AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th September, 2002, 10:32 PM
BeaverTooth's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Regina, Canada
Posts: 4

Arrow Nvidia GF4 GPU Stepping

I am going to be buying a MSI GF4 Ti4200-TD 64MB video card. I have seen that these cards are supposed to come with a GPU that uses the newer A3 stepping which is supposed to be better at overclocking. Does anyone one have any experience with this video card or a Nvidia GPU with A3 stepping in general in relation to overclocking? I am looking at running it at 300MHz core/550MHz memory.

Thanks in advance.
__________________
Slow and steady may be safe but upping the voltage wins the race.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2002, 01:09 PM
Grentarc's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 19
Send a message via ICQ to Grentarc

I have a Leadtek GF4 Ti4200 (dunno what stepping) and I have the clocks at 310MHz core/570MHz mem, from the standard 250MHz/500MHz
__________________
U dont wanna see my specs (might embarrass ya!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2002, 01:55 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Re: Nvidia GF4 GPU Stepping

Quote:
Originally posted by BeaverTooth
I am going to be buying a MSI GF4 Ti4200-TD 64MB video card. I have seen that these cards are supposed to come with a GPU that uses the newer A3 stepping which is supposed to be better at overclocking. Does anyone one have any experience with this video card or a Nvidia GPU with A3 stepping in general in relation to overclocking? I am looking at running it at 300MHz core/550MHz memory.

Thanks in advance.
I have an A2

barely does 300mhz (it's the real max, any higher it locks).

The A3s will defnitely make 300 mhz, probably higher (all the ones I've seen do), but that is independent of your memory overclock, which is determined by mem speed only (no dependency on the core clock).

550mhz from most ti4200 cards is common, some garnish 600+ speeds... check out this link posted by another member...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1)OC? 2)Stepping? BobRoss AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 19th July, 2006 06:58 PM
NB stepping.. sirtoby EPoX MotherBoards 4 27th April, 2003 04:11 PM
CPU stepping advice :D Plz MasterAtArms AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 13th April, 2003 04:21 AM
New NB stepping?! Corn EPoX MotherBoards 10 3rd April, 2003 03:39 PM
Stepping The Spyder Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 28th May, 2002 06:26 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0