parhelia?

After I read the article in maximum pc on the upcoming matrox parhelia, I had an idea(for once lol). i was wondering if i could use 2 64mb geforce2mx-based pci cards alongside my 128mb radeon 8500le to create the same effect as the parhelia’s “surround gameing” feature. nebody got ne idea if this wold work? if so, nebody know if the cards would b compatible?
__________________
duel athlon xp 1700+'s
msi k7d mobo
ati radion 8500 all in wonder 128mb
512mb crucial pc 2100 ddr
sound blaster audigy
120gb 7200 rpm WD hard drive
40x12x40 cd burner
16x dvd
450wpsu
alienware style green case (:

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2002, 06:49 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

I saw a guy running 3pci and 1 AGP card in a flight sim once on 4 seperate monitors, so I know its possible
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2002, 06:53 PM
fireball_87's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 596
Send a message via AIM to fireball_87

oooooooo(starts looking at prices for gf2mx cards) lol
__________________
duel athlon xp 1700+'s
msi k7d mobo
ati radion 8500 all in wonder 128mb
512mb crucial pc 2100 ddr
sound blaster audigy
120gb 7200 rpm WD hard drive
40x12x40 cd burner
16x dvd
450wpsu
alienware style green case (:

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2002, 06:56 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

My new GF4 had dual head display along with tv out........ 2 monitors.... 1 tv :-D
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2002, 06:58 PM
fireball_87's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 596
Send a message via AIM to fireball_87

yah, im just kinda woried about whether the cards will work with eatcher heh. ive played around with old s3 cards in this config and it "didnt support" multi monitor or some crap like that......
__________________
duel athlon xp 1700+'s
msi k7d mobo
ati radion 8500 all in wonder 128mb
512mb crucial pc 2100 ddr
sound blaster audigy
120gb 7200 rpm WD hard drive
40x12x40 cd burner
16x dvd
450wpsu
alienware style green case (:

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2002, 07:38 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

prolly the only issue would be getting "N-view" to work with "hydravision" If I remember right the guy was running 3 "rage128/pci"s with a "Radeon 7500-DVI/AGP. "
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2002, 11:13 PM
fireball_87's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 596
Send a message via AIM to fireball_87

i tested it with an old s3 thing, and it seems to work, at least the split desktop does, although i couldent get it to boot with 3 cards.........
http://www.daocplace.com/fireball/2desk.JPG
__________________
duel athlon xp 1700+'s
msi k7d mobo
ati radion 8500 all in wonder 128mb
512mb crucial pc 2100 ddr
sound blaster audigy
120gb 7200 rpm WD hard drive
40x12x40 cd burner
16x dvd
450wpsu
alienware style green case (:

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2002, 11:37 PM
majestic's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: England kent
Posts: 152
Send a message via Yahoo to majestic

With win 98se i had 3 moniters with xp only my 8mg pci and a ge force 2 32meg work all other pci card would not work thought each would work with the geforce so i think xp may have some problems but if u could try i would be v intrested in seeing what u end up with

Majestic
__________________


:.majestic.:
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2002, 06:19 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I guess anything's possible

But that doesn't make it practical
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2002, 07:19 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

I'm content to wait for the holodeck to come on the scene
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2002, 09:48 PM
Bender's Avatar
New Member/OES
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 119
Send a message via AIM to Bender

I have a friend with 5 monitors on 1 rig. He is using a velocity for the main display and 2 dual head PCI Geforce2 MXs for the other 4. It works great but I'm not sure how it would do in gaming. I think Windows 2000 and XP can support up to 11 monitors so your not even pushing the limits of the os.
__________________
XP @ 1805 MHz YATTA Stepping 2.13v........P4 Northwood 2000@2900 MHz 1.8v
Maze2, DD cube, Maxi-Jet 1200 pump..........Maze2 DD Cube
Epox 8K7A 256 MB Mushkin DDR 222 Timing...Asus P4S333M 256 MB Mushkin


The Project ProjectSimon.com And BizOng.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitors Favu General Hardware Discussion 33 18th July, 2007 03:54 AM
TFT Monitors Chaz Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 6th July, 2006 08:27 PM
LCD/CRT Monitors where to buy in WA? Chesso General Hardware Discussion 4 24th February, 2005 12:14 PM
Matrox Parhelia-512 Southern Man General Hardware Discussion 7 30th May, 2002 09:28 PM
Matrox G1000 (AKA Parhelia) info: dimmreaper Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 9th May, 2002 03:41 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0