AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Hardware Hacking

Hardware Hacking The hammer and tongs school of Overclocking. (NOT for the beginner and you assume all risks)


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 11 votes, 5.00 average.
  #141 (permalink)  
Old 24th July, 2006, 09:00 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klick
i was wondering since in 2 days im going to be getting a XFX 6800 GS extreme edition agp for $100 if anyone has done unlocking on one or can say what core it is because id love topull down a GT or Ultra for a fraction of what they went for not too long ago

That should work great. Great deal on that card BTW.

Keep us posted and feel free to ask any questions.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #142 (permalink)  
Old 24th July, 2006, 11:16 PM
Deadman93723's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Posts: 78

Breakthrough

I was able to open up my pixel pipes to 16, the only downside is, every once in awhile I will see a little bit of snow in the center of the screen. If I am playing FEAR, or something, with all the action, I never notice the snow, good enough for me.
__________________
P4 3.4E(Prescott)@4.2Ghz 250fsb
CoolerMaster Hyper 48 with 92mm Vantec Tornado
Asus P4P800-E Deluxe
2Gb PC4000@500mhz dual-channel
BFG 7800GS OC 525/1460
SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro
OCZ Powerstream 600w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #143 (permalink)  
Old 24th July, 2006, 11:44 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Check your temps. Keeping it cool can help with artifacts.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #144 (permalink)  
Old 25th July, 2006, 10:40 PM
Klick's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Posts: 13

Well i got the card today and as it turns out it was a PNY verto 6800 GS so yea i was a little disappointed but it didnt end there either it seems i have a 12pp 6vp card as i get artifacts on the desktop pretty hardcore when i enable the masked quad but i was wondering if i got the card to run cooler would that make a difference? and also if i wasnt getting enough juice from my PSU would that make a difference? i currently have a 450W no name PSU that has servered two builds faithfully i had it in a Atlon XP 2800+ and my Athlon 64 3000+ and it runs fine but could it be a weak link possibly?
__________________

Last edited by Klick; 25th July, 2006 at 11:09 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #145 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2006, 11:08 PM
Deadman93723's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Posts: 78

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klick
Well i got the card today and as it turns out it was a PNY verto 6800 GS so yea i was a little disappointed but it didnt end there either it seems i have a 12pp 6vp card as i get artifacts on the desktop pretty hardcore when i enable the masked quad but i was wondering if i got the card to run cooler would that make a difference? and also if i wasnt getting enough juice from my PSU would that make a difference? i currently have a 450W no name PSU that has servered two builds faithfully i had it in a Atlon XP 2800+ and my Athlon 64 3000+ and it runs fine but could it be a weak link possibly?
I have a eVGA 6800GS and I get some very minor snow when I open the 4th quad, but only in 3d mode. You are asking the very same questions I was asking. I replaced stock heatsink with a AC NV5 rev.3, I updated my PSU from an Antec TrueBlue 480w, to a OCZ Powerstream 600w and neither one of those helped with the snow in 3d mode. When a quad is bad, it is bad, nothing you can do about it. Yeah, I know, it sucks, but 12pp,6vp is not bad, and my card overclocks like crazy as yours should, too.

Now, about your Athlon 64 3000+ goes, I am an Intel guy, so I don't know if your CPU is a weak link or not, I doubt it, if you are overclocking it, then it should be fine.
__________________
P4 3.4E(Prescott)@4.2Ghz 250fsb
CoolerMaster Hyper 48 with 92mm Vantec Tornado
Asus P4P800-E Deluxe
2Gb PC4000@500mhz dual-channel
BFG 7800GS OC 525/1460
SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro
OCZ Powerstream 600w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #146 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2006, 11:19 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klick
Well i got the card today and as it turns out it was a PNY verto 6800 GS so yea i was a little disappointed but it didnt end there either it seems i have a 12pp 6vp card as i get artifacts on the desktop pretty hardcore when i enable the masked quad but i was wondering if i got the card to run cooler would that make a difference? and also if i wasnt getting enough juice from my PSU would that make a difference? i currently have a 450W no name PSU that has servered two builds faithfully i had it in a Atlon XP 2800+ and my Athlon 64 3000+ and it runs fine but could it be a weak link possibly?

I think your CPU is fine...

As far as your card goes, Deadman said it right....But there is nothing stopping you from OCing it till it screams..

You should still get a decent gain just from a good OC....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #147 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2006, 07:55 AM
Klick's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Posts: 13

well that kinda sucks about the extra quad but life goes on besides for the price i couldnt turn it down

btw are these clocks ok at this temp?
http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/1...tempmf8.th.jpg
__________________

Last edited by Klick; 27th July, 2006 at 07:58 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #148 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2006, 12:26 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Sure, looks fine...What is your peak temp after benching?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #149 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2006, 01:27 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klick
well that kinda sucks about the extra quad but life goes on besides for the price i couldnt turn it down

btw are these clocks ok at this temp?
http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/1...tempmf8.th.jpg
Deus Ex. WHAT A GAME!!!!

Nice selection of games on the desktop mate.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #150 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2006, 01:38 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I haven't played that in ages...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #151 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2006, 06:15 PM
Deadman93723's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Posts: 78

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klick
well that kinda sucks about the extra quad but life goes on besides for the price i couldnt turn it down

btw are these clocks ok at this temp?
http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/1...tempmf8.th.jpg
If your on stock cooling, those temps are very good. But, like Samuknow said watch your load temps.
__________________
P4 3.4E(Prescott)@4.2Ghz 250fsb
CoolerMaster Hyper 48 with 92mm Vantec Tornado
Asus P4P800-E Deluxe
2Gb PC4000@500mhz dual-channel
BFG 7800GS OC 525/1460
SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro
OCZ Powerstream 600w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #152 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2006, 02:34 AM
Klick's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Posts: 13

Is 72 C to around 77 C on the GPU after some hardcore oblivion ok temps? yes im running stock cooling on it but would taking off the HSF lapping it then using some AS5 on show any tangable temp drops?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #153 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2006, 02:49 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klick
Is 72 C to around 77 C on the GPU after some hardcore oblivion ok temps? yes im running stock cooling on it but would taking off the HSF lapping it then using some AS5 on show any tangable temp drops?
Yea, you could knock a couple of degrees off with a quality AS5 job and a lapping. You can also have your HSF surface polished to a perfect mirror finish by a jewler if you're willing to part with $5-10
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #154 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2006, 01:18 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

That is a little higher than I would like...

Do you have good airflow around your card?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #155 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2006, 01:45 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow
That is a little higher than I would like...

Do you have good airflow around your card?
This is a good point. Moving PCI cards lower down, at best, stacking them one on top of eachother at the absolute bottom would improve things a bit.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #156 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2006, 06:44 PM
Deadman93723's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Posts: 78

Klick, you might want to think about getting an Arctic Cooling NV5 rev.3, they are pretty cheap, and cool quite well. On my 6800GS, I'm getting an idle temp of 48c, and a heavy load temp of 65c. The NV5 is bulky, it is about an inch high, so you will need an open PCI slot under your video card, it also vents out the back, it comes with a bracket to put in the slot under the card, anyways, they the NV5 is pretty cool(no pun intended).
__________________
P4 3.4E(Prescott)@4.2Ghz 250fsb
CoolerMaster Hyper 48 with 92mm Vantec Tornado
Asus P4P800-E Deluxe
2Gb PC4000@500mhz dual-channel
BFG 7800GS OC 525/1460
SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro
OCZ Powerstream 600w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #157 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2006, 10:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2006
Posts: 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
Yet another very interesting videocard.

Your card is a PCI-E core, running a HSI bridge, on an AGP board. As a result you have an NV42 core, which is made on a 110nm process.

As a result, you have NO unlocking available on that board at all. Don't even try, because doesn't have any unused pipelines on it at all.

The flip side is, your 110nm chip overclocks very, very well. 450Mhz should be very easy.

What are you currently clocking it to? and what drivers are you using?

Bugger! I searched around for a great card and assumed wrongly that I could open the 4 pipes on my new XpertVision GS6800 but I get the same swissarmyknight, the extra pipes do not come up as masked, theres nothing there. I am assuming that I have one another of those rare NV42 core cards..NOT HAPPY JAN!
Do you reckon they'll take it back? I can only try.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #158 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2006, 10:49 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

You really can't, and shouldn't. There is nothing wrong with NV42s at all. They overclock extremely well, which makes up for the lack of unlockable pipes.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #159 (permalink)  
Old 5th August, 2006, 11:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2006
Posts: 1

Hello. I'm all new in this. I'll try to be short. I have a Palit GF6800GS, 256 MB GDD3 and RivaTuner "says" that I have an N41 chip. The core is 450 and the mems are 1257 Mhz (that 57 is "my work", playing with the sliders).

And Riva also "said" that I don't have that "extra-tricky" bits.

1. Why NV41?

2. Why "no tricky bits"?

Thank you a lot. And pardon me for the bad english.

Catalin
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #160 (permalink)  
Old 6th August, 2006, 01:49 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

NV41 because Palit is a cheaper brand, thats trying to cut costs by using NV41 chips instead of better NV40/NV42 chips. No tricky bits because that particular core only has 12 pipes at a hardware level.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
6800gs , mods



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my BFG 6800GS Mattman5465 Hardware Hacking 2 16th February, 2007 03:15 PM
HD on 6800GS AGP WonderBread Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 28th January, 2007 01:37 AM
6800gs.... stanzlavos Hardware Hacking 2 4th November, 2006 08:56 PM
6800gs Agp WonderBread Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 52 29th January, 2006 07:31 AM
6800GS in SLI Super Nade Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 9 20th January, 2006 06:07 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0