AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 31st May, 2009, 09:27 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

OC over 4.0Ghz-Time for help-agian!

I've got my E8400 to 4.05Ghz just by voltage. (Overkill at this point, I think.)

I have left memory alone except to up the volts a little.
In every day usage-web, DVD's, music, she is stable.
Running Everest stress test-stable.
3Dmark Vantage gives me a BSOD within 10 seconds. Here are my screenshots and bios settings. Is it time to change mem timings? and if so, what to?
Is it the vid card? It is not OC'ed.
TR has said that instead of unlinked-I should be at 1:1 but I've never been able to get it to boot under any Change in settings-even default-if I do that.

EDIT:
I just droped FSB speed to 1775 which dropped CPU clock from 4.05Ghz to 3.999Ghz.-I dropped volts to 1.36v.
I'll run tests later but I new I was to high , temps were ok though. This was more Psych than anything else! I.4v!
Attached Thumbnails
OC over 4.0Ghz-Time for help-agian!-capture_23052009_160801.jpg   OC over 4.0Ghz-Time for help-agian!-cpuid.png   OC over 4.0Ghz-Time for help-agian!-dcp_0001.jpg   OC over 4.0Ghz-Time for help-agian!-dcp_0002.jpg   OC over 4.0Ghz-Time for help-agian!-dcp_0003.jpg  

OC over 4.0Ghz-Time for help-agian!-dcp_0004.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD



Last edited by PorPorMe; 31st May, 2009 at 10:22 PM. Reason: Small change
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2009, 02:06 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

From what I'm looking at your vcore isn't all that high for the speeds you are running. If anything they are probably to low & the reason it's not totally stable.
I'm almost running the same vcore for 3.4GHz to keep my rig stable.

Weldzilla was running a vcore of 1.488v @ 4.5GHz to keep his rig stable...
But something ccper said that made a lot of sense to me & still does.
OC & apply the voltages that you "Feel" comfortable with. This is different for everyone.
For me that is when I start going over 1.4v on the vcore which makes me a bit uneasy.
Now, if I had the money to replace stuff I'd be trying for much higher with a new mobo, but as it stands I can't so I don't
& settle for 3.4GHz.

Here's Weldzilla's original post...You might want to ask him if he's still running that E8400 at that speed & voltages still as its been over a year now.
I'd also be interested how it's held up over the last year...

P5KE-Wifi + Wolfdale = Incredible!!
Attached Thumbnails
OC over 4.0Ghz-Time for help-agian!-image-0.jpg  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 2nd June, 2009 at 01:02 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2009, 07:03 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

Voltage will get you there at the expense of heat. There is a point at which the MHz gain is a diminishing return. Only you can determine what that point is, because it is different for everyone. If adding .05V gains 100MHz, is it worth it? How about 50MHz? It's up to you in the end.

1:1 tells you that your memory is out of the way and not limiting your CPU speed. It's a starting point for most overclockers because it lets us see what the CPU can do independent of the memory.

It's not necesssarily a final setting. Dividers in some circumstances can do a lot for a high overclock.

Also be aware that tight timings at n CPU speed will often be a "faster" feeling machine than loose timings at >n CPU speed.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 1st June, 2009 at 07:05 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2009, 08:26 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

I can't do anything with it until later this afternoon. I put castor's on it-the final switches, and am giving it a couple more shimmer coats.
This rig used to run at 3.87Ghz with just raising CPU core to about 1.32v and CPU fsb to 1.3v and everything else was set to auto.
I'd run Prime and OCCT and anything else with no problem.
I'm not having a problem with Everest's stress test either and that gives me pause.
Correct me but don't they just stress CPU and/or memory?
Might the problem be the vid card?
I tried 3DMark06 same BSOD as 3DMark Vantage..
Now is the time to go TRs' route.
Since I know what causes the BSOD-I'll take it back a ways-3.50Ghz everything auto-and go from there.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st June, 2009, 08:30 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

MUff!n,
I'll check with Weldzella as soon as I get up and going!
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2009, 01:08 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

I'd say there's a good chance that your graphics card was OCed really high & pushed really hard for a long time & that's why it does what it does. Just a gut instinct tell me this. Basically I'd say that vidcard is just about shot.

If you have another one to put in there that's what I would do even if it doesn't perform as well.
It doesn't do you any good if your graphics card quits on you all the time & that's why I think you are getting the BSOD on 3DMark & why it can't even go 10 seconds into testing.
Every time you push that card hard it dies, even at default clocks.
I also think this is why your score went down with the optimize 185.85 Windows 7 drivers because it can't handle them.
Whereas with my card I got the highest scores ever & the best performance ever out of them!
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 2nd June, 2009 at 01:12 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2009, 01:34 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

I just got fired up-stock-I start right here and set a bench mark.

EDIT: Everything stock-Win 7 185.85 drivers, 3DMark Vantage BSOD within 10 seconds.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD



Last edited by PorPorMe; 2nd June, 2009 at 02:13 AM. Reason: Problem solved
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2009, 03:01 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by PorPorMe View Post
I just got fired up-stock-I start right here and set a bench mark.

EDIT: Everything stock-Win 7 185.85 drivers, 3DMark Vantage BSOD within 10 seconds.
I'd just about guarantee that the graphics card is pretty much shot if it can't even run a Vantage bench @ stock clocks with all the system's setting at stock.

If you got another one (anything at this point) put it in & replace it.
Once you've done that then see what it does in Vantage benches.
Any benchmark at this point would be an improvement over what you got now.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2009, 03:36 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

The last thing I had was the Geforce fx5400! Time to go to work on this one.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2009, 06:30 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by PorPorMe View Post
The last thing I had was the Geforce fx5400! Time to go to work on this one.
Unfortunately I don't think this card can run DX10 which is what Vantage runs on, so you'll have to use Mark06 instead if you use that card.
I won't have PhysX either I'm pretty sure...but Mark06 doesn't use PhysX anyways in the bench.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2009, 07:01 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUff1N View Post
Unfortunately I don't think this card can run DX10 which is what Vantage runs on, so you'll have to use Mark06 instead if you use that card.
I won't have PhysX either I'm pretty sure...but Mark06 doesn't use PhysX anyways in the bench.
You forget the scores I was putting up in Vantage-but it's all under the bridge now-It won't run Mark06 either.
I just uninstalled the GPU client and I'll just fold with the SMP client-no strain on the card. I'm selling thins off on Craig's List hoping this thing will hold together for a couple of months.
G. Skills got here today-they will probably go on the block.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom II X4 940 3.0GHz only $189.99 danrok Online Deals, and Steals 0 25th May, 2009 12:26 AM
Vista Agian PorPorMe OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 14 5th August, 2008 04:30 PM
EP-8kda3j Voltage (Agian), Reboots and whining sound Sander EPoX MotherBoards 74 18th March, 2005 04:26 PM
1700+ @ 2.0Ghz... athlonboi Hardware Hacking 6 18th February, 2003 04:10 PM
Celeron 2.0ghz dilemma pcworks Intel Motherboards & CPUs 3 28th November, 2002 12:27 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0