AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2002, 07:18 PM
e_storm's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 245
Send a message via ICQ to e_storm

Thumbs down horrible mic input on Game Theatre XP...

I got a Game Theatre XP a while ago and its a great card sound wise, but I often talk on a program called Roger Wilco when I'm gaming online and ever since I switched from my SB Live! to the Game Theatre XP, no one can understand me on Roger Wilco. I've messed with every setting I can think of, but it just seems like the Mic input for this card is really, really bad.

I will update to the most recent drivers tonight to see if it helps, but I don't think it will, as my current drivers aren't that old. Anyone experience this too, or do I just have it set up wrong?

thx in advance.
__________________
1) Tyan Tiger MPX/2x 2800+ XPs/1Gig DDR 2100
2) AMD XP 2800+/Abit NF7/1 Gig 2100 DDR (water cooled)
2) MSI 694D Pro2/ dually PIII 733s/1 Gig PC 133
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2002, 08:02 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Sounds bad like how? Can they NOT hear you? Do you sound garbled?!?! what?

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2002, 08:08 PM
e_storm's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 245
Send a message via ICQ to e_storm

most of the time, I can be heard, but its extremely garbled, background noise is quite bad so they say. Its so garbled that they can't understand.
__________________
1) Tyan Tiger MPX/2x 2800+ XPs/1Gig DDR 2100
2) AMD XP 2800+/Abit NF7/1 Gig 2100 DDR (water cooled)
2) MSI 694D Pro2/ dually PIII 733s/1 Gig PC 133
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2002, 08:16 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Well it is the summer, do you have a fan pointed at your face or running anywere around you? Also, how loud is the mic turned up? is the mic boost on? Are you using a headset? Are you SURE your using the MIC input?!?!?

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2002, 08:49 PM
e_storm's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 245
Send a message via ICQ to e_storm

Quote:
Originally posted by robbie
Well it is the summer, do you have a fan pointed at your face or running anywere around you?
I have fans near me but they aren't blowing on the mic at all. Besides, this was still a problem even when I don't have the fans on.

Quote:
Also, how loud is the mic turned up?
There are a number of mic volume controls to play with. 1) manual knob on the "breakout box". 2) software mic volume slider bar for game theatre xp. 3) windows software mic volume.

I have tried all different combinations with this and either: 1) no one can hear me cause of low volume or 2) I am garbled (which I think is because its too high of volume.). I have found no "sweet spot" where I can be heard clearly and can still be heard... hence the post in question.

Volume levels are currently:
manual dial on breakout box = on full blast
software slider for game theatre xp = ~3/4 of the way up
windows slider = ~3/4 - 4/5 of the way up.

Quote:
is the mic boost on?
Yes, it has to be or I can't be heard

Quote:
Are you using a headset?
no

Quote:
Are you SURE your using the MIC input?!?!?
On the souncard itself, yes. Its tough to miss. On the windows slider bars, I've checked the mic input box and line input 1 and played with the volume sliders. Both with same results.
__________________
1) Tyan Tiger MPX/2x 2800+ XPs/1Gig DDR 2100
2) AMD XP 2800+/Abit NF7/1 Gig 2100 DDR (water cooled)
2) MSI 694D Pro2/ dually PIII 733s/1 Gig PC 133
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2002, 09:09 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Well turn DOWN the knob volume to about half. As a matter of fact set them ALL to about half. I think the MAIN prob is cuz the knob one is cranked soo high. You know the rule SISO, crap in Crap out.

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2002, 09:30 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I will say that I had a horribly "noisy" mic in on my SB Live card, upgraded to the turtle beach santa cruz and it's 100% clean. To cause what you're experiencing, I'm thinking robbie's on to something as the input might not be the greatest, but it's very unlikely that it would distort things to that extent.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2002, 12:50 AM
e_storm's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 245
Send a message via ICQ to e_storm

Yea, I thought so too, but like I said. I've tried turning down most of them and then I can't be heard at all. grrrr lol
__________________
1) Tyan Tiger MPX/2x 2800+ XPs/1Gig DDR 2100
2) AMD XP 2800+/Abit NF7/1 Gig 2100 DDR (water cooled)
2) MSI 694D Pro2/ dually PIII 733s/1 Gig PC 133
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2002, 02:20 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Probably cuz your playing with MOST OF THEM!! only use ONE of them. I'd say the window's slider for the mic.

Set all others to half.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2002, 11:06 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Just a hint here.. Try recording the input using a program like Sound Recorder, or the Netmeeting audio wizard, and see how it sounds. That way, you should be able to tell if the problem is due to a poor input, a poor driver, or something else.

If you can record cleanly with Sound Recorder or Netmeeting audio wizard (probably the better one to use), then the issue isn't with the sound card.

Also, check your gain structure (technical term there! ). You shouldn't have one fully open, and then close it down with the next. They should all be around the same setting - this also helps to reduce noise from preamps and other electronics. Yeah, this is a balancing act, and isn't always so easy.

Just a quick question - there's no way that you're accidently recording something other than just the microphone?

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2002, 01:39 PM
e_storm's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 245
Send a message via ICQ to e_storm

Quote:
Originally posted by robbie
Probably cuz your playing with MOST OF THEM!! only use ONE of them. I'd say the window's slider for the mic.

Set all others to half.
Rob
tried that
__________________
1) Tyan Tiger MPX/2x 2800+ XPs/1Gig DDR 2100
2) AMD XP 2800+/Abit NF7/1 Gig 2100 DDR (water cooled)
2) MSI 694D Pro2/ dually PIII 733s/1 Gig PC 133
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2002, 01:41 PM
e_storm's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 245
Send a message via ICQ to e_storm

Quote:
Originally posted by AidanII
Just a hint here.. Try recording the input using a program like Sound Recorder, or the Netmeeting audio wizard, and see how it sounds. That way, you should be able to tell if the problem is due to a poor input, a poor driver, or something else.

If you can record cleanly with Sound Recorder or Netmeeting audio wizard (probably the better one to use), then the issue isn't with the sound card.

Also, check your gain structure (technical term there! ). You shouldn't have one fully open, and then close it down with the next. They should all be around the same setting - this also helps to reduce noise from preamps and other electronics. Yeah, this is a balancing act, and isn't always so easy.

Just a quick question - there's no way that you're accidently recording something other than just the microphone?

AidanII
Ok, I'll give it a shot. Roger Wilco has a "test mic" button that I use to see how I sound to others. I knew another guy with the same sound card, and he always sounded terrible on RW, so I figured its either the card, drivers, or we both just didn't set it up right.

I'm pretty sure I'm recording just the mic, but I'll check again.

thx
__________________
1) Tyan Tiger MPX/2x 2800+ XPs/1Gig DDR 2100
2) AMD XP 2800+/Abit NF7/1 Gig 2100 DDR (water cooled)
2) MSI 694D Pro2/ dually PIII 733s/1 Gig PC 133
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2002, 01:49 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by e_storm
Ok, I'll give it a shot. Roger Wilco has a "test mic" button that I use to see how I sound to others
One of the reasons I was suggesting using a different program, was in case there's something in Roger Wilco that doesn't like your current set up. By using a different program, we remove Roger Wilco from the equation, leaving just Windows, drivers and hardware...

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2002, 01:51 PM
e_storm's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 245
Send a message via ICQ to e_storm

ahh gocha
__________________
1) Tyan Tiger MPX/2x 2800+ XPs/1Gig DDR 2100
2) AMD XP 2800+/Abit NF7/1 Gig 2100 DDR (water cooled)
2) MSI 694D Pro2/ dually PIII 733s/1 Gig PC 133
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2002, 03:40 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

That's a good suggestion Aidan, if I remember correctly, our clan was using roger wilco and it was buggy as hell, I ended up not using it because after a few minutes it stopped broadcasting me though I could hear everyone else.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oh God Its Horrible! y2butonz Case Modifications 35 8th September, 2005 02:44 AM
Home Theatre PC anyone? Lazgoat General Hardware Discussion 1 3rd December, 2003 08:17 PM
Help, this is horrible thehandler CRASHED! 8 7th October, 2003 07:05 AM
Barton 2500+ Horrible OC?? Mr Bond AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 7th June, 2003 12:08 PM
replacement parts for Game Theatre XP? e_storm Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 2nd April, 2002 10:30 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0